$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
251 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookfield
Nov 17, 2008

It IS easy being Green

It was interesting to be in the first LEED certified hotel. It kind of makes you feel good about staying there. The only changes I would recommend are to stop the daily newspaper deliveries - very paper-wasteful and to put volume control showers in to use less water. The bathroom was large and well lit. The rooms were so well insulated against noise I think I heared one door close in my 4 nights there. The rooftop was a great place to just sit out (there was a heat wave when I was there). The location is convenient, right next to the arched entrance to Chinatown. The staff, while a little disorganized, we so nice - of course people in SF tend to be nice anyway. We ran into the concierge down the street buying food for a homeless person. I highly recommend this place. I hope to stay there again on my next visit to SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 5, 2007

Great Place to stay while in San Francisco

The Orchard Garden Hotel was a great place to stay while in the City. Location was perfect to see most all the hot spots. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The Room was very quiet given its location next door to ChinaTown. Breakfast was very good and the restaurant was excellant. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of restaurants within a short walk. Hotel staff very helpful to point you in a direction for italian, chinese, american, and irish food that is not a chain.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Mar 10, 2009

Excellent

Great location, excellent service and spotless rooms. However, the room could use more seating furniture rather than using the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandyF
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

College tour

We recently took a quick trip to San Francisco to check out a potential college for our daughter. The Orchard Garden ended up being the perfect hotel in the perfect location: walking distance from the BART station, the cable car stop, and the school itself. And it's just steps away from the entrance to Chinatown, where we had dinner one night. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. The housekeeping service was excellent, coming not once but twice a day. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The onsite restaurant, Roots, had good food and good service. And we loved that the hotel was small, quiet, and so eco-oriented, right down to dividing the wastebasket into recyclables! We're already planning stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel in great location

My wife, infant, and I just returned from 4 nights at the Orchard Garden. The hotel is a in a great location, right next to Chinatown and a 3 minute walk to Union Square. Short walk to public transportation as well. The room was small but very clean and modern. When we requested more pillows and towels, they were brought right up. The buffet breakfast included each morning is very good. Service was excellent and staff very eager to please. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping of food choices just a few minutes walk from hotel.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Perfect Choice

We rented several rooms at San Francisco's Orchard Garden Hotel for everyone in attendance at our daughter's September 14th wedding. Less than a year old, the hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. The staff was especially friendly and accommodating. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

An abundance of anything and everything practically right outside the front door.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A soul traveler
Tampa, Florida
Mar 31, 2014

Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff were all very nice and the room was comfortable and clean! I would not only stay here Addison but I would recommend it to everyone traveling to San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest to anyone staying at this hotel to go to Hang Ah tea room which is just a short walk away from the hotel, it's the oldest dim sum restaurant, the owners are very nice and it is hands down one of the best dim sum around!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Owensboro
Sep 19, 2008

Excellent location!

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The rooms are rather small, but the space was effeciently laid out. Plenty of room, since you'd be out most of the time. The beds were very comfortable! The restaurant was rather expensive, so we didn't eat there. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We were surprised that the entrance to China town was only 1/2 block from the hotel. The location was excellent for sightseeing. The staff was very helpful in every way. We'd stay at the Orchard Garden again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China town, 1/2 block. Starbucks on the corner. Tour bus pickup only a few blocks. Lots of places nearby to eat. Shopping only a few blocks.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 31, 2008

very friendly...great location and amenities

This was a great location...you could get anywhere within mins by just walking. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2008

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location

The Orchard Garden was a beautiful hotel, with a very friendly staff. Although our room was small, it was extremely comfortable & quiet. Our room faced Bush Street and with all the daily traffic outside we never heard a sound. The bed linens were very plush & cozy complete with feather pillows. The bathroom was beautifully done & had a surpisingly large feel considering the room was small. NIce size flat screen TV with dvd player, WiFi access & IPOD docking station. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything. Chinatown entrance was right next to hotel, Powell Street cable cars were two blocks away and it was a short walk to many shopping & dining choices. When we go back to San Francisco we will stay @ the Orchard Garden again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roots restuarant inside the hotel was alittle pricey however it's a short walk to many others.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search