$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
308 reviews
Fabulous service!

From the moment we checked in until we drove away at check out, the staff took care of us and... See full review

  • dblktown
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great Location and Service

Second time staying at the Omni and would stay here again. The hotel is in the financial district... See full review

  • Hildefuns
  • Jul 7, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Mateus
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2013

Gem of a hotel

My wife and I stayed at the Omni for an extended 4 day weekend. We couldn't have had a better fit for our SF visit. Its location is perfect for visiting the various sections of this vibrant and beautiful city. Walk around the corner to Chinatown. Walk or take a trolley car from outside the hotel to the busy wharf areas or walk to the many parks or upscale shopping sites. But the staff at The Omni are second to none. Very friendly and attentive to you enjoying your stay. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Vincello's Restaurante

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABFB
New York
Sep 10, 2012

Long Weekend

The Omni is perfectly located within walking distance of the Ferry Market building, Chinatown, Union Square, and Nob Hill. Very friendly staff and a great value. This was our 2nd time staying there and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soni
Irvine California
Aug 28, 2012

perfect trip

My children came from England,So we went to San Francisco for 4 days.We had wonderful time. The hotel services and the food at the hotel was fantastic! If we go back there definitely I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald Anthony
New York
Aug 28, 2012

Summer Vacation

This is my third summer vacation now in San Francisco. I have stayed in three very good four star hotels and The Omni is by far my favorite. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The staff is what really sets this hotel apart from the others. Everyone, from the front desk, to the bell staff, to the maid staff, treat you like a VIP and always greet you warmly. The maid staff even write little notes greeting you on your first day. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GBarr
Business
Playa del Rey
Aug 27, 2012

Great experience

I was here for business and the check in process couldn't have been smoother. Also a great location. Very happy with my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singsing
Los Angeles
Aug 21, 2012

Weekend Getaway

This was my first stay at the Omni in SF and I couldn't have been happier with my experience. The value was outstanding and the location of the hotel was perfect. Close to the Montgomery BART station and easily accessible from SF airport. The hotel is also situated near lots of neat bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zipi
Beverly Hills. Ca
Aug 13, 2012

Fantastic.

Beautiful hotel, stuff very friendly, rooms very clean. The location is great. we were walking a lot, when we got tired we just jumped on the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bob's steakhouse - exellent !!!

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF Biz traveler
Business
Israel
Aug 10, 2012

Great

Excellent location, excellent staff, fine rooms - who needs more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anila21
palm beach, florida
Aug 8, 2012

Best location

We had a great 7 nights stay at Omni. Room very clean and very quiet, helpful staff and knowledgeable concierge. The hotel is located within walking distance to all touristic attraction. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Mama's, but get there around 7am so you can be seated at 8am, when they open.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zapopan
Mexico City
Jul 28, 2012

love the Omni

wonderful stay... we usually stay here and always have had an excellent experience. Our only complaint about this hotel is that the bar is just not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. It is cold and not very inviting. Hopefully, the hotel will improve it, since on a Sunday night there isn't any where around to head to. But otherwise it is great, The hotel staff is excellent... upbeat and very helpful. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PeterD208
Beverly Hills, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Great Location

The Omni hotel is a warm, inviting place to stay. The staff was eager to please and help with questions about the city. My room was clean and requests for more towels were answered promptly. The workout room was a nice amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ferry building is a few blocks away!

Back to menu Return to top