$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Couples
Utah
Jul 29, 2013

Easy access to MUNi and BART, awesome beds, wonderful staff!

Spent 4 days here. Only 4 blocks from BART station to and from airport but be certain to take Montgomery St stop not Powell St. Easy access to all buses, load the MUNI app to your iPhone and getting around SF is a breeze with reasonable walks from the hotel to bus stops even for an older less mobile person. This hotel has the most comfortable beds and bedding. Very quiet, peaceful in general. Staff was extremely helpful when asked and unobtrusive when they should be. The Wifi works great for IPads and laptops in your room. One drawback is only two PC's in business center and they were always in use. I would not plan to do a lot of work there. Staff is very helpful however in printing flight info etc if you ask. Good variety of snacks in room, they are a little costly but average compared to other hotels. Plan to stay here again whenever we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MUNI pass and load the MUNI app to your IPhone. We have no public trans where we live and found it easy to get around with a few initial tips from hotel staff to get our bearings. The bus saves tons of money to spend on the amazing sights and foods of San Francisco!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 12, 2007

Nice Hotel - Small Rooms

The Location is great, right by the China Gate. The hotel is rather small and minimalistic. The rooms are very small and the bathroom has way too much unused space. The mini-bar is set so you cannot use it for keeping things cold so you are forced to use their food and beverages or only eat out. I would have preferred a small fridge. The room has barely enough room to get by the bed and the dresser. Nice TV though. If you plan to spend any time at all in the room, you probably will not be happy. The beds are nicely made and comfortable. View of the absolutely nothing but some roof. The fitness room has a treadmill, bike, and eliptical and that is it. Very modern equiptment though. The business venter (two pc's,) and the fitness rooom are kind of off the beaten path for the hotel though and I thought that they were a bit dangerously located in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St Louis, MO
Aug 5, 2007

Small Boutique Hotel A Hit

Our stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel was a pleasant experience. The small boutique hotel is fairly new and not many of the locals(cab drivers, tour bus drivers) seemed familiar with its unassuming location. It was right around the corner from the gates of Chinatown and an easy walk to the wonderful shopping of Union Square. The SF French Quarter is right across the street with sidewalk cafes found tucked away in nearby alleys. The business district and BART line is a short 10 minute walk. The Cable Cars and Trolley line was a short walk as well. The hotel staff was very helpful in providing assistance with directions and answering our questions. The room was quite comfortable,and the European style complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. I definitely would recommend people try the Orchard Garden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Clift Hotel on Geary Street in Union Square is a historic SF Hotel. The bar is called The Redwood Room. It has some interesting art on the walls that lights up around 8:00.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
Aug 4, 2007

Green is Great!!

The Garden Orchard hotel is a green hotel that quite simply ranks with the best hotels I've ever stayed at--not because it was green, but because it was clean, quiet, comfortable, and located ideally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Claude is a must.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 28, 2007

Very Clean and comfortable

The Orchard Garden Hotel was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was the best sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast every morning was great, fresh scones and muffins with ham, cheese, fruit, juice, coffee and much more. The location is ideal, just minutes walk from China Town, Union Square and the Bart Station. I will stay here again next time I visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping around Union Square is the best. Every store you can Imagine seems to be in the area.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Melbourne, FL
Jul 28, 2007

Perfect for any type of traveler

Our experience with this hotel was fantastic. It's a beautiful hotel that's truly cares about the environment too. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They took great care of us. The room was clean. I highly recommend The Orchard Garden Hotel to anyone: couples, famlies, and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe across the street has great food. Also there are many other fine resturants nearby. Not chain-type resturants either. Fun to try someplace new each day!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Houston, TX
Jul 1, 2007

Very friendly boutique hotel, great location

The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous, and the complimentary breakfast was bountiful, and kept well-stocked and hot. This location is unbeatable - several blocks off of Market St, so it's quiet late-night, yet within easy walking distance of all the best shops, and right at the main entrance gate to Chinatown. Hop on the trolley or bus, and you'r at Golden Gate Park or Fisherman's Wharf areas in minutes. Walk 3 blocks and catch the BART to Oakland or Alameda, and be there in 15 minutes. We highly recommend this hotel as THE place to stay in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Dallas, TX
Jun 26, 2007

Great hotel!

We found the Orchard Garden staff very friendly and helpful. They remembered our preferences for breakfast and were prompt in response to our requests. The location is ideal for business or pleasure--centrally located to Union Square, business area and Chinatown. The room was small but quite comfortable with a large bathroom, and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job in keeping the room clean.The king sized bed was quite comfortable and the room we had was very quiet so that our nights were restful. Roots is a fine restaurant though a bit pricey. We enjoyed our meal there on the first night and the breakfasts were excellent, especially the fresh fruit and breads. It was our first trip to San Francisco, and the Orchard Garden made our stay very enjoyable. We could find nothing to complain about, a first for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone who is looking for a small, friendly hotel with an almost ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinatown gate is right around the corner on Grant Street and Union Square with theaters, restaurants and cinemas is very handy. Many of the better ethnic restaurants are short walks from the hotel, and we took advantage of a new one every evening.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Sacramento, CA
Jun 24, 2007

Amazing Green Hotel

The room was so comfortable, clean and fresh that we wanted to just move in. Only down side was that the Fridge in the room was an honor bar, so it couldnt be used for personal items. The hotel staff made it possible for me to use the fridge for my medicine storage. The staff is amazingly helpful and friendly. It is the first and only Green Freindly hotel in SF. Everything was brand new and amazing. Family friendly, great for the business traveler or just a weekend get away to the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 7, 2007

great for couples

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a cozy new hotel with a very European feel.A green hotel that is obviously Earth friendly has recycle bins in the room.It was nice to be provided with a robe and slippers for relaxing while in the room,also a programable safe in the closet.Located one door down from the gate to Chinatown, many fine restaurants and cafes were just a few steps away including Roots in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For great food check out Belden Pl. just a block east but many great earteries with a variety of tastes.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Palm Springs, CA
Apr 15, 2007

Four Star Feeling in a Great location.

This was our first stay at this Hotel in San Francisco and we found it exceptional. The first Green Hotel in the State. The environment is smoke freel and exceptionally clean and well maintained. We have stayed at many Hotels in this city for several visits over the year and the Orchard Garden offers a very comfortable room. (luxurious bedding) HDTV in the room, but with simple lines and not a lot of frills. Morning breakfast started us off each day with freash fruit and pastries (Scones were my favorites!!) And all the staff was plesant and eager to serve. Great location, at Grant and Bush (Chinatown Gate) within easy walking distance to Union Square shopping the financial district and all publick transportation. We would certainly go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Too many great restaurants to choose from..all very close....Scala's Bistro on Powell St. serves up an awesome Mandrini and great steamed mussels. John's Grill on Ellis is great for lunch and features Jazz in the evening.

Back to menu Return to top