$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
226 reviews
excellent location, champagne welcome for under $130

Here for an event at Julia Morgan ballroom. Hotel was so close- nice welcome, beautiful room. The... See full review

  • captainsturdy
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Location and awesome staff

Amazing experience and everyone was super friendly. Make sure you sign up for omni rewards to... See full review

  • Rigaroo
  • Oct 24, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker. Complimentary high speed internet included.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available. Hand-held shower wands.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Bedroom connects to living room via a long hallway but has no separating door.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Tourist Couple
Los Angeles, California
Dec 10, 2012

Weekend Tourists

We came up from LA for the weekend to just be tourists in San Francisco. The OMNI is located within walking distance to so many areas (China Town, Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf, Embarcadero, AT&T Park, Little Italy) and is only 4 blocks from a BART station if you're wanting to go to other areas. We took BART to go to/from the airport and to the Orpheum Theater to see the Lion King. There's also a cable car stop right outside the hotel. Since the OMNI is right in the heart of the Financial District, a lot of things in that area are closed on weekends since they cater to the Monday-Friday crowd, but you'll find lots of things open just a short walk away. It was nice to stay in a quieter, less touristy area actually. The staff at the OMNI is the best you'll find, from the doorman to the front desk to the maids to room service. Upon arrival into our room, we had a hand-written note from the maid along with a note from the hotel staff welcoming us and telling us to not hesitate to let them know if we needed anything at all. Anytime we would pass a maid in the hallway, she would say hello and ask us how our day was. The doormen asked us if they could point us in the direction of anything each time we left, and they welcomed us back each time we returned. We couldn't believe how friendly everyone was, and how each person seemed to be in such a good mood, enjoying what they do. Our bed was very comfortable. We can't stop talking about the pillows! The room itself was spacious and everything was in perfect working order. Be sure to join their rewards program (it's FREE) for complimentary in-room wireless and daily morning beverages and newspaper (weekdays only) delivery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to most dining options outside of the Financial District where most things are closed on weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KandSTexas
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 3, 2014

Great Location, Great Hotel

This is a perfect hotel for folks who want quality, location, and comfort. Bob's steakhouse is inside the hotel along with Bob's bar, a great place for happy hour and a nightcap. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, and very clean. Value is great. Very convenient (5 blocks) from the BART Montgomery station, 5 block walk to the Ferry Building, 5 blocks to Union Square, two blocks to Chinatown. The California cable car line runs right in front of the hotel. Ample supply of taxis as well. I would recommend this place to anyone, whether traveling for business or pleasure. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Young traveler
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 1, 2014

Girlfriend's Birthday

I've stayed at every Omni in California and the San Francisco Omni has been the most disappointing. I'm 24 and go to Vegas a lot so I was looking for a hotel that was in the center of the night life and this hotel wasn't it. I suggest you book a room closer to union square where there's more things to do at night. And the parking is $52 +tax (aprox. $60) per day for weekdays I believe. That's a lot for parking for most people. The rooms are nice but there's no wow factor that would make me want to come back. My Gf and I went to the bar In the lobby. And mix drinks vary from $12-18 a drink. The lobby is really nice tho. Overall for a younger crowd I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hunan Homes Restaurant is the best Chinese food I've ever had. It's really fresh and authentic Chinese not Americanized. It's located in China Town like 8-10 minutes walking. You might have to wait in line but its worth it and its not expensive either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJ0602
Business
Arcadia, CA
Dec 31, 2013

It's was very nice...

Omni hotel was a lot better than I though. Only con is, one guys has little attitude compare to other staff. Other than that, location of hotel and everything else is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pachino Trattoria & Pizzeria I loved food here^^ I

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBBrown
Business
Little Rock, AR
Dec 27, 2013

Great location and wonderful staff

Elegant and welcoming. Cookies and cider were a treat and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

E tutto qua is a great place for authentic Italian food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hopelessly Romantic Media
Business
San Francsico
Dec 14, 2013

Superb Hotel and Restaurant

My magazine publishing company in San Francisco was looking to find a hotel that our clients could stay when visiting from out of town. Our concerns were creating a flawless transition from the hotel to a local restaurant. It was with great pleasure we found not only a 4-star hotel, but an extraordinary restaurant located within the premises of the Omni San Francisco Hotel - Bob's Steak and Chop House. The hotel stay was fabulous and dinner at Bob's was exquisite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honmom
Business
honolulu
Nov 30, 2013

Wonderful staff, no free internet

We stayed over Thanksgiving 2013 for few days with two preteen kids and everybody was so helpful. Staff is excellent but beware that there is no free internet connection. Old style comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

No free internet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Mateus
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2013

Gem of a hotel

My wife and I stayed at the Omni for an extended 4 day weekend. We couldn't have had a better fit for our SF visit. Its location is perfect for visiting the various sections of this vibrant and beautiful city. Walk around the corner to Chinatown. Walk or take a trolley car from outside the hotel to the busy wharf areas or walk to the many parks or upscale shopping sites. But the staff at The Omni are second to none. Very friendly and attentive to you enjoying your stay. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Vincello's Restaurante

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GoinBackToCali
Business
NYC
Nov 5, 2013

Trust me, I'm a local...

I lived in SF for almost 20 years and just returned for a long weekend. The Omni is in the perfect location, just a short walk up the hill to North Beach. Couldn't ask for a better spot. The room was lovely, the staff fantastic, and the bartenders at Bob's downstairs were a joy. Highly reccomenf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North Beach!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ckoch
Business
Sacramento, California
Oct 28, 2013

Weekend family gathering

The rooms were lux and spacious. The staff was great. The location was great. The guys at valet parking are super nice. I had a wonderful stay at the Omni.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kokkori--a fabulous Greek restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sneaks14
Business
NYC
Oct 22, 2013

Pricey but worth it

Great location.. walking from everywhere All the staff members are super helpful Rooms were very nice, no complaints! More expensive than i would like to spend... but it is San Francisco . Great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top