Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
252 reviews
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Great stay and wonderful location

This was a great hotel to stay at, close to great shopping at Union square and Chinatown. The staff... See full review

  • A soul traveler
  • Mar 31, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7909 -122.4052
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
(SFO)San Francisco International Airport (OAK)Oakland International Airport (SJC)San Jose International Airport
Area description
Situated in the world's favorite travel destination.. a city that sets high standards for stylish accommodations and elegant dining, The Orchard Garden Hotel is up to the challenge.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pismomomma
Business
Pismo Beach, CA
Feb 4, 2013

A Jewel !!!!!

WONDERFUL boutique hotel, steps from Chinatown. We LOVED our stay. The beds were incredibly comfortable, luxurious linens, thick, soft towels, very quiet considering it is right downtown. We will be back for sure, but I hope it won't "get discovered" because then vacancy will be a problem. ;) Parking was expensive...$45.00 per day! YIKES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii Vacationers
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Feb 3, 2013

Great hotel stay!

This was our first trip to San Francisco and this hotel was a large part of the overall wonderful experience. Hotel was clean, modern, conveniently located near shopping, restaurants and bus lines. The only negative was the wifi. While it was complimentary, it took repeated attempts before connection was success, and this sometimes occurred within the same Internet session.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd and Camille
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 5, 2013

Adventure central

Getting there is super easy, we jump on the bart rail and in fifteen minutes your at the montgomery staion from there its a short four block walk to the the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located at the cusp of union square, China town, and the financial district. Little Italy and the embarcadero farmers market and water front are just a ten minute walk away. The hotel as you can see by the five stars I gave across the board has all any traveler would need, and it is a LEED certified "green"hotel so you can feel good about your stay! This was our second stay at this hotel and our first stay was perfict as well. we did have one issue, when we checked into our room we turned on the tv which functioned for a few minutes the made a pop noise and quit functioning. Maintenance arrived within minutes and had a quick look and determined it was toast, the maintenance man apologized profusely "like it was his fault the tv had broken" he immediately called the front desk and determined that there was an upgraded suite available on the same floor, he then personally moved our luggage to the suite while continuing to apologize. If they have the maintenance man empowered to take such great care of there guests, it is in this travelers opinion that they have customer service down to a tee! Great work Orchard Garden staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car when traveling to San Francisco it will hinder not help on your trip. I made the mistake once. Walking or Taxis are the only way to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarey
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2013

Friendly helpful staff and great location.

The hotel staff is friendly, polite and very accommodating. We had called several weeks prior to our stay to ask for some taxi suggestions for new years eve. They gave us several suggestions and even booked a car service for us which was great to have on New Years Eve when it can be near impossible to get a taxi. The location is so central to everything, half a block to the Chinatown gate, blocks from Union Square where you can catch the famous cable cars, blocks from the SOMA neighborhood and walking distance to the Embarcadero. We did a lot of walking on our visit and were grateful we were in such a central location. Bring your walking shoes with you, there are lots of hills in San Francisco! The hotel is environmentally friendly with separate recycling bins for paper and bottles. The room lights are powered by your room key. The hotel is clean and the room was spotless. Overall a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants near Union Square only a few blocks walk. Plenty of restaurants in Chinatown as well. Also a Walgreens is 3 blocks away, great for anything you may have forgotten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita 'n Roger
Business
Corona Del Mar, Ca.
Dec 24, 2012

Great Night at the Orchard Garden Hotel

We were greeted warmly at the desk when we arrived hours before the official check-in time at this newish hotel located in the heart of downtown San Francisco. We were immediately given a room that was ready and everything was explained quickly and thoroughly regarding our room, checkout time, room key which turned on the electricity only when it was placed into a slot just inside the room. We were impressed that it was a "green" hotel and the staff made every effort to be energy efficient. The room itself was smallish which was fine with us because it was immaculate, and the bed was so comfortable that my husband and I slept 8 hours that night--rare for us even in our own home! Justine and Bina at the front desk helped us with our directions, the best shopping in downtown San Francisco, and were very professional as well as friendly. We will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe de la Presse across the street made the perfect place for breakfast for us. Very busy but the efficient wait staff make you feel special and it feels cozy there. The ambience was lovely and the spinach omelet was tasty and not too filling. Will be back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATL Dude
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 23, 2012

Perfect location, awesome staff, adorable hotel

The title says it all... great location in the Financial District, bordering Chinatown. Close to Muni buses and subway. The staff was wonderful... very friendly and helpful to us SF newbies. And the hotel itself is nicely-appointed, comfortable, clean, and quiet. I stayed here with my wife and 2 young children, and would certainly stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

After you take the expensive, crowded cable cars one time to say you did it, use the F line to get to Fisherman's Wharf... less than half the cost of the cable cars. Catch it on Market St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brainupgraded
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 13, 2012

Location and staff

Location is perfect. It is close to union square, China town, and the cable car. And the staffs were very nice as well. The most impressive part was the room since it seems like they remodeled (or built) this hotel very recently. Very clean. My only complaint is parking. Well, it's downtown SF, so what can I expect more? But as long as you cannot find a public parking lot close to this hotel, you have to spend $40 for valet parking. And when we tried to get our car once, it took about 40 min for some reason. The staff apologized for that and they were nice till the end, but it's 40 min. Overall, very good hotel. I would stay here again when I visit SF downtown again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMBA
Business
Atlanta
Nov 8, 2012

Downtown San Francisco

Great location in the Financial District, very easy walking distance to many attractions as well as public transportation. Room was small but I hear this is par for the course in SF. Air temperature in the room was difficult to control. Hotel experience overall was fine, nothing stands out except the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One Market is an excellent restaurant, next to the Ferry Building, a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Blue Skies
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Nov 6, 2012

Weekend get away

While on a business trip, I met my sister for a weekend get away in San Franscisco. Hotel was perfectly located for shopping and meals in china town. Walking distance to everything we wanted to do. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ganious
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 5, 2012

Sweet hotel

Friendly staff. Responsive and overall very accommodating. Assisted in directions and restaurant suggestions with excitement and without hesitation. The room was extremely clean and the king size bed was really comfortable, (although it did take up much of the room). The bathroom was sizable and really neat--but the shower pressure was modest at best. So don't expect a gushing shower, but it was acceptable. Love the green atmosphere! We didn't have a view of the street and could only see the center corridor of the structure, which made me rate it 4 stars. But it was right across the street from a great sushi spot Akiko, a cool french restaurant, and right down the block from shops etc. Its also on the rim of chinatown. I will stay there again. If you rent a bike in town, make sure you know if there are any city events--we ran smack dead into a marathon! LOL! FYI Orchard Garden was a short walk to Bart that took us right to the airport for $16 bucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Sushi right across the street. Sushi Chef Ricky is awesome. Sit at the bar and learn something.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top