$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
234 reviews
Location good for business and nicely appointed hotel!

The Omni is my go-to for business travel in SF. Always clean and reliable. This trip the price was... See full review

  • julia v
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel

We enjoyed the best stay. The hotel was: clean, comfotable, in the area for quick transportation... See full review

  • New Orleans mom
  • Aug 13, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (234)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Effie1079
Blackwood, NJ
Oct 17, 2013

Great Stay

Great location, very clean and comfortable room. Lots to see and do within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane and family
Chico, California
Feb 18, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

The Omni was within walking distance to so many locations. The rooms were very nice and the service was very warm and friendly. The hotel was 100% booked so our rooms weren't available until 4:00 but aside from that our stay was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbauer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 23, 2013

easy to walk to everywhere

Great hotel for business and play. Right in the middle of everything - good central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HotelClubber
New York, NY
Jan 14, 2013

Free Downgrade

I reserved and paid for a signature room, but I am not sure why I received a free downgrade. It was not located on the top three floors of the hotel. It has absolutely no views, other than into the windows of the neighboring rooms and adjacent building. There were no iHome docking station or Nespresso coffee maker. Upon check-out, the lady did not offer to store my luggages for me till my departure later that evening. I have yet to receive a response to my email from the hotel regarding my complaints and disappointments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snuf
Arizona
Jan 3, 2013

Great Stay

We only stayed a night for NYE. Great location, staff was super friendly, room service was on time and yummy. Our room was nothing special, but super clean and no weird smells! Fridge was stocked with goodies and drinks (all of which were marked up almost triple what you would buy at the store, but it was still nice to have if you wanted it.) We went to a concert at the Warfield and was easily in walking distance from the hotel, which was great! Also, plenty of food choice within a mile or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When traveling to new places, having a map with GPS has alleviated the stress of getting lost and trying to figure out the proximity of places. The great thing about smartphone GPS is that you can put in the type of transportation (bus, rail, walking, driving) and it will give you the route specific to your type, which is extremely helpful!

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rene's daughter
Sacramento, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2013

A Wonderful Hotel--Except for the Parking!

This hotel is close to the Financial District and to Chinatown. The check-in and check-out staff is helpful, offering map directions to restaurants and how to get back to the freeway. The room was spacious and clean, although with a limited view. The amenities were good in the room (snacks to buy, q-tips, etc.) The beds were comfortable, the room mostly quiet, and the valet service good. The temperature wasn't easily adjustable, but there was plenty of hot water. The price of parking was too high ($60/24 hrs.!) Get there by bus, BART, a friend's car, or shuttle. Just don't drive there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several banks are nearby the hotel.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veteran SF traveller
Phila
Jan 2, 2013

Omni SF

Excellent Only negative is expensive parking We wanted 2 queens for adult children but none were available. Rollaway bed was so so. Got a very fair rate via bundling with airfare

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha1
Hawaii
Dec 29, 2012

Family vacation

This was our first stay at the Omni and we were very satisfied with our stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexD
Toronto, Canada
Dec 26, 2012

Nice hotel, good location, parking warning

I recommend this hotel. The mini fridge is not very cold. The only real problem with this core downtown hotel is the parking, as expected. I paid more than $70 for 1.5 days parking close by. Over the weekend parking is free on the street. Overall for $109/night (stayed 3 nights) I paid as a promotion was a good value even with the parking extra cost. Book over weekend to avoid paying for parking. Also, before using internet enroll in their free membership to get 6MB free internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HotelClubber
New York, NY
Dec 19, 2012

Free DOWNgrade

I reserved and paid for a signature room, but was given either a deluxe room or premier room instead. The room has absolutely no view, other than into the windows of the neighboring rooms and the windows of the building across. I guess it would be a great view if I were a peeping tom; I could probably count how many pens were on the tables. Since there were no views, iHome docking station or Nespresso coffee maker. I had to rearranged my entire schedule, so my guests and I would stay as little time as possible in the room. I had to preserve my sanity from the criticisms from my guests somehow. I am more tired and stressed now compare to before the trip. Also, unlike other hotels, Omni San Francisco does not offer any printed and readily available information of the hotel amenities. You would need to ask or randomly explore to find out the locations, hours and availability of their fitness room, computers, printers... etc. The size of the hotel lobby is half of what I expected to be minimum of a 3+ stars hotel. There are no "convenient stores" in or near the hotel. If you forgot your toothpaste... well I guess with money, the 24-hour guest service could bring you the moon if you ask. Some staff are nice, friendly and give their 110% effort. They are usually the "lower ranking" staff. The "higher ranking" ones know how to smile, but it is not difficult to smile and give a whole speech of empathy while firing people left and right either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your jackets, coats, scarves, gloves... 56 degrees in San Francisco is colder than 46 degrees in New York.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Estebandito
San Clemente ca
Dec 11, 2012

Fantastic location.

Very clean and comfortable rooms. It has a grate location downtown and walking distance from most places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search