$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
226 reviews
excellent location, champagne welcome for under $130

Here for an event at Julia Morgan ballroom. Hotel was so close- nice welcome, beautiful room. The... See full review

  • captainsturdy
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Location and awesome staff

Amazing experience and everyone was super friendly. Make sure you sign up for omni rewards to... See full review

  • Rigaroo
  • Oct 24, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker. Complimentary high speed internet included.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available. Hand-held shower wands.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Bedroom connects to living room via a long hallway but has no separating door.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hildefuns
Dallas, TX
Jul 7, 2014

Great Location and Service

Second time staying at the Omni and would stay here again. The hotel is in the financial district just down the street from China Town. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. Rates are reasonable and the location is perfect; not much more you can ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RM
Business
Nor Cal
Sep 29, 2009

September B Day

An outstanding Hotel and staff.........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CAn be Hills to go up and down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helgz
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 17, 2009

BEST HOTEL!!!!

I stayed one night at the Omni Hotel for my birthday and had an incredible time there! Every one of their staff members was extremely friendly, from the doorman to the front desk. I never had to open one door or ask twice for anything, since their staff was on top of everything. Check in was very quick. I told the lady at the front desk it was my birthday and within 15 minutes of checking in I was surprised with a cake, wine, and birthday card from the hotel! Our room even had its own treadmill and work out gear! I've stayed at other hotels in the city and none of them compare with the Omni. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, you will love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Sep 9, 2009

Comfortable and Quiet

Excellent cusomter service. Very well appointed rooms. Very quiet hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Temecula, Ca
Sep 3, 2009

Wonderful Hotel

We had an early flight out of Ontario International Airport (0600 hours). My girlfriend hadn't slept in over 16 hours after the flight, which took about an hour, so she was ready to go to bed. We walked into the front lobby, which is a jaw dropping sight, and attempted to "check in." The lady at the front desk bent over backwards to check if they had any available rooms for us. Mind you it is about 0730 in the morning and check in wasn't till 1500 hours. She said they had one "no-show" and we would be able to go upstairs to our room, 1424. The room was very spacious and had an amazing bathroom. Their was a desk, lounge chair, a 30' television set inside an amoire, and a plush king size bed. The bed only comes with two pillows so if your like me you like to be surrounded by pills, just ask one of the maids and they will gladly give you extras. The curtains were able to be drawn to allow no light, which my girlfriend loved, and we went to bed. We ordered room service that night, which came up post haste, it only took about 15 minutes. All in all we will be attempting to stay in any OMNI hotel on our next vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MachJunkie
Business
Folsom,Ca
Aug 31, 2009

Good location..but depends

This is a nice hotel but it can very noisy depending on where your room is. We were on the 4th floor with a room overlooking California street. It was very noisy until the cable car stopped running (around 1am)...not so much from the cable car but from the people screaming on it. Again the hotel is nice. The location is great. Two blocks from Chinatown,two blocks from BART, close to every in the financial district. Depending on your reason for staying in SF you may want a room on a higher floor or one away from the cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from Chinatown and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Henderson NV
Aug 31, 2009

excellent service and romantic stay

close to everything! walkable to china town and union square. [...] the doorman Rocks!!! and [...] the conceirge knows everything about S.F.!!!Excellent stay at this beautiful hotel to celebrate our 15 year aniversary. We will be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Aug 31, 2009

not bad..though conservative

not bad if the price is right. check out "Wexler restaraunt" across street....awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wexler

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Omni S.F. Hotel a great place to stay!

During our stay at the Omni S.F. we were able to catch the Cable Car just outside the doors and explore S.F., find dining within a short distance from the hotel. This hotel makes your stay a pleasant experience and truly meets the expectation of an exclusive hotel. The thing that I believe truly exceeded my expectation was the treatment of my daughter during our stay, the staff treated her as a valued guest which makes any child feel on top of the world...the milk and cookies at bed time are a nice touch also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several great resturaunts within short walking distance from the Omni. The Omni Concierge is very helpful and can direct you to whatever fits your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Aug 14, 2009

Nice Hotel

This is a great hotel for a short visit, not a longer vacation as we had. The hotel is located in the business district so most restaurants and shops close after business hrs and on weekends. Chinatown and Washington Square are in walking distance so as long as you like Chinese and Italian it's great. Otherwise go to Pier39 at Fishermans Wharf via bus service for seafood and sea lions! Most dining is in the mid to higher range in SanFran. Bus service was excellent, safe and reliable, even at night. The hotel was a little noisy at night in the hallways with business travelers coming and going at all hrs of the early morning who were not respectful of the time. There are plenty of doormen, but none who offered to assist with our luggage so we had to take our own. The housekeeping staff was excellent as well as the concierge [...]. The room was just large enough with a nice bathroom. Overall it was a nice hotel but I would not stay there again for a long vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

It is nice to spend a couple hrs walking, starting down Fillmore Street and then ending at Union Street and have lunch or coffee in an outdoor cafe. The shops were great and unique on Union. You can easily get there by bus. Also you can walk about 6 blks down California St and spend an hr or two at the Ferry Bldg, especially on Tues, Thurs or Saturday when they have the outdoor market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Aug 13, 2009

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

We were in San Francisco for a business trip and made it into a vacation, as well. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I really like the clean, up to date bathroom. All of the staff were very helpful with all of our questions about the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab the street car right outside the hotel instead of walking up California Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top