$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
255 reviews
Beautiful hotel in great location

We stayed here for 3 nights while enjoying the city. The hotel is about 30 feet from the Chinatown... See full review

  • Andrew119
  • Nov 3, 2014
Boutique hotel near Chinatown

This is a very nice, boutique hotel right at the entrance to Chinatown and near the financial... See full review

  • DC Eagles Lover
  • Jun 1, 2014
Eco-friendly San Francisco hotel with organic dining near Union Square
The Orchard Garden Hotel represents San Francisco's first generation of truly eco-friendly hotels, built to national standards for "green" buildings developed by the U.S. Green Building Council. The property was built in 2007 and features many of the latest and greatest innovations in energy conservation and management. In addition, with natural wood furniture and modern conveniences, accommodations are both stylish and comfortable. The on-site restaurant, Roots, serves eclectic and organic food.
Highlights
  • Eco-friendly approach in design and practice
  • Complimentary limousine service to the financial district on weekday mornings
  • Union Square shopping short walk from hotel
  • On-site organic restaurant
Rooms
All of the Orchard Garden Hotel's 86 guest rooms are decorated in natural woods tones, soothing fabrics and fresh colors. Rooms vary in size (there are two suites), but all come with bathrobes, DVD players, iPod docking stations, laptop-sized in-room safes and organic bath products and toiletries. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply).
Features
The Orchard Garden Hotel's biggest claim to fame is its commitment to being green. The hotel is a member of the U.S. Green Building Council and is a certified San Francisco Green Business. Guest rooms feature a key-card energy-control system. The system automatically powers down everything when the card is removed. There's also an in-room paper recycling system. All guests enjoy complimentary access to the on-site fitness center. Discounted day passes for Club One fitness centers around the city are available as well (fees apply). Visitors rent DVDs from the lobby's library. The movies are all complimentary. Roots, the on-site restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The eatery specializes in organic fare and most what is sold comes from within a 50-mile radius. The vegetarian Farmer's Market Soup is hugely popular, and it changes every day. Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • MUNI bus (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • BART (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Attractions
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater district (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Embarcadero (0.7mi/1.1 km)
  • SoMa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • AT&T Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Executive boardroom accommodates 25 guests
  • 500-square-foot rooftop terrace

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Orchard Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Orchard Garden Hotel Rooms

Superior Double/Double - City View
Two double beds with city view, 300 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery
Standard King
Non-Smoking Room with king bed include 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Standard Double
Non-Smoking Room with two double bed includes 100% washable Egyptian cotton linens, plush coverings and feather down pillows, A large-screen LCD flat panel television, minibar refrigerator with a separate dry snack tray, iron and ironing board in the closet, coffee maker, well-lit, spacious baths with Aveda bath products, hair dryers, Spa robes.
Superior King - City View
One King bed with city view, 280 sq. ft, T1 & Wireless HSIA, work desk, 2 line cordless phone, DVD/CD/i-home alarm, large flat screen LCD TV, safe, minibar, iron/iron board, hairdryer, coffee maker, robes, and newspaper delivery

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japantown: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
255 out of 255
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 5, 2010

Great choice

Great hotel! Clean, friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Upscale environment. Would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tayloesville, Ky.
Aug 31, 2010

Our stay at the hotel was great.

Had a good time. My daughter and husband were with us. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 19, 2010

A very pleasant stay

My wife and I came for a weekend in SF. We did not want to waste time nor money getting to the city center. The hotel's location just a couple of minutes from Union square and the metro station was perfect for us. The room was very clean and quiet. On the down side, the view from our room was the building next door, and the window could not be opened at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2010

Great Location for the Price

We were in San Francisco for vacation with day trips to Healdsburg and Muir Woods. The hotel is convenient to Avis, National and Alamo for day rentals (much cheaper than renting at the airport) as well as walking distance to many fine dining restaurants. The staff was very helpful guiding us on the best transportation for destinations further a field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fleur De Sel at 308 Kearny St is a great place to get a quick breakfast or lunch or dinner to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bosox vaca
Business
Boston, Ma
Aug 17, 2010

cental location

Fine hotel - & one of the quietest I've been in Only issues were not ready for our early check-in (that was minor); resturant was often closed (was off season - so again minor) & housekeeping seemed cheap with the small bars of soap (one for the bathroom sink & bath - strange) easliy corrected with a call to housekeeping tho enjoyed our stay there would reccomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sara V
Business
North Aurora, IL
Aug 6, 2010

Very Enjoyable

Very quiet, clean hotel. Friendly service with hotel staff as well as at the Roots restaurant downstairs. Loved the green aspect and the fact that recycling was available in the rooms. Also, we knew China Town was close, but were very pleasantly surprised to find we were just steps away from the entrance! Overall a very nice experience. The only small negative was that the hotel did not have vending machines so beverages and snacks had to be purchased either from the mini-bar or the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 4, 2010

12 days in San Francisco

An incredible hotel with a super friendly staff. Great value for the price. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota Fl
Jul 28, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

New, clean and ultra modern. The only thing that was a little strange was that they are so "green", that you have to insert your room key into a switch when you enter your room to turn on and keep on the power in the room. You must remove it when you leave, therefore your air conditioning and lights go off. We tried to leave our second key in the switch when we went out, but found someone had entered our room and took the card out while we were gone. I think they did that when they were turning down the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The China Town entrance in right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Atalanta
Business
Rowland Heights, California
Jul 27, 2010

Switcheroo

I prepaid for a room with 2 double beds. Upon check-in I was told that "a guest" decided to stay longer therefore the room I should have gotten was not available. I was given room with king bed and a roll-away. Very disappointed because roll-away is lumpy and uncomfortable. I was told this king room was un "upgrade" and that I would not be charged extra. I doubt that room was an upgrade; there was nothing "extra" special about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Step outside of hotel and there it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Linzstar
Business
New York, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Nice hotel. Small room. Ok area.

The hotel is located right by the entrance to Chinatown, which is a big tourist spot. It's an ok area, but walk a few blocks in the wrong direction and you're surrounded by drunk homeless people. The room was small, but well maintained. We had a small window with a view of a parking lot and the back of a building. It was nice to have free wifi, although they did try to get you to upgrade to a faster speed for a fee. Valet parking was the only option and it's $40 a day. The staff were friendly and our room was ready early. When we called for our car in the morning it was brought around promptly. I would recommend this hotel more for business travelers since it's near the business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top