$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarey
New York
Jan 2, 2013

Friendly helpful staff and great location.

The hotel staff is friendly, polite and very accommodating. We had called several weeks prior to our stay to ask for some taxi suggestions for new years eve. They gave us several suggestions and even booked a car service for us which was great to have on New Years Eve when it can be near impossible to get a taxi. The location is so central to everything, half a block to the Chinatown gate, blocks from Union Square where you can catch the famous cable cars, blocks from the SOMA neighborhood and walking distance to the Embarcadero. We did a lot of walking on our visit and were grateful we were in such a central location. Bring your walking shoes with you, there are lots of hills in San Francisco! The hotel is environmentally friendly with separate recycling bins for paper and bottles. The room lights are powered by your room key. The hotel is clean and the room was spotless. Overall a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants near Union Square only a few blocks walk. Plenty of restaurants in Chinatown as well. Also a Walgreens is 3 blocks away, great for anything you may have forgotten.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 22, 2009

hotel not happy we booked thru Orbitz

After looking at our room after checking in, we went back downstairs to see about changing rooms due to the tiny room size, view of neighboring buildings' walls out of the window, and noticing that the room being cleaned next to ours actually had chairs, a hall, etc. The female desk clerk said that they were full, and since we booked through orbitz instead of through the hotel, she wouldn't be able to try to move us anyway. When we asked about the empty room next to ours, she said all the rooms were "blocked out", so she could do nothing to help. She said if we were "really unhappy" that she could maybe move us to another room the next night, but it wouldn't have a better view, wouldn't be much bigger, and would be $20 more a night. We passed on that offer. When we went to use our wine glasses, we noticed one was cracked. When I called the front desk, I got a recorded message that the front desk was unavailable and to leave a message. I went down to the desk, and was told to take the glass to the restaurant and they could give me another one(no "sorry about that", etc.) There is essentially no lobby in the hotel and it is kind of stark and lacks any kind of ambience when you enter.On the positive side...later, we dealt with [...], [...], and one other very helpful, polite desk person, and they were all great about giving us directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. There is a rooftop where you can bring a bottle of wine, or order drinks from the restaurant below, and that was very pleasant. The location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Sep 22, 2009

Central Location

Great location central to downtown, Chinatown, Union Square. In a neighborhood with lots of shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto,CA
May 12, 2010

good location.

good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKELL
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2009

first green hotel stay

The hotel was very nice, small, but nice. First time being in a green hotel so that was kind of cool. Location was hard to find being in the heart of San Francisco, was only 2 blocks from AT&T park. Overall it was an average stay, nothing special just a room and a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mra38905
Business
San Fernando, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Nice and simple...

It was a nice experience if you're looking for a very simple hotel...didn't get a chance to try their restaurant ROOTS, but it looked very good...service was wonderful! They were more than happy to recommend restaurants if you weren't too familiar with the area...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Foods..great tiny swedish pancakes!!!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 1, 2011

Great Location

The room was a very tiny handicapped accessible room (low closet poles, sliding bathroom door) on an airshaft. There was a torrential rain that created a lot of noise on the airshaft, but the hotel itself was very quiet. Valet parking was difficult, with limited curb and long waits for the car. Excellent location near Chinatown, Union Square, MOMA and the Financial District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Le Central, Cafe de la Presse across the street, Cafe Claude in Claude Alley, Credo on Pine.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nostalgic Customer
Business
Memory Lane
Jul 9, 2009

Good Idea Gone Downhill

We stayed here 2 years ago and loved the hotel. The breakfast was fun, the staff was nice, the hotel was as advertised, and the rooms were clean and cozy. This time around everything suffered in comparison. The staff was OK. The room was OK. The breakfast was not included and nothing worked as advertised. I also missed their Aveda products. We were disappointed that things were not as great as last time and will reluctantly try some place new next time around. Please take this with a grain of salt. The hotel is in a great location and the amenities were well worth the price. We just struggled with a really great memory of our last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 19, 2010

good

the hotel was nice but the room were too small i would have like more space. it was nice to be so close to chinatown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 11, 2009

nice, new, "green" hotel. small rooms

Hotel was nice and new, the staff was very friendly and the location was great right by the gate to china town and union station. The hotel has an environmentally friendly "green" theme going. However my room was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top