$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
403 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Welcome to San Francisco's newest and greenest hotel - the Orchard Garden Hotel. Newly built in the heart of San Francisco, the Orchard Garden Hotel is California's first generation of truly green hotels - the only hotel built to the nationally accepted standards for green buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). Like its proud sister, the award-winning Orchard Hotel, the Orchard Garden Hotel is a non smoking environment and located in a perfect neighborhood for discerning business and pleasure travelers. The hotel is a short stroll from Union Square shops and theaters, blocks away from the Financial District deal makers and San Francisco's legendary cable cars, and just steps from the Chinatown Gates. The hotel's dedication to sustaining the environment is only surpassed by a commitment to service with a hospitality team that is ready to assist you with every need from valet parking, to concierge assistance, to complimentary morning Town Car service. Effective August 1st, 2008, the daily parking fee is $40.00 plus tax. The parking fee is subject to change without notice.

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (403)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brucewu
san diego
Mar 27, 2013

very good location

the room is very big and very clean. the location is perfect, located near union squire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaDasha
Beaumont Ca
Jul 28, 2009

Great Location Great Price Great Overall

Overall it was an amazing hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable the room was very clean. I have no complaints just a couple suggestions. I would put some type of rack in the shower for toiletries and I would revise the happy hour prices a happy hour martini was $12 you get a free appetizer but the drinks are why we find happy hours. However again it was a gorgeous hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Boudin Bakery and restaurant had an awesome happy hour Mon-Fri 4-7pm $5 martinis etc and it was a really classy place.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, CA
Jul 25, 2009

location, location, location

This is a green hotel and relatively new, so was very clean. The location was great, two doors from Grant and the gates to China Town. the beds were very comfortable, with crisp white linens, the staff were not very helpful or knowledgible, but we found things on our own. The parking was $45. so I think I would try not to have a car next time. There was a parking garage across the street that might have been cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinese Empress was beautiful and the have a half off cocktail and appetizer time, but the food in the dining room was not very good and was expensive. It was generous portions.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, CA
Jul 25, 2009

location, location, location

This is a green hotel and relatively new, so was very clean. The location was great, two doors from Grant and the gates to China Town. the beds were very comfortable, with crisp white linens, the staff were not very helpful or knowledgible, but we found things on our own. The parking was $45. so I think I would try not to have a car next time. There was a parking garage across the street that might have been cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinese Empress was beautiful and the have a half off cocktail and appetizer time, but the food in the dining room was not very good and was expensive. It was generous portions.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plwyman
Davis, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Cozy European-style Respite

Very pleasant hotel, very green, and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are modest but cozy. Think European. There is a room safe large enough to hold your laptop. Overall space is used efficiently. My room was surprisingly quiet and well-lit given the central location in the city. The only snag was getting a wifi connection. This took 20-30 minutes the first two nights and wasn't happening at all on night three. It was no biggee. I would have asked for assistance had it been an issue. So, that was on me. Do ask if you have similar problems. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plwyman
Davis, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Cozy European-style Respite

Very pleasant hotel, very green, and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are modest but cozy. Think European. There is a room safe large enough to hold your laptop. Overall space is used efficiently. My room was surprisingly quiet and well-lit given the central location in the city. The only snag was getting a wifi connection. This took 20-30 minutes the first two nights and wasn't happening at all on night three. It was no biggee. I would have asked for assistance had it been an issue. So, that was on me. Do ask if you have similar problems. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Jul 21, 2009

Great location!

Great location to Chinatown and the shopping & financial districts. Within walking distance to the Yerba Buena Gardens. Easy to get to the BART and MUNI to get around town. The hotel staff was able to get us a exterior room at early check-in. The hotel and room was very clean and modern. Front desk staff were helpful and housekeeping didn't speak much English, but were accommodating nonetheless. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment about the quality of the food, but I did some people in the dining room and the menu looked delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Jul 21, 2009

Great location!

Great location to Chinatown and the shopping & financial districts. Within walking distance to the Yerba Buena Gardens. Easy to get to the BART and MUNI to get around town. The hotel staff was able to get us a exterior room at early check-in. The hotel and room was very clean and modern. Front desk staff were helpful and housekeeping didn't speak much English, but were accommodating nonetheless. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment about the quality of the food, but I did some people in the dining room and the menu looked delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelton, CT
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and cool hotel

This was a truly cool hotel in that it was really close to Chinatown (less than a block to the Chinatown gate), only a few blocks from Union Square, and even walking distance (for those that don't mind walking a couple of miles) to Fisherman's Warf and North Beach. The neighborhood is also safe with tons of great restaurants nearby. And hey, you can feel good about staying in one of the greenest hotels in a pretty green city also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You definitely can find some great restaurants in Chinatown, but take advantage of Roots in the hotel at least once. The food is organic and really well prepared.

Back to menu Return to top