Orchard Garden Hotel

4 stars
View map of 466 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Orchard Garden Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenouille
Business
Newcastle, WA
Feb 17, 2012

Nicely built green concious hotel

The room was quite nice, everything looked fairly new and very clean. The staff at the reception was a bit rude when I asked for a breakfast place recommendation, until the doorman stepped in and pushed the rude receptionist aside to actually help the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe accross the street plays actual French music from the 80's and serves an authentic French menu (I am reviewing this as a french-native).

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandy Love
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Fine a place to stay for a day

The room was clean and the staff were very nice and professional. Room service menu was limited but it was delicious. The television was not functioning well. The box for watching movies was broken and there were no maintenance crew to fix it. Disappointing in that regard. The room was blocked by another section of the builiding with the view was that of the rooftop of another building. Rather disappointing. There was only one chair in the room and no tables. I had to have my room service dinner on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniel M from LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Excellent Green (Sustainable) Hotel

The Orchard Garden is a new construction, compared to the Orchard proper, which is refurbished. I have not stayed at the latter, but this is my second stay at the Orchard Garden. The only problem travelers might encounter is that the desk in the room does not have Ethernet, only Wi-Fi, and lies right below the TV (which I did not use). In a room with two full beds, the "lounge" chair is small, but the beds themselves are large and comfortable. The night stand has an iPod (or iPhone) dock. There are some improvements to sustainability that could be made (e.g. shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower, more recycling types, less frequent towel changes) but overall there is strong commitment to sustainability. I should mention that like most hotels in this area, it takes about 15 minutes for the valet to retrieve ones car, so call ahead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant Banana Boat around the corner on Kearny is fine.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ennie
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Awsome overnight stay

The hotel was strategically located in the heart of the financial district. Received a friendly and helpful welcome. Got valet parking. The room was very clean, spacious and quiet. Really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. I will be back in April again no doubt about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the attractions are within walking distance.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ryanchou27
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Great

free wifi, good speed. Great location, close to Union square and China town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarmelKidz
Business
Carmel, CA
Nov 22, 2011

Hotel a Real Gem In San Francisco

This 10 story hotel is in a great central location, within (and within steps of) downtown shopping, Chinatown, the Financial District, and the Embarcadero waterfront. It is the City's greenest high-end hotel, with lovely contemporary decor, excellent service all around, and valet parking. A fan of both gourmet and healthy cuisine, I was thrilled to enjoy a scrumptious yet healthy breakfast in their charming restaurant just off the lobby. My only complaint was that the windows do not open (air conditioning only), but otherwise the hotel was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eRock619
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Orchard Garden

Honestly, When I booked my stayI was expecting a bigger size room. But after settling in, it was perfect for me and my girlfriend. We really didnt need all that space as we were always in and out of the hotel anyways. The Hotel was really clean, beds were always made and room was tidied up every time we got back to the hotel. The staff was great. Hotel was GREEN and free wifi! The best thing I liked hotel was the location. It was right at the gates to Chinatown and Union Square was just 2 blocks down. Perfect location for my stay. Cons: There was only 1 elevator access to the rooftop and you would have to wait and wait or just get lucky to get the right elevator to take you there. Also, the ice machines were only on the 5th and 10th floor. Overall 4 stars out of 5 and prolly will considered to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

RIght next to Union Square

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
falmito
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Nov 1, 2011

All great - slow to none existent wireless internet

Very comfortable and clean near the entrance to China Town meaning close to great food - wireless internet connection was intermittent or slow even in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red wine lady
Business
PA
Oct 31, 2011

sightseeing San Francisco

Helpful front desk with giving advice. Found the featherbed too warm, so had to turn on a/c which is not really "green", so asked next day for a blanket, which I had delivered the same night. It would be great to store a blanket in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 French restaurants across the street, had only time to try out the one on the right corner which had even Chimay beer on draft.

Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 20, 2011

Boutique Eco!

Location is great and room was quiet for where it was. We stayed on the 8th floor, nicely remodeled room for a great price. The room was on the smaller side but that's not a problem for me, I like to walk around the city, not my room. The only thing I didn't care for was the bathroom door. Beautiful sliding wood, but you can hear everything on the outside you might as well have it open... So, come with someone you feel, well, comfortable with! Oh, and thanks for making me pay for a toothbrush...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top