$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
219 reviews
Location good for business and nicely appointed hotel!

The Omni is my go-to for business travel in SF. Always clean and reliable. This trip the price was... See full review

  • julia v
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel

We enjoyed the best stay. The hotel was: clean, comfotable, in the area for quick transportation... See full review

  • New Orleans mom
  • Aug 13, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Omni S.F. Hotel a great place to stay!

During our stay at the Omni S.F. we were able to catch the Cable Car just outside the doors and explore S.F., find dining within a short distance from the hotel. This hotel makes your stay a pleasant experience and truly meets the expectation of an exclusive hotel. The thing that I believe truly exceeded my expectation was the treatment of my daughter during our stay, the staff treated her as a valued guest which makes any child feel on top of the world...the milk and cookies at bed time are a nice touch also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several great resturaunts within short walking distance from the Omni. The Omni Concierge is very helpful and can direct you to whatever fits your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ej310
Torrance
May 27, 2014

Great Hotel

Eventhough the Parking was quite pricey for my families short outting. The staff was just excellent and very helpful, tending to our many questions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The In-house steak place was just delicious and the best part we didn't have to leave the hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AG
Germantown, TN (Memphis)
Aug 11, 2009

Great hotel--lots of amenities

We arrived 2 hours before check in and our room was ready. Beautiful room and nice size luxurious bathroom. Very comfortable beds and quiet hallways. We loved the complementary Starbucks coffee every morning. One of the nicest surprises was being able to purchase VIP tickets which did not involve a timed admission to the King Tut exhibit. A very handy breakfast spot for those not on expense accounts is Cafe Venue two blocks from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to go to the Cable Car Museum and see the actual operations of the current cable car system. It is not within walking distance but is free and very interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zurich, Switzerland
Jun 23, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Very nice hotel, comfortable bed and very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Register free in advance for the Select Guest- Programm. You get free wireless Internet as well as two complimentary beverages per Person (max. 2) in the morning for free!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom in Texas
Katy, TX
Jun 4, 2012

Great Stay in The Heart of San Francisco

I chose the Omni because of several reviews describing their exceptional customer service. The Omni did not disappoint. We felt welcome from the minute we arrived until we left. Front desk, concierge, doorman and maid service were all outstanding. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Another selling point was the hotel's central location. Many destinations including Union Square, Chinatown, North Beach, Nob Hill and Fisherman's Wharf were within walking distance or by cable car outside the hotel's front entrance. The only downside was $50/night parking. I will come back to the Omni SF again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

R & G for chinese in Chinatown. Tony's if you want pizza in North Beach. Illy Prima Cosa Caffe on Sutter near Montgomery for a good latte.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony from Nevada
Reno, Nv
May 26, 2014

Perfect spot to explore SF

Lovely hotel. The staff are generous and kind and the location is perfect to explore Chinatown, North Beach, Union square, the Embarcadero, and the trolly to Fisherman's Wharf runs right out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to yank Sing for Dim Sum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P Cotton
Los Gates
May 15, 2012

Weekend get away

Hotel was beautiful. Wait staff was very nice. Location was very good and walkable. Area overall was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Aug 10, 2009

Title that orbitz survey forced me 2 add

Great hotel, great price too with the deal we found on Orbitz. Really fantastic staff and great with kids. Definitely worth trying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chattanooga fan
Spartanburg, SC
May 19, 2010

I left my heart in San Francisco

I took my daughter for her college graduation. We stayed for a full week, and were able to visit a majority of the districts in SF.Iam disabled, but we were able to use cable cars, buses, etc. SF has a marvelous city transit system. We walked the city, ate at many restaurants, and found ourselves a bit sad to leave at the end of our trip. The Omni was a perfect location for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We dined at Tadich's Grill the first evening, and it was a short walk from the hotel. Fabulous food and entertaining staff...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tompi
Phoenix, AZ
May 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great location

The location is perfect, just 5 blocks from the Montgomery stop. We took the bart. It takes 40 min from San Francisco International Airport. The hotel is a classic beauty, extremely friendly staff, very nice and comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search