$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
307 reviews
Great Location and Service

Second time staying at the Omni and would stay here again. The hotel is in the financial district... See full review

  • Hildefuns
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Hotel

Clearly this is a high end hotel. The staff could not be more pleasant or helpful in every way.... See full review

  • etnmom
  • Jul 4, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (307)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
307 out of 307
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Mateus
Philadelphia
Nov 26, 2013

Gem of a hotel

My wife and I stayed at the Omni for an extended 4 day weekend. We couldn't have had a better fit for our SF visit. Its location is perfect for visiting the various sections of this vibrant and beautiful city. Walk around the corner to Chinatown. Walk or take a trolley car from outside the hotel to the busy wharf areas or walk to the many parks or upscale shopping sites. But the staff at The Omni are second to none. Very friendly and attentive to you enjoying your stay. Will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Vincello's Restaurante

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
salinas
Dec 13, 2010

san francisco

The hotel was absolutely wonderful. The experience I had with [...]trying to book though was the worst experience. The person I spoke with was the worst and appeared to be only reading off a script. Stay at the hotel but never use [...]again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irish bear
DC
Oct 4, 2010

Omni San Francisco Hotel

staff very accomodating, due to travel plans i needed to request a late check out and that given with no extra charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irish bear
DC
Oct 4, 2010

Omni San Francisco Hotel

staff very accomodating, due to travel plans i needed to request a late check out and that given with no extra charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Danville, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Great Stay

Really nice hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esmithreno
Reno, nv
Sep 26, 2010

Komen 2010 weekend

This hotel is beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer. They are wonderful with children staying at the hotel. Gave our son a goodie backpack and milk with cookies after we checked in. Unfortunately we paid extra for two double beds and it was not available once we checked in. For the amount of money we spent it was a bit disappointing. One king size bed and a fold out couch didn't cut it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tomaso's Italian

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esmithreno
Reno, nv
Sep 26, 2010

Komen 2010 weekend

This hotel is beautiful and the staff could not have been nicer. They are wonderful with children staying at the hotel. Gave our son a goodie backpack and milk with cookies after we checked in. Unfortunately we paid extra for two double beds and it was not available once we checked in. For the amount of money we spent it was a bit disappointing. One king size bed and a fold out couch didn't cut it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tomaso's Italian

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Danville, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Great Stay

Really nice hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alcahols
Wales
Sep 15, 2010

Great hotel, great staff - loved it

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on a different site and am so glad I did. From the moment we arrived it felt right. The welcome from reception staff (particularly [...]) was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. The doormen were always so polite and always smiling and unlike many places in San Francisco, I didn't feel they were only being nice just to get a tip out of you.We stayed here for 3 nights initially on floor 5 and had a great view of California Street and the cable cars. The cable cars never disturbed us at all as they stop at a reasonable hour in the evenings and pass by the hotel quickly. Our room was fantastic, large, clean and comfortable and the bathroom had that wow factor with lots of marble and complimentary toiletries & lots of fluffy towels. In the wardrobe (closet), there were luxurious bathrobes to use during your stay, an iron and ironing board (useful as the airport luggage handlers squash your cases so much your clothes have creases where you didn't think they could have creases), plus a safe to keep your valuables in.The beds were soooo comfortable I wanted to take one back home with me - clean crisp sheets, clean crisp duvets and covers and lots of comfy pillows.After spending a few days out of town travelling other states we returned to the same hotel for the last few nights of our stay in San Francisco. This time we were on the top floor (floor 17) where the room was exactly the same layout but being so high you only had little windows and this slightly lost the fun of being on California Street as we couldn't see the street - only the buildings opposite.Being in the financial district had its pros and cons. Cons being there weren't that many places to eat around the hotel however there is a lovely new Irish bar just opened on Sacramento Street (about 2 minutes walk away) plus another restaurant next to it (can't remember the name but recommended by hotel staff). Also, I occasionally felt a little out of place in casual wear when most other people were in business suits but this was mostly apparant during the day rather than at night. The pros of this hotel's location is that it's only 3 short blocks from the Montgommery Street BART stop and took us only 10 minutes to walk from the BART to the hotel. Another good point about the hotel being in the financial district is that (unlike every other part we went to - particularly the tourist parts) you didn't get any 'down-and-outs' hassling you for money as the businesses and hotels in the area don't take kindly to the down-and-outs hassling their clients. It all felt very safe around the area.I don't know if it's a sign of the financial downturn at the moment, but be warned if you are out and about in general San Fran - there are a LOT of beggers / down-and-outs / homeless / drunks constantly trying to get money out of you and it gets a bit tiring after a while.If you are going to San Fran, stay here - it's fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rkh
Clearwater, fl
Sep 13, 2010

Great

We toured SF sites. The hotel is very close to many. It in on the Calif-Van Ness cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rkh
Clearwater, fl
Sep 13, 2010

Great

We toured SF sites. The hotel is very close to many. It in on the Calif-Van Ness cable car line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top