$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
308 reviews
Fabulous service!

From the moment we checked in until we drove away at check out, the staff took care of us and... See full review

  • dblktown
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great Location and Service

Second time staying at the Omni and would stay here again. The hotel is in the financial district... See full review

  • Hildefuns
  • Jul 7, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (308)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Tourist Couple
Los Angeles, California
Dec 10, 2012

Weekend Tourists

We came up from LA for the weekend to just be tourists in San Francisco. The OMNI is located within walking distance to so many areas (China Town, Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf, Embarcadero, AT&T Park, Little Italy) and is only 4 blocks from a BART station if you're wanting to go to other areas. We took BART to go to/from the airport and to the Orpheum Theater to see the Lion King. There's also a cable car stop right outside the hotel. Since the OMNI is right in the heart of the Financial District, a lot of things in that area are closed on weekends since they cater to the Monday-Friday crowd, but you'll find lots of things open just a short walk away. It was nice to stay in a quieter, less touristy area actually. The staff at the OMNI is the best you'll find, from the doorman to the front desk to the maids to room service. Upon arrival into our room, we had a hand-written note from the maid along with a note from the hotel staff welcoming us and telling us to not hesitate to let them know if we needed anything at all. Anytime we would pass a maid in the hallway, she would say hello and ask us how our day was. The doormen asked us if they could point us in the direction of anything each time we left, and they welcomed us back each time we returned. We couldn't believe how friendly everyone was, and how each person seemed to be in such a good mood, enjoying what they do. Our bed was very comfortable. We can't stop talking about the pillows! The room itself was spacious and everything was in perfect working order. Be sure to join their rewards program (it's FREE) for complimentary in-room wireless and daily morning beverages and newspaper (weekdays only) delivery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to most dining options outside of the Financial District where most things are closed on weekend.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svensky
greensboro, nc
Mar 4, 2013

A charming, traditional hotel

Being right on the California cable car line, this hotel exudes the quintessential San Francisco experience. It is convenient to many fine restaurants, Union Square, The Farmers Market, China Town, and North Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaddyMeLaddy
Del Mar, CA
Feb 26, 2013

Wonderful romantic getaway

Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room was great and the room service even better. Bob's steak house was excellent! The cable car passes right in front on California St. The hotel is very close to all the top spots to see in San Francisco. We will be back for sure and plan to stay at other Omni Hotels and Resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pretty Smart Chic
Seattle
Feb 22, 2013

It was "nice" but I'd like a do-over

I was on vacation to rest and to explore San Francisco, and this hotel is a great location to explore, but not great for rest. First the good -- The hotel is on the perfect street, directly on the cable car and trolley route, and reasonable walking distance (on a pretty day) to great shopping, dining, and even tourist attractions. With excellent directions from a stellar concierge, we walked to the Fisherman's Wharf and were in a prime location to get out and see other attractions. The hotel was pretty, clean, and many of the staff was absolutely stellar (doormen, concierge, ladies who worked at the registration desk, hotel bar). I gave the staff a low rating below because of the Valet and the suspicious guy (see below). The room itself was fine. The bathroom was not one of their nicer bathrooms pictured here, but it was fine (clean, well stocked, comfortable). It was 1BR apartment sized. The bad -- The room location (807) was just terrible. Situated between the electrical room (ok) and the service elevator (not ok), each morning I awoke to the banging and thumping of the cleaning staff. There was no good view -- only peering out at people working in their office. I didn't complain because my reservation was very last-minute. My phone was stolen from my vehicle on the last night (Valentine's Day) after leaving my car with the valet. I'm still waiting for the parking/hotel claims department to close the loop and for someone to take responsibility for my stolen phone. One guy at the front desk seemed resistant to help me and made me wait for security when I asked to look around for my phone. I felt like he didn't trust or care for people like us. Everyone ELSE was great; however, and I only felt this way with him (I rarely encounter people like this on the West Coast). All in all, I'd like a do-over. I wouldn't stay in any '07 room, and I'd lock everything down since it's not safe to leave your electronics in your own car. I also wouldn't order the bread pudding or the Riesling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Valet incurs a $7/day city tax. Be prepared to add that to whatever you're quoted.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane and family
Chico, California
Feb 18, 2013

Great Weekend Getaway

The Omni was within walking distance to so many locations. The rooms were very nice and the service was very warm and friendly. The hotel was 100% booked so our rooms weren't available until 4:00 but aside from that our stay was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbauer
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 23, 2013

easy to walk to everywhere

Great hotel for business and play. Right in the middle of everything - good central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snuf
Arizona
Jan 3, 2013

Great Stay

We only stayed a night for NYE. Great location, staff was super friendly, room service was on time and yummy. Our room was nothing special, but super clean and no weird smells! Fridge was stocked with goodies and drinks (all of which were marked up almost triple what you would buy at the store, but it was still nice to have if you wanted it.) We went to a concert at the Warfield and was easily in walking distance from the hotel, which was great! Also, plenty of food choice within a mile or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When traveling to new places, having a map with GPS has alleviated the stress of getting lost and trying to figure out the proximity of places. The great thing about smartphone GPS is that you can put in the type of transportation (bus, rail, walking, driving) and it will give you the route specific to your type, which is extremely helpful!

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rene's daughter
Sacramento, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2013

A Wonderful Hotel--Except for the Parking!

This hotel is close to the Financial District and to Chinatown. The check-in and check-out staff is helpful, offering map directions to restaurants and how to get back to the freeway. The room was spacious and clean, although with a limited view. The amenities were good in the room (snacks to buy, q-tips, etc.) The beds were comfortable, the room mostly quiet, and the valet service good. The temperature wasn't easily adjustable, but there was plenty of hot water. The price of parking was too high ($60/24 hrs.!) Get there by bus, BART, a friend's car, or shuttle. Just don't drive there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Several banks are nearby the hotel.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veteran SF traveller
Phila
Jan 2, 2013

Omni SF

Excellent Only negative is expensive parking We wanted 2 queens for adult children but none were available. Rollaway bed was so so. Got a very fair rate via bundling with airfare

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha1
Hawaii
Dec 29, 2012

Family vacation

This was our first stay at the Omni and we were very satisfied with our stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexD
Toronto, Canada
Dec 26, 2012

Nice hotel, good location, parking warning

I recommend this hotel. The mini fridge is not very cold. The only real problem with this core downtown hotel is the parking, as expected. I paid more than $70 for 1.5 days parking close by. Over the weekend parking is free on the street. Overall for $109/night (stayed 3 nights) I paid as a promotion was a good value even with the parking extra cost. Book over weekend to avoid paying for parking. Also, before using internet enroll in their free membership to get 6MB free internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top