$292 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
219 reviews
Location good for business and nicely appointed hotel!

The Omni is my go-to for business travel in SF. Always clean and reliable. This trip the price was... See full review

  • julia v
  • Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel

We enjoyed the best stay. The hotel was: clean, comfotable, in the area for quick transportation... See full review

  • New Orleans mom
  • Aug 13, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply). There is free newspaper in the lobby.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha1
Hawaii
Dec 29, 2012

Family vacation

This was our first stay at the Omni and we were very satisfied with our stay and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azjdawg
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 28, 2011

very nice hotel.

Great location for business--- across the street from the B of A building and on a cable car line--- but very good for pleasure also. Maybe 10 minute walk to heart of retail district. Literally next door to Chinatown. $5 cab ride to heart of North Beach. Fanastic lobby, nice restaurant (steak house), great staff. Very clean room, decent size---just a little more traditional than my preference ( 'heavy' dark woods, no flat screen). We were there for our 30th anniversary and we not disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minute walk to start of high end retail shopping. Maybe another 5 or 10 mins to Market Street and heart of retail district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mendozas
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 27, 2012

Best staff at a hotel I have EVER experienced

My husband and I went there for a weekend getaway and we definitely thought it was a great value for the money we paid. The staff there are very nice and helpful and the rooms were very clean. I can honestly say that I didn't have a single gripe about our hotel. The location was perfect for us because I didn't want to be in the congestion of Union square. It was only a few blocks from the train station so it perfect all around. The only drawback that I can of was that there were not that many restaurants within walking distance. We at the hotel the first night we got there but were too tired to give it a fair rating. Undoubtedly, we would return back to this hotel when in the SF area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must do: go to the Hayes neighborhood and eat at Absinthe. Reservations are definitely required. This neighborhood also has great boutiques bars. Very cute area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Aug 13, 2009

Great Hotel and Friendly Staff

We were in San Francisco for a business trip and made it into a vacation, as well. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I really like the clean, up to date bathroom. All of the staff were very helpful with all of our questions about the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab the street car right outside the hotel instead of walking up California Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blader
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jun 15, 2014

Excellent hotel, great location.

On California and Montgomery it's near the Ferry Building, Union Square and the cable car that runs on California. Nice lobby and rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Not 5 star luxury, but close enough to be a good value (for SF).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
And Dee
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 10, 2012

Great Location, Great Price

The wife and I received a great deal for this hotel. The place is top-notch. Beautiful building and rooms, great location, friendly/accommodating staff, and a great location which is in walking distance to many great areas of the city. Also, most other attractions are a short cab ride away. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zapopan
Mexico City
Jul 28, 2012

love the Omni

wonderful stay... we usually stay here and always have had an excellent experience. Our only complaint about this hotel is that the bar is just not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. It is cold and not very inviting. Hopefully, the hotel will improve it, since on a Sunday night there isn't any where around to head to. But otherwise it is great, The hotel staff is excellent... upbeat and very helpful. Love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svensky
greensboro, nc
Mar 4, 2013

A charming, traditional hotel

Being right on the California cable car line, this hotel exudes the quintessential San Francisco experience. It is convenient to many fine restaurants, Union Square, The Farmers Market, China Town, and North Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Hall
Anaheim, CA
Aug 11, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, not bad amenities.

The Omni was our second choice hotel... the first choice would have made us outside the city, and needing to use the BART system to commute in and out each day (round-trip). Upon arrival (20 minutes before official check-in time of 3:00pm local time) we checked to see if we could get our room a bit early... they said they'd put a rush on the room and we'd be in no later than 3, probably sooner. 15 minutes goes by... nothing. 20 minutes... nothing. 25 minutes... I go up to the counter again, no ETA and they say they'll call me. Another 10 minutes... nothing. Finally get a call at ~3:30 and the call hangs up. The call was from a San Francisco number, so I assumed it was the Omni staff calling. I went up to the counter, retrieved my room keys, and went up to our room. I'm not sure if it was a busy night/day/morning... or what, but aside from our first interaction with a red-headed female, everything was poor (the red-headed female was very kind/welcoming and genuinely nice). Get up to the room and it seemed much smaller than what I had imagined for what we saw... and for what we paid for. The nice things: - king side bed - large TV - decent sized bathroom For the nice things though, there were some really slackers: - poor free WiFi... and you have to sign-up for a complimentary loyalty program to get this for free... otherwise, you pay for this WiFi. I really expected higher-end WiFi. - strange structure of the items in the hotel... pocket door for the bathroom, light for the bathroom was outside the bathroom - the TV kept having signal problems with the majority of things we tried to watch, almost to the point where it was unwatchable The only positives I saw from staying at this hotel was the location and the staff (e.g. the house-keepers).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Italy (walk up to Columbus from Montgomery/California, then left onto Columbus for 3-4 blocks) has great food and has some of the best service in restaurants I've experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas77777
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great place

The hotel staff at Omni SF were extremly pleasant and accommodating! We had a excellent stay, and would definitely stay there again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Mar 22, 2010

Great well balanced hotel

I found the Omni to be the best hotel I've stayed in in SF. For the price it simply cannot be beat. It has character but not in that "tiny Euro-style" way of some of the upscale but boutique-like hotels in SF. It had good sized clean rooms and efficient service but not in the "mass produced giant business center" hotel model. Everyone was VERY friendly and helpful, especially the door staff. If I had a complaint, it would be that the onsite restaurant was really, really expensive. A cafe-alternative would have been nice, especially since most of the Starbucks in the area are closed on the weekends. But overall, for under $200/night, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weekend coffee is a problem. Find a fun destination and plan to go there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search