$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
226 reviews
excellent location, champagne welcome for under $130

Here for an event at Julia Morgan ballroom. Hotel was so close- nice welcome, beautiful room. The... See full review

  • captainsturdy
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Location and awesome staff

Amazing experience and everyone was super friendly. Make sure you sign up for omni rewards to... See full review

  • Rigaroo
  • Oct 24, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker. Complimentary high speed internet included.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available. Hand-held shower wands.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Bedroom connects to living room via a long hallway but has no separating door.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 226
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taaaho
Business
Incline Village, Incline Village-Crystal Bay, NV, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Ordinary at best at the Signature level Don't recommend

Dissapointed in the "Signature" level room. Small all around. Old style shower with narrow bath tub shower enclosure. Holiday Inn does a better job. Not much for a lot more money. First stay, so had higher expectations for a Omni Hotel. Can only imagine what the regular rooms were like. Probably not much. Don't recommend at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juicy Jaclyn
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Sep 9, 2013

Very Disappointed!

My boyfriend & I travel a lot & we were very disappointed that the room was not up to par. The hotel & staff were excellent but the room was not at all what we expected. No wow factor. Just another average hotel room. Other hotels we have stayed at for the same price have been outstanding...omni definitely fell short!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Young traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 1, 2014

Girlfriend's Birthday

I've stayed at every Omni in California and the San Francisco Omni has been the most disappointing. I'm 24 and go to Vegas a lot so I was looking for a hotel that was in the center of the night life and this hotel wasn't it. I suggest you book a room closer to union square where there's more things to do at night. And the parking is $52 +tax (aprox. $60) per day for weekdays I believe. That's a lot for parking for most people. The rooms are nice but there's no wow factor that would make me want to come back. My Gf and I went to the bar In the lobby. And mix drinks vary from $12-18 a drink. The lobby is really nice tho. Overall for a younger crowd I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hunan Homes Restaurant is the best Chinese food I've ever had. It's really fresh and authentic Chinese not Americanized. It's located in China Town like 8-10 minutes walking. You might have to wait in line but its worth it and its not expensive either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old One
Business
Pacific Palisades, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Fair Price - Fair Service

When we checked in it was discussed that we had paid reservations for one less night than we were supposed to. The lady we discussed the matter with as we checked in said she would take care of the matter and add the additional night. When we came in on Friday night, we were locked out of the room. We went back to the desk and they unlockd the room for us so we could go to bed. It was explained that we could have used the phone in the elevator lobbyk but assumed it was here as an example of an old dial pone and not working. My other comment is that for a hotel of your class, you should have "grab bars" in the bathrooms. As one graduates to the older ages it is a lot easier to get around the bathroom tile floors with grab handles on the walls. This is espicially true with the bath tubs with the high walls. as are in the hotel. Does not make a happy shower. dvd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretty Smart Chic
Business
Seattle
Feb 22, 2013

It was "nice" but I'd like a do-over

I was on vacation to rest and to explore San Francisco, and this hotel is a great location to explore, but not great for rest. First the good -- The hotel is on the perfect street, directly on the cable car and trolley route, and reasonable walking distance (on a pretty day) to great shopping, dining, and even tourist attractions. With excellent directions from a stellar concierge, we walked to the Fisherman's Wharf and were in a prime location to get out and see other attractions. The hotel was pretty, clean, and many of the staff was absolutely stellar (doormen, concierge, ladies who worked at the registration desk, hotel bar). I gave the staff a low rating below because of the Valet and the suspicious guy (see below). The room itself was fine. The bathroom was not one of their nicer bathrooms pictured here, but it was fine (clean, well stocked, comfortable). It was 1BR apartment sized. The bad -- The room location (807) was just terrible. Situated between the electrical room (ok) and the service elevator (not ok), each morning I awoke to the banging and thumping of the cleaning staff. There was no good view -- only peering out at people working in their office. I didn't complain because my reservation was very last-minute. My phone was stolen from my vehicle on the last night (Valentine's Day) after leaving my car with the valet. I'm still waiting for the parking/hotel claims department to close the loop and for someone to take responsibility for my stolen phone. One guy at the front desk seemed resistant to help me and made me wait for security when I asked to look around for my phone. I felt like he didn't trust or care for people like us. Everyone ELSE was great; however, and I only felt this way with him (I rarely encounter people like this on the West Coast). All in all, I'd like a do-over. I wouldn't stay in any '07 room, and I'd lock everything down since it's not safe to leave your electronics in your own car. I also wouldn't order the bread pudding or the Riesling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet incurs a $7/day city tax. Be prepared to add that to whatever you're quoted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach fan2
Business
La Jolla, Ca
Aug 30, 2013

Expensive for what you get

I was expecting a little more for all the money we had to pay for this hotel. However, it was a great location with the cable cars right outside the door. it was nice to get a free beverage in the AM for signing up for the rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend taking the cable cars to Fishermans Wharf and back to Union Sq. Also, you must go to the Ferry building to La Mer and when they have the Farmers Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MachJunkie
Business
Folsom,Ca
Aug 31, 2009

Good location..but depends

This is a nice hotel but it can very noisy depending on where your room is. We were on the 4th floor with a room overlooking California street. It was very noisy until the cable car stopped running (around 1am)...not so much from the cable car but from the people screaming on it. Again the hotel is nice. The location is great. Two blocks from Chinatown,two blocks from BART, close to every in the financial district. Depending on your reason for staying in SF you may want a room on a higher floor or one away from the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from Chinatown and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Aug 13, 2009

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

We were in San Francisco for a business trip and made it into a vacation, as well. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I really like the clean, up to date bathroom. All of the staff were very helpful with all of our questions about the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab the street car right outside the hotel instead of walking up California Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzie F
Business
Cheshire
May 14, 2011

Slightly old fashioned, great staff

The Omni is well located for the Ferry building, Union Square, Chinatown and Market Street. The financial district is relatively quiet after office hours, many of the local coffee houses do not open at the weekends. There are some nice restaurants close by just a block away, some great places at the Ferry building plus of course the Chinese restaurants in Chinatown. The cable car line runs directly outside the hotel but unfortunately it was under construction during our visit so wasn't running and it felt quite disappointing not to have that experience, I'm sure it's a lovely sight and really handy to go up to nob hill which otherwise is a very steep climb up the hill from the hotel! Generally the hotel was well located for us but if you're looking to spend more evening time in union square or at Fishermans wharf there are likely to be better located hotels for you. The Omni is a pleasant hotel. The decor is not modern, more traditional than I was anticipating and the signature room wasn't as impressive as I had expected it to be. The bathroom was small and the carpet in the main room was fairly tired. It wasn't bad but just didn't feel like a luxury experience. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, the concierge [...]was exceptional and recommended all the restaurants we went to which were great. Wireless was available without charge by registering for the loyalty scheme. Complimentary water would have been appreciated, especially with the signature room but wasn't provided. Other luxury hotels on our trip made water freely available and made a real difference to us. There was iced tea available in the reception area if that's something you enjoy. Overall, well located, friendly staff but slightly disappointing rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azjdawg
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 28, 2011

very nice hotel.

Great location for business--- across the street from the B of A building and on a cable car line--- but very good for pleasure also. Maybe 10 minute walk to heart of retail district. Literally next door to Chinatown. $5 cab ride to heart of North Beach. Fanastic lobby, nice restaurant (steak house), great staff. Very clean room, decent size---just a little more traditional than my preference ( 'heavy' dark woods, no flat screen). We were there for our 30th anniversary and we not disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minute walk to start of high end retail shopping. Maybe another 5 or 10 mins to Market Street and heart of retail district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top