Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd and Camille
Dallas, Texas
Jan 5, 2013

Adventure central

Getting there is super easy, we jump on the bart rail and in fifteen minutes your at the montgomery staion from there its a short four block walk to the the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located at the cusp of union square, China town, and the financial district. Little Italy and the embarcadero farmers market and water front are just a ten minute walk away. The hotel as you can see by the five stars I gave across the board has all any traveler would need, and it is a LEED certified "green"hotel so you can feel good about your stay! This was our second stay at this hotel and our first stay was perfict as well. we did have one issue, when we checked into our room we turned on the tv which functioned for a few minutes the made a pop noise and quit functioning. Maintenance arrived within minutes and had a quick look and determined it was toast, the maintenance man apologized profusely "like it was his fault the tv had broken" he immediately called the front desk and determined that there was an upgraded suite available on the same floor, he then personally moved our luggage to the suite while continuing to apologize. If they have the maintenance man empowered to take such great care of there guests, it is in this travelers opinion that they have customer service down to a tee! Great work Orchard Garden staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car when traveling to San Francisco it will hinder not help on your trip. I made the mistake once. Walking or Taxis are the only way to go.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandyF
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 4, 2012

College tour

We recently took a quick trip to San Francisco to check out a potential college for our daughter. The Orchard Garden ended up being the perfect hotel in the perfect location: walking distance from the BART station, the cable car stop, and the school itself. And it's just steps away from the entrance to Chinatown, where we had dinner one night. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. The housekeeping service was excellent, coming not once but twice a day. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The onsite restaurant, Roots, had good food and good service. And we loved that the hotel was small, quiet, and so eco-oriented, right down to dividing the wastebasket into recyclables! We're already planning stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timo
Business
South Boston, VA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Conference Gem

Close enough but Far enough away from Moscone... To get away from "crowds" and blend in... Close enough to Union Square yet not so touristy feel.. Next to China Town, Starbucks on the corner.. Greta Cafe on the other corner.... Wonderful and Helpful Staff... a GEM...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
orbijd
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 27, 2012

Great location, average hotel

Great location for a first visit to San Francisco. It's right next to Chinatown Gate. Although the hotel claims to be "the greenest in town", we did not notice much energy saving. We particularly liked the fact that we could use their two business center desktop computers to print our maps, boarding passes etc for free - that's rare in a hotel. (Not that green, come to think of it). Our backs hurt a bit from sleeping on their matress. The rooms were clean. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great authentic French restaurant just across the street: "Cafe de la Presse". Their Boeuf Bourguignon was very tasty!

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABBI419
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Great room, great price

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, very clean, great location and great staff! we would definantly stay there again. The only small negative was that the room was a little smaller than we are used to. But still GREAT HOTEL!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy and Mark
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Visiting son

I can't begin to describe how helpful the hotel staff was at helping us around the city. The room was clean, the service was impeccable. We'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Fast & Furious SF Trip

I had a last minute need to travel to SF. I wanted a boutique hotel in a good area. The bonus was that it was a green hotel. I loved the room, the staff, and the location. The restaurant closed too early in the evening for me and the pillows were too spongy for my liking. Both things one can overlook! Stay here and you will have a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the heart of all kinds of shopping at Union Square. From high end to bargains. It's all right there.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amechow
Business
Ohio, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Excellent Stay

The Orchard Garden Hotel was perfect. It has a great location within walking distance to everything. The actual room although a bit small was very well appointed. The mini fridge and snack selection was excellent. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with great products. I also enjoyed the 'green' concept. Front desk staff was very friendly. I would absolutely recommend this hotel in this price point and I for sure will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cafe across the street from the hotel - La Presse.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PurpleNurple
Business
Roanoke, VA
Feb 27, 2012

Small, but very nice and great location

The staff, room, and location were all first rate. The room was quite small and even the hallways and lobby are very small, but that's to be expected at an urban boutique hotel like this one. Overall a good experience - I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is literally right around the corner.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
East Coaster
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Eco-friendly, and cool design

Loved the ecofriendly nature of the hotel. I don't have much experience with SF hotels, but I would guess many of them have this theme. Appropriately spacious rooms, and very nice comfy design. Cool sliding door for the bathroom. Nice to have turndown service in the evenings. Desk was a bit cluttered with lots of things (mini bar, phone, lamp, etc), but still functional. Nice bonus: a sleep book/cd in the room (not for taking home) to help you drift off into a peaceful slumber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKadeM
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 18, 2012

Orchard Garden

The hotel was perfectly sufficient. It could have used an additional mini fridge (the one in the room was used as the mini bar). Other than that it was a nice eco-friendly room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Boulangerie I believe. Great food at low cost. Avoid La Presse at the corner at all costs. Found the wait staff to be rude.

Back to menu Return to top