Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
254 reviews
Beautiful hotel in great location

We stayed here for 3 nights while enjoying the city. The hotel is about 30 feet from the Chinatown... See full review

  • Andrew119
  • Nov 3, 2014
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 22, 2009

hotel not happy we booked thru Orbitz

After looking at our room after checking in, we went back downstairs to see about changing rooms due to the tiny room size, view of neighboring buildings' walls out of the window, and noticing that the room being cleaned next to ours actually had chairs, a hall, etc. The female desk clerk said that they were full, and since we booked through orbitz instead of through the hotel, she wouldn't be able to try to move us anyway. When we asked about the empty room next to ours, she said all the rooms were "blocked out", so she could do nothing to help. She said if we were "really unhappy" that she could maybe move us to another room the next night, but it wouldn't have a better view, wouldn't be much bigger, and would be $20 more a night. We passed on that offer. When we went to use our wine glasses, we noticed one was cracked. When I called the front desk, I got a recorded message that the front desk was unavailable and to leave a message. I went down to the desk, and was told to take the glass to the restaurant and they could give me another one(no "sorry about that", etc.) There is essentially no lobby in the hotel and it is kind of stark and lacks any kind of ambience when you enter.On the positive side...later, we dealt with [...], [...], and one other very helpful, polite desk person, and they were all great about giving us directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. There is a rooftop where you can bring a bottle of wine, or order drinks from the restaurant below, and that was very pleasant. The location was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Sep 22, 2009

Central Location

Great location central to downtown, Chinatown, Union Square. In a neighborhood with lots of shopping and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto,CA
May 12, 2010

good location.

good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKELL
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 30, 2009

first green hotel stay

The hotel was very nice, small, but nice. First time being in a green hotel so that was kind of cool. Location was hard to find being in the heart of San Francisco, was only 2 blocks from AT&T park. Overall it was an average stay, nothing special just a room and a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mra38905
Business
San Fernando, CA
Aug 3, 2009

Nice and simple...

It was a nice experience if you're looking for a very simple hotel...didn't get a chance to try their restaurant ROOTS, but it looked very good...service was wonderful! They were more than happy to recommend restaurants if you weren't too familiar with the area...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sears Fine Foods..great tiny swedish pancakes!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Jan 1, 2011

Great Location

The room was a very tiny handicapped accessible room (low closet poles, sliding bathroom door) on an airshaft. There was a torrential rain that created a lot of noise on the airshaft, but the hotel itself was very quiet. Valet parking was difficult, with limited curb and long waits for the car. Excellent location near Chinatown, Union Square, MOMA and the Financial District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed Le Central, Cafe de la Presse across the street, Cafe Claude in Claude Alley, Credo on Pine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nostalgic Customer
Business
Memory Lane
Jul 9, 2009

Good Idea Gone Downhill

We stayed here 2 years ago and loved the hotel. The breakfast was fun, the staff was nice, the hotel was as advertised, and the rooms were clean and cozy. This time around everything suffered in comparison. The staff was OK. The room was OK. The breakfast was not included and nothing worked as advertised. I also missed their Aveda products. We were disappointed that things were not as great as last time and will reluctantly try some place new next time around. Please take this with a grain of salt. The hotel is in a great location and the amenities were well worth the price. We just struggled with a really great memory of our last stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 19, 2010

good

the hotel was nice but the room were too small i would have like more space. it was nice to be so close to chinatown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 11, 2009

nice, new, "green" hotel. small rooms

Hotel was nice and new, the staff was very friendly and the location was great right by the gate to china town and union station. The hotel has an environmentally friendly "green" theme going. However my room was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top