$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
254 reviews
Beautiful hotel in great location

We stayed here for 3 nights while enjoying the city. The hotel is about 30 feet from the Chinatown... See full review

  • Andrew119
  • Nov 3, 2014
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A soul traveler
Tampa, Florida
Mar 31, 2014

Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff were all very nice and the room was comfortable and clean! I would not only stay here Addison but I would recommend it to everyone traveling to San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would suggest to anyone staying at this hotel to go to Hang Ah tea room which is just a short walk away from the hotel, it's the oldest dim sum restaurant, the owners are very nice and it is hands down one of the best dim sum around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 22, 2007

Adequate for a short stay

Although the room was exceptionaly small the hotel was quiet and locaed near the square and Chinatown. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The bathroom lacked a stall shower,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Great hotel in great location

My wife, infant, and I just returned from 4 nights at the Orchard Garden. The hotel is a in a great location, right next to Chinatown and a 3 minute walk to Union Square. Short walk to public transportation as well. The room was small but very clean and modern. When we requested more pillows and towels, they were brought right up. The buffet breakfast included each morning is very good. Service was excellent and staff very eager to please. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of shopping of food choices just a few minutes walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 20, 2007

My review of Orchard Garden Hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a wonderful hotel in a great location in San Francisco. I walked everywhere while I was there and the hotel itself was very comfortable and welcoming. I love the concept of an entirely eco-friendly hotel, and I would pay the extra money to stay at a green hotel anywhere else that I travel. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone visiting San Francisco, and I will likely stay here again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai food restaurant on the corner called Bangkok's Best was good. There are also a ton of restaurants in North Beach which is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I didn't get a chance to eat at any of them but there were a lot of options and everything looked really good, not to mention the area is adorable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 12, 2007

Nice Hotel - Small Rooms

The Location is great, right by the China Gate. The hotel is rather small and minimalistic. The rooms are very small and the bathroom has way too much unused space. The mini-bar is set so you cannot use it for keeping things cold so you are forced to use their food and beverages or only eat out. I would have preferred a small fridge. The room has barely enough room to get by the bed and the dresser. Nice TV though. If you plan to spend any time at all in the room, you probably will not be happy. The beds are nicely made and comfortable. View of the absolutely nothing but some roof. The fitness room has a treadmill, bike, and eliptical and that is it. Very modern equiptment though. The business venter (two pc's,) and the fitness rooom are kind of off the beaten path for the hotel though and I thought that they were a bit dangerously located in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Aug 5, 2007

Small Boutique Hotel A Hit

Our stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel was a pleasant experience. The small boutique hotel is fairly new and not many of the locals(cab drivers, tour bus drivers) seemed familiar with its unassuming location. It was right around the corner from the gates of Chinatown and an easy walk to the wonderful shopping of Union Square. The SF French Quarter is right across the street with sidewalk cafes found tucked away in nearby alleys. The business district and BART line is a short 10 minute walk. The Cable Cars and Trolley line was a short walk as well. The hotel staff was very helpful in providing assistance with directions and answering our questions. The room was quite comfortable,and the European style complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. I definitely would recommend people try the Orchard Garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clift Hotel on Geary Street in Union Square is a historic SF Hotel. The bar is called The Redwood Room. It has some interesting art on the walls that lights up around 8:00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 4, 2007

Green is Great!!

The Garden Orchard hotel is a green hotel that quite simply ranks with the best hotels I've ever stayed at--not because it was green, but because it was clean, quiet, comfortable, and located ideally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Claude is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 28, 2007

Very Clean and comfortable

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast every morning was great, fresh scones and muffins with ham, cheese, fruit, juice, coffee and much more. The location is ideal, just minutes walk from China Town, Union Square and the Bart Station. I will stay here again next time I visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping around Union Square is the best. Every store you can Imagine seems to be in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Jul 28, 2007

Perfect for any type of traveler

Our experience with this hotel was fantastic. It's a beautiful hotel that's truly cares about the environment too. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They took great care of us. The room was clean. I highly recommend The Orchard Garden Hotel to anyone: couples, famlies, and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe across the street has great food. Also there are many other fine resturants nearby. Not chain-type resturants either. Fun to try someplace new each day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Very friendly boutique hotel, great location

The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous, and the complimentary breakfast was bountiful, and kept well-stocked and hot. This location is unbeatable - several blocks off of Market St, so it's quiet late-night, yet within easy walking distance of all the best shops, and right at the main entrance gate to Chinatown. Hop on the trolley or bus, and you'r at Golden Gate Park or Fisherman's Wharf areas in minutes. Walk 3 blocks and catch the BART to Oakland or Alameda, and be there in 15 minutes. We highly recommend this hotel as THE place to stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top