$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
219 reviews
Location good for business and nicely appointed hotel!

The Omni is my go-to for business travel in SF. Always clean and reliable. This trip the price was... See full review

  • julia v
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel

We enjoyed the best stay. The hotel was: clean, comfotable, in the area for quick transportation... See full review

  • New Orleans mom
  • Aug 13, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Mateus
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2013

Gem of a hotel

My wife and I stayed at the Omni for an extended 4 day weekend. We couldn't have had a better fit for our SF visit. Its location is perfect for visiting the various sections of this vibrant and beautiful city. Walk around the corner to Chinatown. Walk or take a trolley car from outside the hotel to the busy wharf areas or walk to the many parks or upscale shopping sites. But the staff at The Omni are second to none. Very friendly and attentive to you enjoying your stay. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Vincello's Restaurante

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen and Rob
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 2, 2012

Fun stay in San Fran

The staff was extremely helpful in making our first visit to San Fran a fantastic time. Centrally located and plenty to do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelin'
manchester nh
Nov 30, 2012

4 star, good location

Food is pricey but good, good drinks in lounge/bar, service was great, fantastic employees are all helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mendozas
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 27, 2012

Best staff at a hotel I have EVER experienced

My husband and I went there for a weekend getaway and we definitely thought it was a great value for the money we paid. The staff there are very nice and helpful and the rooms were very clean. I can honestly say that I didn't have a single gripe about our hotel. The location was perfect for us because I didn't want to be in the congestion of Union square. It was only a few blocks from the train station so it perfect all around. The only drawback that I can of was that there were not that many restaurants within walking distance. We at the hotel the first night we got there but were too tired to give it a fair rating. Undoubtedly, we would return back to this hotel when in the SF area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must do: go to the Hayes neighborhood and eat at Absinthe. Reservations are definitely required. This neighborhood also has great boutiques bars. Very cute area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
West coast lover
New Jersey
Nov 21, 2012

Perfect quick getaway

The hotel was wonderful! From the moment we checked until we left it was great. The staff we super friendly and helpful. They hailed cabs for you, opened doors and even escorted you with an umbrella in the rain. The location was great, the trolley stopped right out front! It was clean and nicely decorated. The beds were great to sleep on :) I would go back and look forward to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rlron
East Bay Area, Ca
Oct 22, 2012

Great place

One of the friendliest experiences ever. Staff is wonderful, and help make my wife's birthday special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FL Bon Vivant
Celebration, FL
Sep 19, 2012

Great location right next to cable car stop

It always irks me when I get nickel and dimed by hotels, such as charging for internet access, something that should be included when paying those kinds of room rates. But what really got me this time is that they charge $48 per night to park the car. That's outrageous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"Betelnut Pejiu Wu" restaurant, best spare ribs I have ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABFB
New York
Sep 10, 2012

Long Weekend

The Omni is perfectly located within walking distance of the Ferry Market building, Chinatown, Union Square, and Nob Hill. Very friendly staff and a great value. This was our 2nd time staying there and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soni
Irvine California
Aug 28, 2012

perfect trip

My children came from England,So we went to San Francisco for 4 days.We had wonderful time. The hotel services and the food at the hotel was fantastic! If we go back there definitely I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald Anthony
New York
Aug 28, 2012

Summer Vacation

This is my third summer vacation now in San Francisco. I have stayed in three very good four star hotels and The Omni is by far my favorite. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The staff is what really sets this hotel apart from the others. Everyone, from the front desk, to the bell staff, to the maid staff, treat you like a VIP and always greet you warmly. The maid staff even write little notes greeting you on your first day. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GBarr
Business
Playa del Rey
Aug 27, 2012

Great experience

I was here for business and the check in process couldn't have been smoother. Also a great location. Very happy with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top