$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
West Hartford, CT
Apr 22, 2009

"Unbeatable for the price"

Good location, easy walk to Union Square and shopping, at the edge of Chinatown. One of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

An enjoyable stay!

A very nice, modern hotel with a true European flair. Flat screen TVs, very comfortable beds, and accommodating service. At the entrance to China Town and a few short blocks to Union Square. A real surprise was that it is only doors away from the French Consulate and many wonderful French bistros and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the great French restaurants like Cafe Claude, Gitane, and Plouf, or the Spanish B44.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tucson, AZ
Mar 10, 2009

Excellent

Great location, excellent service and spotless rooms. However, the room could use more seating furniture rather than using the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Folsom, CA
Mar 3, 2009

Perfect location

This beautiful hotel was home to 8 great friends celebrating 3 retirements. We saw Wicked at the Orpheum Theater, shopped at the SF Shopping Center and spent the next day in Chinatown. The location was perfect. The rooms were large, clean and beautifully decorated. Everything about the place was classy. My corner room on the 6th floor looked out over Bush St. I did not hear traffic noise. What a plus! The bedding was incredible, as was the comfort of the bed. We took advantage of the roof-top patio for some late-night fun. Plenty of room, gorgeous views and until they start bar service, it's BYOB. It was great fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbuck's is across the street!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Frost
Couples
Annandale, VA
Feb 24, 2009

Cute

The room was small but nice. At first, it seemed as though something was missing. Nice little trick, the door to the bathroom looks like a wall with a mirror on it. It slides open. Only thing about that, no latch or lock on the bathroom door which is a little awkward to many people. Room was clean. Lights and heat/ac don't work without the room key inserted into a slot to ensure that energy isn't wasted. Shower water pressure wasn't bad at all. Sink water pressure wasn't great. Not bad at all for $99/night. They have a "rooftop garden" but it's not much of a garden. Just a nice place to sit around and enjoy the view of other buildings and some streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Immediately next to Chinatown and very short walk to some good shops.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oceanside
Dec 25, 2008

Very green hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel was an amazing place to stay. The hotel's focus was going green; which I really liked. They used only organic products. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and well maintained/cleaned. It was a great deal and it was better than I thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown was next to the hotel. North Beach was a short walk as well. The huge department stores and other shopping was on a short walk too.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Spacious bathrooms!

I loved the spacious layout of the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. Room was clean top to bottom. Nice flat screen TV. Alarm clock had an iPod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in a safe/clean area of the Financial District and is near Union Square, Chinatown, Cable Cars, MUNI Buses, BART Trains, 24hr Fitness, Shopping.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookfield
Nov 17, 2008

It IS easy being Green

It was interesting to be in the first LEED certified hotel. It kind of makes you feel good about staying there. The only changes I would recommend are to stop the daily newspaper deliveries - very paper-wasteful and to put volume control showers in to use less water. The bathroom was large and well lit. The rooms were so well insulated against noise I think I heared one door close in my 4 nights there. The rooftop was a great place to just sit out (there was a heat wave when I was there). The location is convenient, right next to the arched entrance to Chinatown. The staff, while a little disorganized, we so nice - of course people in SF tend to be nice anyway. We ran into the concierge down the street buying food for a homeless person. I highly recommend this place. I hope to stay there again on my next visit to SF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2008

Great Hotel

The Orchard Garden Hotel is a great place to stay. Besides being very Ecco-friendly, it's just a couple blocks away from the Powell/Hyde and Powell/Mason cable car lines and right next door to the Chinatown Gates. The bathrooms are quite large, beds are very comfortable, and if you want a night in they have a great selection of DVDs you can check out and watch on the LCD TVs in each room. Be sure not to miss happy hour at the Roots restaurant in the hotel. You get a free appetizer (I recommend the fries with parmesan cheese, garlic, and truffle oil) when you order a special drink or glass or wine off the list (the organic margarita is quite good). They'll even bring it up to you on the rooftop garden (the best place to chill out and have a drink). The breakfast at the Roots restaurant was also delicious and there was a 20% off coupon at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Norwalk
Nov 13, 2008

simple and elegant

My husband and I went to this hotel for our honeymoon and it was a great experience. The room was beautiful and the location was fantastic. Parking was on the high side, but given the location (next to Chinatown and the financial district) that is too by expected. The room itself was very simple and elegant. We had a king sized bed, which was very comfortable and a huge bathroom. The only criticism I have about the room is that is was a bit small. There was just enough walking room around the bed and a couch shoved into a little corner facing the wall. This, however, is a minor complaint. Everything else was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best place for a good beer and a meal is the Irish pub located just across the street.

Back to menu Return to top