$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
251 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard234098
Business
Houston
Apr 7, 2013

Its okay...

But far from the best. Only stayed one night and that's okay for one night. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on that. Coffee maker wasn't clean so we decided not to use that. Bed was fine. Room was relatively clean. I would recommend to a friend only if they need to stay in the financial district and only if its a very short term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Food was a great restaurant nearby for breakfast.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atalanta
Rowland Heights, California
Jul 27, 2010

Switcheroo

I prepaid for a room with 2 double beds. Upon check-in I was told that "a guest" decided to stay longer therefore the room I should have gotten was not available. I was given room with king bed and a roll-away. Very disappointed because roll-away is lumpy and uncomfortable. I was told this king room was un "upgrade" and that I would not be charged extra. I doubt that room was an upgrade; there was nothing "extra" special about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step outside of hotel and there it is.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roon
Beaverton, Oregon
Nov 27, 2011

Review Orchard hotel San Francisco

We spent 3 nights in the Orchard hotel. It's location is perfect. Close to the BART and cable car. On the corner you find the enterance to China town...perfect. Staff was very nice and rooms were very clean. Good price for such quality!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To visit China town....it is great!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbijd
Seattle, WA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location for a first visit to San Francisco. It's right next to Chinatown Gate. Although the hotel claims to be "the greenest in town", we did not notice much energy saving. We particularly liked the fact that we could use their two business center desktop computers to print our maps, boarding passes etc for free - that's rare in a hotel. (Not that green, come to think of it). Our backs hurt a bit from sleeping on their matress. The rooms were clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic French restaurant just across the street: "Cafe de la Presse". Their Boeuf Bourguignon was very tasty!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto,CA
May 12, 2010

good location.

good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nostalgic Customer
Memory Lane
Jul 9, 2009

Good Idea Gone Downhill

We stayed here 2 years ago and loved the hotel. The breakfast was fun, the staff was nice, the hotel was as advertised, and the rooms were clean and cozy. This time around everything suffered in comparison. The staff was OK. The room was OK. The breakfast was not included and nothing worked as advertised. I also missed their Aveda products. We were disappointed that things were not as great as last time and will reluctantly try some place new next time around. Please take this with a grain of salt. The hotel is in a great location and the amenities were well worth the price. We just struggled with a really great memory of our last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy KinHong
Maryland
May 27, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation

The room is very clean and looks new, location is fine(just next to China Town and close to Union Square). However considering it as a four star, I didn't find very welcoming staff from the reception. Anyways, it is a good one if you don't care or don't have to deal with the staff much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy Love
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Fine a place to stay for a day

The room was clean and the staff were very nice and professional. Room service menu was limited but it was delicious. The television was not functioning well. The box for watching movies was broken and there were no maintenance crew to fix it. Disappointing in that regard. The room was blocked by another section of the builiding with the view was that of the rooftop of another building. Rather disappointing. There was only one chair in the room and no tables. I had to have my room service dinner on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hat lady
Business
ca.
Jun 1, 2009

The heaven, the hell was the smell

enjoy the ambience of san francisco the culture and concerts. time , you'll need more of it for the streets of san francisco. I enjoy life and the living, the world is my perish however, some hotels have a better sense of smell that can be offensive to other incoming guest...air out those funky bedspreads or something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you're surrounded by merchants

Back to menu Return to top

Change search