$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaDasha
Business
Beaumont Ca
Jul 28, 2009

Great Location Great Price Great Overall

Overall it was an amazing hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable the room was very clean. I have no complaints just a couple suggestions. I would put some type of rack in the shower for toiletries and I would revise the happy hour prices a happy hour martini was $12 you get a free appetizer but the drinks are why we find happy hours. However again it was a gorgeous hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Boudin Bakery and restaurant had an awesome happy hour Mon-Fri 4-7pm $5 martinis etc and it was a really classy place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DACAttendee
Business
New Jersey
Jul 28, 2009

Excellent Value

An excellent experience overall. I was moving from another hotel in SF, when I called at 7AM to see if I could store my bag they offered to check me in immediately. The hotel itself is new and is very clean. I liked the main power switch you turn on with your room key. Room was a little on the small side but well designed. An armchair would have been nice, but I wasn't there enough to need it. The bathrobes were a nice touch. Location was great - literally steps away from Chinatown, and an easy 5-10min walk to the Moscone center where my conference was. Minor glitches: Wireless internet stopped working after about half an hour, and the room safe didn't work. To be fair, I didn't didn't complain and give the hotel a chance to fix them. I'd come back here without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beckmori
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 27, 2009

Decent Room, Horrible Front Desk Service

At check-in we were given 3 cards that did not work to enter our room. I returned to the front desk and staff then gave me 3 new cards for the room. Fortunately the cards worked...unfortunately the room was already occupied by other guests when I opened the door. Thankfully nobody was naked. Finally after a 3rd trip back to the front desk, we got a room. There were 6 of us traveling together for a ladies' trip and to run the SF marathon, so we had reserved two rooms and requested they be adjacent if possible. We had to wait for our 2nd room to be cleaned which was directly across the hallway. No problem, we left our bags and ventured out for some shopping. When we returned, they had given that room away to some other guests and gave us our 2nd room on a completely different floor. Very disappointing! We also had requested a late checkout (1pm rather than noon) and were told that was no problem. One room received a call at 12:15 asking why we had not checked out...she didn't seem to believe us that we had arranged for a 1pm checkout and was quite snotty. Finally, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for a rollaway bed which we had not even inquired about. She questioned us as if we were being dishonest and then made me sign a "rollaway dispute" form to reverse the charge to my credit card, but couldn't seem to understand why I might want a copy of it as well. Too bad about the horrible front desk service. The rooms were basic but very clean and relaxing. Nonetheless, I think we will look for another place to stay next time. The service was inconsistent and unwelcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, CA
Jul 25, 2009

location, location, location

This is a green hotel and relatively new, so was very clean. The location was great, two doors from Grant and the gates to China Town. the beds were very comfortable, with crisp white linens, the staff were not very helpful or knowledgible, but we found things on our own. The parking was $45. so I think I would try not to have a car next time. There was a parking garage across the street that might have been cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chinese Empress was beautiful and the have a half off cocktail and appetizer time, but the food in the dining room was not very good and was expensive. It was generous portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
plwyman
Business
Davis, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Cozy European-style Respite

Very pleasant hotel, very green, and amazingly comfortable beds and linens. Rooms are modest but cozy. Think European. There is a room safe large enough to hold your laptop. Overall space is used efficiently. My room was surprisingly quiet and well-lit given the central location in the city. The only snag was getting a wifi connection. This took 20-30 minutes the first two nights and wasn't happening at all on night three. It was no biggee. I would have asked for assistance had it been an issue. So, that was on me. Do ask if you have similar problems. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jul 21, 2009

Great location!

Great location to Chinatown and the shopping & financial districts. Within walking distance to the Yerba Buena Gardens. Easy to get to the BART and MUNI to get around town. The hotel staff was able to get us a exterior room at early check-in. The hotel and room was very clean and modern. Front desk staff were helpful and housekeeping didn't speak much English, but were accommodating nonetheless. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment about the quality of the food, but I did some people in the dining room and the menu looked delicious. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelton, CT
Jul 21, 2009

Great location and cool hotel

This was a truly cool hotel in that it was really close to Chinatown (less than a block to the Chinatown gate), only a few blocks from Union Square, and even walking distance (for those that don't mind walking a couple of miles) to Fisherman's Warf and North Beach. The neighborhood is also safe with tons of great restaurants nearby. And hey, you can feel good about staying in one of the greenest hotels in a pretty green city also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You definitely can find some great restaurants in Chinatown, but take advantage of Roots in the hotel at least once. The food is organic and really well prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jul 20, 2009

GREAT!!

Great location, great rooms, unfortunately no pool but that's San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno, CA
Jul 19, 2009

orchard garden hotel

Very friendly staff. Rooms were spotless and quiet! It was perfect for our needs. The only downside was that it took 45 minutes to get our car so call early when you are checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Belgian Dentist
Business
Aarschot , Belgium
Jul 15, 2009

Ideal location to visit San Francisco

My family, parents en 3 children (17-19-21) , started our California trip in San Francisco. The hotel lay in the center of town, in between all to vistit town districts. In a calm area far away from the touristic Fisherman Warf area. The rooms our great and comfortabel. Staf is friendly. The restaurantfacilities are small , but in the neigbourhood are many restaurants and bars on walk distance to find. Great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top