$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
226 reviews
excellent location, champagne welcome for under $130

Here for an event at Julia Morgan ballroom. Hotel was so close- nice welcome, beautiful room. The... See full review

  • captainsturdy
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Location and awesome staff

Amazing experience and everyone was super friendly. Make sure you sign up for omni rewards to... See full review

  • Rigaroo
  • Oct 24, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker. Complimentary high speed internet included.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available. Hand-held shower wands.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Bedroom connects to living room via a long hallway but has no separating door.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Kennels
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.4 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zipi
Beverly Hills. Ca
Aug 13, 2012

Fantastic.

Beautiful hotel, stuff very friendly, rooms very clean. The location is great. we were walking a lot, when we got tired we just jumped on the bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bob's steakhouse - exellent !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old One
Business
Pacific Palisades, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Fair Price - Fair Service

When we checked in it was discussed that we had paid reservations for one less night than we were supposed to. The lady we discussed the matter with as we checked in said she would take care of the matter and add the additional night. When we came in on Friday night, we were locked out of the room. We went back to the desk and they unlockd the room for us so we could go to bed. It was explained that we could have used the phone in the elevator lobbyk but assumed it was here as an example of an old dial pone and not working. My other comment is that for a hotel of your class, you should have "grab bars" in the bathrooms. As one graduates to the older ages it is a lot easier to get around the bathroom tile floors with grab handles on the walls. This is espicially true with the bath tubs with the high walls. as are in the hotel. Does not make a happy shower. dvd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taaaho
Business
Incline Village, Incline Village-Crystal Bay, NV, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Ordinary at best at the Signature level Don't recommend

Dissapointed in the "Signature" level room. Small all around. Old style shower with narrow bath tub shower enclosure. Holiday Inn does a better job. Not much for a lot more money. First stay, so had higher expectations for a Omni Hotel. Can only imagine what the regular rooms were like. Probably not much. Don't recommend at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Etta
Business
Crownsville, MD, USA
Sep 15, 2011

first visit to the city

Everyone was very helpful. The location is pretty good, not far from Chinatown, and the cable cars are right outside the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City, New York, Vereinigte Staaten
Sep 9, 2011

Very nice hotel

Was staying over long labor day weekend. Very nice hotel close to BART station. Clean and with free WiFi if registered as member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boss60
Business
Swindon, UK
Aug 29, 2011

Omniperfect!

As other travellers have already stated this is an exceptional hotel in all aspects. I would recommend unreservedly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple visting
Business
San Jose, Ca
Aug 19, 2011

Leisure

Clean, pretty, comfortable, decent location. Parking with valet is $55 per day however. Parking available up the street $32/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
4forAlabama
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Our great weekend in San Francisco

My husband and I spent a great weekend in San Francisco and chose the Omni for our stay. The location was perfect and getting around is really easy whether you choose to walk, use public transportation - or take cabs, which we did alot of the time. The doormen were super nice and always helpful with directions and hailing cabs for us. One night were late for a dinner reservation and the doorman called ahead to the restaurant to let them know we were on the way. The staff at the bar/restuarant, Bob's, in the Omni are great. You can't miss the Dirty Bob martini with hand stuffed blue cheese olives. Perfect way to relax before heading to dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rickhouse for fabulous and different cocktails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bemidji, Minnesota
Aug 10, 2011

Excellent 5 day weekend for my wife & I

My wife and I googled the best 10 things to do in San Francisco and 12 came up. We did all 12 atractions which were all within walking distance from the Hotel. Great accomodations at the Omni!!! I was very happy with our trip and everything was AWESOME!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 31, 2011

Omni San Francisco Hotel

A wonderful experience at the Omni. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The location in the city is good if you want to travel by car or public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomSusan
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 26, 2011

San Fran vacation

This was our first stay at an Omni Hotel but it won't be our last. From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated royally. Decor is from another time period but is fresh and clean. We would have liked a small fridge in the room but that was all. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our only complaint: we didn't get "sweet dreams" candy every night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the location of the hotel. 2 blocks to Chinatown, 1 block to the start of the California Street cable car and 2 or 3 blocks from the Embarcadero

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top