$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brucewu
san diego
Mar 27, 2013

very good location

the room is very big and very clean. the location is perfect, located near union squire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly Nickname
Little Rock, Arkansas
Mar 27, 2013

Hub of a great week in San Francisco

We spent spring break wandering around San Francisco, with this hotel as our base of operations, and had a great time. This hotel is an easy walk to Union Square, the cable car line, BART, and street car stops. It is not a touristy area, but the tourist stops are an easy street car or cable car ride away, an arrangement that works very well for us. Our six year old loved the cable car museum, the academy of science, and biking the golden gate bridge. Actually, we all loved those things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved riding the cable cars. It might be a silly thing to some, but something about the low tech operation, the individuality in how the gripman and conductor ran each train, the fun of being a "standee." A ride cost $6 if purchased individually, but a 3-day pass that covers cables cars, street cars and buses is $22. Buy the pass. Second hint is that you can board a block or two north of the Powell station and not have to wait in the huge line. Still, it's worth waiting in the huge line once to see how they turn the cars around.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shahara
corralitos, california
Mar 26, 2013

perfect !

Lovely, modern, eco-green, perfect getaway hotel, good location and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

kokkari - Greek and wonderful ambience

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justinburt1
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Clean, Friendly Eco-Hotel

I was really happy with my stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous, greeting me as I entered/left the hotel and opening doors. The room was spacious, clean and modern. There was a fitness center, but I didn't make use of it during my stay. I like the fact that it is a green hotel as well. There is signage throughout the room telling you what to do if you want to help the environment (e.g. re-use towels and sheets if you're staying multiple days). It is also in a great location, just a few blocks from the train and cable cars, right next to Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chelsea Place up the street is the ultimate dive bar!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teuron
Boston, MA
Mar 25, 2013

Comfort and accommodating

We were very happy with out stay. We were traveling with a 2 year old and grand parents in a separate room. They allowed us to make changes to the reservation by substituting a two double bed room for a king and putting the rooms on the same floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is our second stay at the Orchard Garden and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minn
Maryland
Mar 15, 2013

Will Definitely be back !

Great location in the city. Responsive staff. Very quiet - I loved it ! Clean. Very comfortable, cozy bed. Wonderful rooftop, patio garden. My husband and I are in San Francisco at least twice a year and we will definitely be back to the Orchard Garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trini Traveller One
Dallas, Texas
Mar 9, 2013

Simple, warm and clean

Very pleasant and comfortable. Service was good. Parking options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bo55man
Boston
Mar 4, 2013

Bossman

Great place, great location, great price, couldn't ask for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars and shopping close by

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob the Great
San Fransisco, Ca
Feb 18, 2013

Wonderful Valentines Day Get Away!

The entire trip was one of the best! My girlfriend and I have traveled the world seperately and some together. The flight was great. The room was absolutely spotless. Really spotless. The lobby staff was wonderful and most helpful, always. The hotel is beautiful. Only a slight problem with the maid service. One day they came knocking at a little after 8. on saturday we were out until 3:15. We returned to the room to find the maids had not been there yet. Absolutely no problem with that, we just wanted to take a nap, because we had very busy evening plans,with clients. We had just fallen asleep when the maids came to the door, I nicely asked them to come back in a couple hours. They came back an hour later, so I angerly hang the do not disturb sign out and go back to bed. No sooner had I laid back down but the phone rings. It's the housekeeping people. We agree that they can clean the room after 6:30, by now, of course neither one of us can get any rest. Now the come back again shortly after 6 but that one was my fault because in my anger i hung the sign that says please turn down the bed. Like I said we travel all over and nothing like this has ever happened to either of us. BUT...overall it was a very nice trip and hotel. The hotel took in to account these happenings and gave us our snacks for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In this part of the city ALL the eateries stop serving food at or before 10 pm. There is an outstanding French restaurant right across the street and if you go up the hill 2 blocks and turn left there is THE BEST breakfast restaurant ever...the Sears Family Restaurant...on Saturdays you will stand in line to get in but its not a long wait and well worth it. 2 blocks up the hill you can catch the Cable Cars. Very nice area.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa from Philly
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 17, 2013

Great place!

Given the price, I wasn't sure if this was going to be a dump. But my fiance and I were beyond surprised. Wonderful staff, beautiful and comfortable room, and green!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pismomomma
Pismo Beach, CA
Feb 4, 2013

A Jewel !!!!!

WONDERFUL boutique hotel, steps from Chinatown. We LOVED our stay. The beds were incredibly comfortable, luxurious linens, thick, soft towels, very quiet considering it is right downtown. We will be back for sure, but I hope it won't "get discovered" because then vacancy will be a problem. ;) Parking was expensive...$45.00 per day! YIKES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top