$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
258 out of 258
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friends' wedding in SF
Business
New York City, NY
Sep 24, 2013

Hidden gem

Just off of Union Square, and very convenient to Chinatown. Very walkable to great restaurants like Sears and House of Nanking. Very reasonable rates (though we did book at least 6 months in advance, to work around a convention taking place the same weekend we were planning to visit) got us a clean, quiet room, polite and attentive service, and as I said, convenient location for our needs. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. (Strangely, the hotel felt empty - I'm pretty sure it was at capacity, but the lobby is really too small to hang out in, so there isn't a whole lot of chance to run into other guests. Actually not a complaint.) Also to note - we brought with us our 5 month-old daughter. They didn't have the crib set up for us when we checked in, as we'd requested when we booked, but they brought up very quickly after we called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Seriously. Sears on Powell is worth the walk. (Don't walk up Bush though - walk down Bush to Kearny, right turn onto Kearny, then right turn onto Sutter, then walk to Powell - saves you some hills.) Great food, reasonable though on pricier side, great, relaxing atmosphere. They do different blue plate dinner specials by night - the night we went it was turkey, and delicious. Fish and chips were just ok. House of Nanking is a bit further walk but worth it if you're in the mood for Chinese. From this hotel, you can basically again walk down Bush to Kearny, and then follow Kearny up a couple blocks, and House of Nanking should be right there. Recommend not going during peak dinner time - when we tried there at 7p on a Saturday, it was packed. Also, we didn't even try bringing in our stroller - all the tables are packed in together and the walkways are narrow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken L.
Business
OH
Sep 8, 2013

Great location to Chinatown, easy access to BART, Union Square

Just finished my week long stay here, the location is top notch like I mentioned above. BART to SFO airport for only $16 and change roundtrip. As others have mentioned, take the Montgomery exit and not Powell (though it's not too far of a walk either) and a few blocks later you're there. Staff is excellent, willing to give advice, suggestions for any needs you have. Room was clean, comfortable King size bed, and decent size. Only issues I ever had was my room water pressure would fluctuate at times while showering (others flushing, using bathroom in adjacent rooms?) and a bit noisy at times from outside noises (might have been my location near back alley). Great stay and would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
typical tourist
Business
England
Aug 12, 2013

Perfect location

Excellent location right next to Chinatown and shopping centre. Everything close at hand and transport links are good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can get a clipper card for $14 dollars from Walgreens and BART stations which gives you unlimited bus and cable car for the day with no need to find change for every trip. We went all over the place with this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Business
Utah
Aug 1, 2013

Peaceful, clean, close to MUNI stops

Very helpful staff. 4 blocks from BART station makes easy trip to and from airport. Be certain to enter and exit at Montgomery St Station and not Powell St. Download the MUNI app to your iPhone and buy a bus pass to save money for wonderful food and sights while in SF. Within walking distance to MUNI stops that will get you anywhere you want to go in the City. Only draw back is just two P.C. 'S in business center but great wireless in rooms. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the MUNI to get around. Efficient and accessible. Download the MUNI app and you will never get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry D and Mary
Business
Utah
Jul 29, 2013

Easy access to MUNi and BART, awesome beds, wonderful staff!

Spent 4 days here. Only 4 blocks from BART station to and from airport but be certain to take Montgomery St stop not Powell St. Easy access to all buses, load the MUNI app to your iPhone and getting around SF is a breeze with reasonable walks from the hotel to bus stops even for an older less mobile person. This hotel has the most comfortable beds and bedding. Very quiet, peaceful in general. Staff was extremely helpful when asked and unobtrusive when they should be. The Wifi works great for IPads and laptops in your room. One drawback is only two PC's in business center and they were always in use. I would not plan to do a lot of work there. Staff is very helpful however in printing flight info etc if you ask. Good variety of snacks in room, they are a little costly but average compared to other hotels. Plan to stay here again whenever we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a MUNI pass and load the MUNI app to your IPhone. We have no public trans where we live and found it easy to get around with a few initial tips from hotel staff to get our bearings. The bus saves tons of money to spend on the amazing sights and foods of San Francisco!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas Red Raider
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 20, 2013

Good, not great for one SMALL reason

Walking in, you'll be very pleased with your decision to stay at the Orchard Garden. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the hotel appearance is top notch. Get to your room, however, and you may rethink. We booked a room with two beds to accommodate myself, my wife and 4-year-old son. The room was slightly larger than a typical master bedroom in a home. Compact is probably the best way to describe it. Very little walking space, very little storage area and tiny closets meant piled up luggage and bags for 5 days. If you pack light and plan to spend very little time in the room, you're probably fine, but in terms of typical hotel rooms, this is definitely smaller than any I've stayed in. The upsides include proximity to shopping, restaurants and public transit. The staff was great, as well. Just probably not ideal for more than one or two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the Sutter Garage just a block up the road if you rent a car. However, the abundance of pay-as-you-go cars and mass transit options make renting a car much more expensive due to the need to pay for parking everywhere in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FTGW
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jun 5, 2013

Great combination of value, quality, location

We thought this was a very nice little hotel with helpful, courteous, responsive staff. Good amenities. Good-sized, clean rooms. Very well located within easy walking distance of China Town, Union Sq. etc., and transport to all the main areas of interest, museums, etc., was easy. This enabled us to make the most of our five days in San Francisco. And good value for money. We'd stay there again any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaneF
Business
Grand Rapids
May 29, 2013

Great Location and Great Staff

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the OGH. The staff was very thoughtful and informative. The bed was very comfortable and there was very little noise. San Francisco is a great town and this hotel is right next to the Chinatown gate with an easy walk to cable cars and trolleys that can help you find some incredible sights. There are also many different types of restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Shane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One of our favorite Cable Car rides (Powell & Hyde) is just two blocks away. Grab it in the early morning or late evening for some great views of the city. Don't forget to get a Clipper pass if you are using public transportation - it covers the buses,trolleys,cable cars, and ferries. Have fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy KinHong
Business
Maryland
May 27, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation

The room is very clean and looks new, location is fine(just next to China Town and close to Union Square). However considering it as a four star, I didn't find very welcoming staff from the reception. Anyways, it is a good one if you don't care or don't have to deal with the staff much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jutah
Business
Salt Lake City
May 6, 2013

Overnight business trip

We came into town for a meeting with a client. The location was easy to get to from the financial district. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed bed and pillows were awesome and I had a great night's sleep. The next morning for breakfast the staff pointed us in the right direction for breakfast "Sears Fine Foods". One of the guys we were traveling with complained that we passed many good places on the way to Sears however it was worth the walk. All around great stay, comfortable accommodations and friendly staff. I would not hesitate staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a GREAT breakfast check out Sears Fine Dining. Great food, fair price and their orange juice was the best I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top