$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
251 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelling buddy
Schiller Park, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Wine Country layover

Much to mine and my friend's delight, our stay at Orchard Garden Hotel was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very modern, clean, crisp and comfortable. The hotel is located two doors over from the entrance to Chinatown, which was just what we were looking for, as we only had one night to spend there and then off to Napa Valley. Orchard Garden Hotel is also Green, right down to the electrical power in the room. Don't forget your room key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown was only two doors from our hotel and full of wonderful shopping, food and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Francis
Kent, U.K.
Oct 15, 2013

Equal best of 8 hotels we used during the two week stay in the U.S.

Most convenient for local sights and transport! Would certainly use again without hesitation. My family were located on the top floor for four nights and we made good use of the roof terrace. Very quiet for good nights sleep. The small gym has three machines. Desk staff were wonderful and freely gave advice when requested. Yellow cab cost to or from the International airport is around $42. We made use of the French restaurants opposite for breakfasts as well as the usual coffee houses close by. Union Square is only 400 yards away for Maceys and Cheesecake Factory as well as the many tourist buses. Birthday treat arranged for my wife on request. Stephen Francis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town entrance exactly next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda G
United Kingdom
Oct 6, 2013

Perfect Location to stay

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get around the city. The hotel itself is great, the rooms are clean, bright great beds & bathroom. Staff very friendly & helpful. Would definetly stay again and would recommend to others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the city bus tour to get a great feel for the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cansu
Istanbul
Sep 30, 2013

Good but too expensive

It is a pretty good hotel but the pricing is in the range of luxurious five star hotels, which is not the way this hotel is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends' wedding in SF
New York City, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Hidden gem

Just off of Union Square, and very convenient to Chinatown. Very walkable to great restaurants like Sears and House of Nanking. Very reasonable rates (though we did book at least 6 months in advance, to work around a convention taking place the same weekend we were planning to visit) got us a clean, quiet room, polite and attentive service, and as I said, convenient location for our needs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. (Strangely, the hotel felt empty - I'm pretty sure it was at capacity, but the lobby is really too small to hang out in, so there isn't a whole lot of chance to run into other guests. Actually not a complaint.) Also to note - we brought with us our 5 month-old daughter. They didn't have the crib set up for us when we checked in, as we'd requested when we booked, but they brought up very quickly after we called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seriously. Sears on Powell is worth the walk. (Don't walk up Bush though - walk down Bush to Kearny, right turn onto Kearny, then right turn onto Sutter, then walk to Powell - saves you some hills.) Great food, reasonable though on pricier side, great, relaxing atmosphere. They do different blue plate dinner specials by night - the night we went it was turkey, and delicious. Fish and chips were just ok. House of Nanking is a bit further walk but worth it if you're in the mood for Chinese. From this hotel, you can basically again walk down Bush to Kearny, and then follow Kearny up a couple blocks, and House of Nanking should be right there. Recommend not going during peak dinner time - when we tried there at 7p on a Saturday, it was packed. Also, we didn't even try bringing in our stroller - all the tables are packed in together and the walkways are narrow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken L.
OH
Sep 8, 2013

Great location to Chinatown, easy access to BART, Union Square

Just finished my week long stay here, the location is top notch like I mentioned above. BART to SFO airport for only $16 and change roundtrip. As others have mentioned, take the Montgomery exit and not Powell (though it's not too far of a walk either) and a few blocks later you're there. Staff is excellent, willing to give advice, suggestions for any needs you have. Room was clean, comfortable King size bed, and decent size. Only issues I ever had was my room water pressure would fluctuate at times while showering (others flushing, using bathroom in adjacent rooms?) and a bit noisy at times from outside noises (might have been my location near back alley). Great stay and would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
typical tourist
England
Aug 12, 2013

Perfect location

Excellent location right next to Chinatown and shopping centre. Everything close at hand and transport links are good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can get a clipper card for $14 dollars from Walgreens and BART stations which gives you unlimited bus and cable car for the day with no need to find change for every trip. We went all over the place with this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Utah
Aug 1, 2013

Peaceful, clean, close to MUNI stops

Very helpful staff. 4 blocks from BART station makes easy trip to and from airport. Be certain to enter and exit at Montgomery St Station and not Powell St. Download the MUNI app to your iPhone and buy a bus pass to save money for wonderful food and sights while in SF. Within walking distance to MUNI stops that will get you anywhere you want to go in the City. Only draw back is just two P.C. 'S in business center but great wireless in rooms. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the MUNI to get around. Efficient and accessible. Download the MUNI app and you will never get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Utah
Jul 29, 2013

Easy access to MUNi and BART, awesome beds, wonderful staff!

Spent 4 days here. Only 4 blocks from BART station to and from airport but be certain to take Montgomery St stop not Powell St. Easy access to all buses, load the MUNI app to your iPhone and getting around SF is a breeze with reasonable walks from the hotel to bus stops even for an older less mobile person. This hotel has the most comfortable beds and bedding. Very quiet, peaceful in general. Staff was extremely helpful when asked and unobtrusive when they should be. The Wifi works great for IPads and laptops in your room. One drawback is only two PC's in business center and they were always in use. I would not plan to do a lot of work there. Staff is very helpful however in printing flight info etc if you ask. Good variety of snacks in room, they are a little costly but average compared to other hotels. Plan to stay here again whenever we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MUNI pass and load the MUNI app to your IPhone. We have no public trans where we live and found it easy to get around with a few initial tips from hotel staff to get our bearings. The bus saves tons of money to spend on the amazing sights and foods of San Francisco!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas Red Raider
Dallas, Texas
Jun 20, 2013

Good, not great for one SMALL reason

Walking in, you'll be very pleased with your decision to stay at the Orchard Garden. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the hotel appearance is top notch. Get to your room, however, and you may rethink. We booked a room with two beds to accommodate myself, my wife and 4-year-old son. The room was slightly larger than a typical master bedroom in a home. Compact is probably the best way to describe it. Very little walking space, very little storage area and tiny closets meant piled up luggage and bags for 5 days. If you pack light and plan to spend very little time in the room, you're probably fine, but in terms of typical hotel rooms, this is definitely smaller than any I've stayed in. The upsides include proximity to shopping, restaurants and public transit. The staff was great, as well. Just probably not ideal for more than one or two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Sutter Garage just a block up the road if you rent a car. However, the abundance of pay-as-you-go cars and mass transit options make renting a car much more expensive due to the need to pay for parking everywhere in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FTGW
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 5, 2013

Great combination of value, quality, location

We thought this was a very nice little hotel with helpful, courteous, responsive staff. Good amenities. Good-sized, clean rooms. Very well located within easy walking distance of China Town, Union Sq. etc., and transport to all the main areas of interest, museums, etc., was easy. This enabled us to make the most of our five days in San Francisco. And good value for money. We'd stay there again any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search