$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
224 reviews
Great Location and awesome staff

Amazing experience and everyone was super friendly. Make sure you sign up for omni rewards to... See full review

  • Rigaroo
  • Oct 24, 2014
Perfect for traveling with a toddler

We are moving from San Fran to Texas, and my husband had already flown down, so it was just me and... See full review

  • amybelle2001
  • Oct 11, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsssj
San Jose, California
Dec 3, 2012

Great location

The Omni is a classic hotel in great location within walking distance of the Ferry Building, lots of great restaurants, Chinatown, and Union Square. Staff is great. Maybe a little pricey but it is San Francisco so not unexpected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Ozumo's if you like Japanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirtdr
Business
San diego
Oct 17, 2013

Great place

Thank you Omni!! We had a clean room, Beautiful bedding, with a very friendly staff. Always greeted by smiling faces. Location is ideal for Walking from or hopping on the cable car just outside the door. We stayed on the 14th floor. Noise was never an issue. Nothing but a great experience and we are looking forward to booking another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5-10 minute safe walk up Montgomery/Columbus to little Italy. Great cafés and markets , lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yiming
Business
Waterloo, ON, Canada
Oct 8, 2013

Awesome experience

The stuff working there are super nice and helpful. Location is great as well! Will definitely go back next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaigeKlem
Business
Durango, CO
Oct 1, 2013

Very Nice

The staff was nice and helpful, rooms were very nice. Just what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manya
Business
Beaverton, OR
Sep 10, 2013

Delightful

I gifted my daughter with a trip to San Francisco for her 40th birthday. She was thrilled with the hotel and stated it was the nicest she had ever stayed in. Loved the friendly staff, the fruit water choices and fresh fruit in the lobby, ultra clean rooms, great beds and fitness room right down the hall. We did not eat there due to the myriad choices in the city. The staff was very helpful with directions and maps. Lastly, the location is perfect for walking to all downtown neighborhoods and is close to public transport. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Embarcadero is a short pleasant walk, offering lots of shopping and dining choices along the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juicy Jaclyn
Business
Santa Rosa, California
Sep 9, 2013

Very Disappointed!

My boyfriend & I travel a lot & we were very disappointed that the room was not up to par. The hotel & staff were excellent but the room was not at all what we expected. No wow factor. Just another average hotel room. Other hotels we have stayed at for the same price have been outstanding...omni definitely fell short!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ric12
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Sep 7, 2013

California Road Trip

Great city hotel located on the California cable line. Only negative was the check in response to my reservation. Although I had upgraded to a Signature room I did not receive one of their premier rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss the Ferry Terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosa1983
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 3, 2013

Very nice...but OLD--Good location.

I paid extra for the top floors..While it was quiet, our window overlooked the next building..No nice views...so totally not worth the extra amount. This hotel is located in the Financial district...just a 10-15 walk to Little Italy and China town and a cable car ride away from everything else. We enjoyed the location since it seemed to be more quiet than most hotels...The hotel was real nice but looks like it appealed the older crowd--although we barely stayed in the hotel, so that didnt matter to us. The rooms were very clean and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to North Beach and eat at Tony Napleton pizza..if the wait is long (usually is)..go have some drinks at Tony and Niks bar and wait for the restaurant to calll you.....(they offer to do that!)..Both of these places were GREAT...especially the BAR..nicest bartenders EVER.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach fan2
Business
La Jolla, Ca
Aug 30, 2013

Expensive for what you get

I was expecting a little more for all the money we had to pay for this hotel. However, it was a great location with the cable cars right outside the door. it was nice to get a free beverage in the AM for signing up for the rewards program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend taking the cable cars to Fishermans Wharf and back to Union Sq. Also, you must go to the Ferry building to La Mer and when they have the Farmers Market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian V
Business
Harrisonburg, VA
Aug 19, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

The staff was very friendly. The hotel was very clean. My only complaint would be that Bob's Steak & Chophouse- while delicious- is a little too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like coffee, check out the Coffee Bar :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Hall
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 11, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, not bad amenities.

The Omni was our second choice hotel... the first choice would have made us outside the city, and needing to use the BART system to commute in and out each day (round-trip). Upon arrival (20 minutes before official check-in time of 3:00pm local time) we checked to see if we could get our room a bit early... they said they'd put a rush on the room and we'd be in no later than 3, probably sooner. 15 minutes goes by... nothing. 20 minutes... nothing. 25 minutes... I go up to the counter again, no ETA and they say they'll call me. Another 10 minutes... nothing. Finally get a call at ~3:30 and the call hangs up. The call was from a San Francisco number, so I assumed it was the Omni staff calling. I went up to the counter, retrieved my room keys, and went up to our room. I'm not sure if it was a busy night/day/morning... or what, but aside from our first interaction with a red-headed female, everything was poor (the red-headed female was very kind/welcoming and genuinely nice). Get up to the room and it seemed much smaller than what I had imagined for what we saw... and for what we paid for. The nice things: - king side bed - large TV - decent sized bathroom For the nice things though, there were some really slackers: - poor free WiFi... and you have to sign-up for a complimentary loyalty program to get this for free... otherwise, you pay for this WiFi. I really expected higher-end WiFi. - strange structure of the items in the hotel... pocket door for the bathroom, light for the bathroom was outside the bathroom - the TV kept having signal problems with the majority of things we tried to watch, almost to the point where it was unwatchable The only positives I saw from staying at this hotel was the location and the staff (e.g. the house-keepers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy (walk up to Columbus from Montgomery/California, then left onto Columbus for 3-4 blocks) has great food and has some of the best service in restaurants I've experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top