$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
254 reviews
Beautiful hotel in great location

We stayed here for 3 nights while enjoying the city. The hotel is about 30 feet from the Chinatown... See full review

  • Andrew119
  • Nov 3, 2014
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JetJeff
Business
Iowa
Sep 11, 2012

A Nice Experience

Clean, comfortable and very accomadating sums up my recent stay at the Orchard Garden. The hotel is coveniently located and the staff is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty to do and see in short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Upgraydd
Business
Seattle
Aug 28, 2012

Center of SF

This hotel is close to everything. There was no problem walking to many great restaurants and shopping. Excellent shopping is extremely close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Mom with Teenager
Business
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Aug 25, 2012

Location Location Location

Our room was well appointed and clean. Not a great view but we did not particularly care since we did not spend much time in our room. The staff people we interacted with were very helpful and friendly. Make sure you make use of the roof top patio. The proximity to great locations/activities was fantastic - just what we had hoped for - could not have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonDeb
Business
San Francisco
Jul 16, 2012

DebDonSanFran

Though the standard room was a bit small, that did not detract from the hotel whatsoever for the two of us. The location is ideal; close to easy access to transit, shopping, Chinatown and wonderful restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KLPK
Business
Minnesota
Jul 10, 2012

Great location in SF & awesome service

This is a great hotel...very unique, eco-friendly, clean, well-decorated, and an ideal location. Right next to the gates of Chinatown in a safe area with close stops for the metro transit systems and hop-on/off bus tours. We had an issue our first night that was handled very well. Our smoke alarm started chirping/beeping at 2:30am and wouldn't stop. We ended up having to pack up our things and move rooms in the middle of the night. We were not happy campers. The next day we spoke to the manager who was fully aware of the situation. He would have offered us a free night, but couldn't since we paid via Orbitzz. Instead he gave us free breakfast at the hotel, wine & mini-bar vouchers, nice chocolates, an upgraded room with much better view, and a towncar ride to the airport. They were very gracious and understanding and went out of their way for us. The staff at the front desk was always helpful in directing us around town and the bartender was very fun to chat with! Overall, it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank Burns
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jun 18, 2012

Great Location

Upon arriving we were very pleased to see how new and clean this hotel is. The rooms are a little smaller than I was expecting but in all reality there was plenty of space. The hotel is very quiet and comfortable. It has very comfortable beds and pillows. The location doesn't get much better than this hotel. Only a couple of blocks from Union Square and all three trolley lines. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go including Fishermans Wharf. It was a bit of a hike to get down there but there was plenty to take in on the way. I would highly recommend this hotel again and am looking forward to planning my next trip there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoey's Mom
Business
Seattle
Jun 10, 2012

Perfect location

The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located right outside the Chinatown gates, about three blocks from Union Square and within walking distance of the wharf. Didn't eat at the hotel as there are many restaurants nearby. Our room was a tad bit small and the addition of a chair or chairs would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nlou
Business
Normal, IL
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel!

Lovely place to stay in San Francisco. The staff was always pleasant and very helpful. The location was ideal with many great places to eat, shop and sightsee nearby. Clean rooms and comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's was recommended by the staff for pizza two blocks away. Delicious! And Murphy's Pub around the corner was a great place for a drink and very filling appetizer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tina Traveling Mom
Business
Naperville, Illinois
May 22, 2012

Mother's Day Treat

My teenage daughters and I really enjoyed our weekend stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the location was excellent for our planned activities. Parking was expensive, but on-par with other major cities. The staff was helpful and friendly, responding to requests immediately. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would certainly stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is right at your doorstep as is the trolley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Westford Marketing Guy
Business
Westford, MA
May 18, 2012

Great if you're going to the Moscone Center

I travel a lot and usually don't comment on hotels. This one charmed me and I'll use it again. I was impressed by their commitment to be eco-friendly. My room had recycling bins, complete power off when I left, and many other details. Everyone says they won't wash towels if you hang them up (and will if you put them on the floor). This is the only hotel I've been in that ever actually followed through. This hotel is about 6 blocks from the Moscone Center, and 4 blocks from BART. It was very easy for me to attend the show without having to rent a car or hire a taxi. The gym has a treadmill and a bike, basically, but you can get an inexpensive pass to a full center. The cafe across the street was terrific and though it was busy, I was stunned at how fast they brought my omelet. I don't know how they did it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top