$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver
Mar 1, 2010

Great location and price

This hotel was a great choice for the Chinese New Years Parade. It is also centrally located to the Ferry Plaza and Chinatown. It was clean, quiet and accommodating to children. The only disappointment (and it was a small one) was that the roof top garden did not afford any real views of the City. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tampa. Fl;orida
Feb 22, 2010

Wonderful accomodations!

This hotel is located just outside the Grant Ave. China Gate and is a few steps from Union Square, making it an incomparable location. I have stayed at this hotel many times. This time I got a smaller than usual room, but it was cozy and lovely. Everything was spotless and the staff are wonderful. I am making plans to come back to the Orchard Garden as soon as I am able. There is a wonderful restaurant across the street for breakfast and a Starbucks is also across the street. I am very plased to recommend this hotel highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The stores at Union Suare include major chains (Macy's; Nordstrom's) as well as lovely specialty shops (Arthur Beren shoes, etc.). It is a shopper's paradise!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, ID
Feb 22, 2010

Great Hotel

I was in town for a job interview. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Carlos, CA
Feb 6, 2010

purportedly 4 star, isn't.

The one great thing about the hotel was the staff: very professional and fast. Everything else ranged from blah to very bad. Overnight parking: ~$46! Ludicrous. The most charitable view of the bathroom / bedroom setup was "intimate" and in ways you'd prefer it wasn't. The room itself was ok, but nothing like the photos. As one example of the condition: the rod holding the shower broke during an adjustment, exposing rusted screws.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toledo1
Business
Chicago
Feb 1, 2010

Great hotel for a good price

great location, close to union square. i basically stayed in this area for dinner, bar, shopping. i walked around and felt completely safe. hotel looked like a 5 star hotel, clean and nice decoration, great spot. It was green oriented and it truly made me realize all that is spent in a regular hotel. I mean do you really need a change of towels every day? Do you wash your towels every day at home? I don't think so. Great way to not waste energy either, you have to place your key in a slot to power up the lights. They have the same system all over Italy. To improve: - They should have a mini bar or at least mention if it was safe to drink the water from the sink - They should have at least free coffee and bagels at the restaurant. If you bring your car as all those reviews in yelp said, do not pay the valet here: $40 over night (wow). There is a parking lot a block away (on the opposite direction of the street walking up and to the left). It charges you only $8. I left my car there for 3 days and it was only $35. So these people at the hotel have to be making like 800% profit just on valet. Best hotel I have stayed in SF yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ate at 2 restaurants across the street on an alley, really good. Financial district 3 block away. Union square 3 blocks away. felt pretty safe walking around at night, towards union square. I mean it was packed. (It was pretty lonely on financial district though)

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 29, 2010

OK

The hotel is located well, good decor, small room, needs a reading chair. With two people, one chair (at the desk) is not enough. The green features are admirable and welcome. The recycling bins, electrical savings features, etc. are well done. However, the toilet wastes more water than its specs intend, because it doesn't flush thorough enough and, therefore, requires two (even three) flushes per serious use to get it clean. The hotel is clean. The staff is most helpful. The valet parking is expensive. Surely the hotel can get a better deal. The down bed cover is too hot. There should be a blanket alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Belden Street with a European (Old San Francisco) feel, has five or six restaurants with very good international cuisine.. Highly recommend Plouf.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 29, 2010

Hidden Gem

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. I found the rooms to be very clean and spacious compared to some boutique hotels that I have stayed in. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
quick vacationer
Single
washington, dc
Jan 21, 2010

classy and comfy

This is a great place to stay - clean, comfortable, very friendly staff, and very well located. There's a free business center and small fitness room. It's literally next to the Chinatown Gate, and everything is accessible from public transport. It's a short walk to hundreds of shops, restaurants, etc. etc. The bedding, fixtures and furniture were all clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ferry Building is an easy walk down market, with great views and lots of artisan shops.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 19, 2010

good

the hotel was nice but the room were too small i would have like more space. it was nice to be so close to chinatown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricia O
Couples
Tahoe CA
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect location

Hotel is located near lots of sites, Union Square, China Town, Cable cars - easy walk to many sites and things to do. The hotel was very clean and the room, while small, was nice. The bed was very comfortable! My only complaint would be the bathroom door. In effort to save space they have a sliding door to the bathroom, which gives you visible privacy, but you can hear everything which make it difficult to get ready quietly if someone else is wanting to sleep in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in the City, and I will be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little Parisian cafe across the street which had a nice and tasty breakfast, and great staff. It was like going to France again w/o a passport.

Back to menu Return to top