$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Omni San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
500 California Street at Montgomery, San Francisco, CA 94104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
309 reviews
Fabulous service!

From the moment we checked in until we drove away at check out, the staff took care of us and... See full review

  • dblktown
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great Location and Service

Second time staying at the Omni and would stay here again. The hotel is in the financial district... See full review

  • Hildefuns
  • Jul 7, 2014
Historic Nob Hill hotel blends old and new with top-notch steakhouse

The past is new again at this circa-1926 hotel atop Nob Hill. Originally built as a bank, the property features classic stonework, stained glass and decorative touches. The lobby is adorned with Italian marble, rich fabrics and Austrian crystal chandeliers. Guestrooms mirror this classic elegance. The hotel is within walking distance of the city's storied cable cars. Bob's Steak & Chop House, the on-site restaurant, has established itself as one of the best steakhouses in the entire city. The property also offers complimentary guided walking tours once a week.

Highlights
  • Florentine Renaissance architecture
  • Walking distance to the Financial District, Union Square and North Beach
  • Succulent steak at Bob's Steak & Chop House
  • Complimentary guided walking tours
Rooms

Accommodations (362 rooms, including 20 suites) feature high ceilings and crown molding -- common design elements from the 1920s. Rooms also come standard with flat-screen televisions, plush down comforters, marble bathrooms and robes. Special GetFit guest rooms also feature treadmills and other exercise equipment. One of the suites, the Kid Fantasy Suite, includes a room of bunk beds, bean-bag chairs and games. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

Features

The hotel has received numerous awards, including the AAA Four Diamond Award.

Technically, the property has existed since 1926, though it served as a bank until the 1980s. To put this history into context for guests, third-party guides lead complimentary walking tours around the property and surrounding neighborhoods. The hotel also provides family-specific walking tours, geared toward visitors with young kids.

All guests receive complimentary access to a huge fitness center with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. The hotel also provides shuttle service to Harding Park and Presidio Golf Course, the two closest greens (fees apply).

Enjoy a meal at Bob's Steak & Chop House, which specializes in corn-fed Midwestern prime beef but offers a variety of fish and vegetarian selections as well.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • BART (2 blocks)
  • Cable cars (2 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
  • Chinatown
  • Embarcadero
  • North Beach
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 2,800-square-foot ballroom

Omni San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe room
Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft with a 32 inch flat screen TV. These rooms face the street or courtyard.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 2 Double beds 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city. Complimentary wired or wireless internet.
Premier Room
Premier Room with 1 King Bed 385 square feet and are located on the upper floors of the hotel facing the city.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 1 King Bed 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.
ADA Dlx room 1 King Bed
Accessible Deluxe Room King Bed Average of 385 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab bars near toilet and tub. Toilet and sink are no higher than 29 inches from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system door and phone are available.
California Suite King Bed
California Suite with 1 King Bed. Approx. 600 sq ft. Corner U-shaped room with sofabed and upgraded bath amenities. Room connects with hallway but no doors.
Signature Room
Signature Room with 2 Double Beds 385 sq ft. Located on the top floors. iPod docking station. Nespresso coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Phone service
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
FAX
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7931 -122.4032
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.1 mi
  • SoMa: 1.1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Lands End: 1.7 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.3 mi

Dining

Bobs Steak and Chop House
Bobs Steak and Chop House is ranked as one of the top steakhouses in the USA. All portions are large and the wine list is extensive. Reservations recommended. Breakfast Mon-Fri from 0630-1000 and Sat-Sun 0700-1100 hours. Lunch Mon-Fri from 1100-1430 hours. Dinner Mon-Sun from 1730-2200
Bobs Bar
Located on the lobby level Bobs Bar offers a variety of beverages along with great food in a comfortable and relaxed setting. Guests can enjoy the game on one of our flat screen TVs or just relax in the elegance of our lobby. Sun-Thur from 1100-2330 hours and Fri-Sat from 1100-0030 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (309)

Ratings and reviews for Omni San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
309 out of 309
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA Tourist Couple
Los Angeles, California
Dec 10, 2012

Weekend Tourists

We came up from LA for the weekend to just be tourists in San Francisco. The OMNI is located within walking distance to so many areas (China Town, Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf, Embarcadero, AT&T Park, Little Italy) and is only 4 blocks from a BART station if you're wanting to go to other areas. We took BART to go to/from the airport and to the Orpheum Theater to see the Lion King. There's also a cable car stop right outside the hotel. Since the OMNI is right in the heart of the Financial District, a lot of things in that area are closed on weekends since they cater to the Monday-Friday crowd, but you'll find lots of things open just a short walk away. It was nice to stay in a quieter, less touristy area actually. The staff at the OMNI is the best you'll find, from the doorman to the front desk to the maids to room service. Upon arrival into our room, we had a hand-written note from the maid along with a note from the hotel staff welcoming us and telling us to not hesitate to let them know if we needed anything at all. Anytime we would pass a maid in the hallway, she would say hello and ask us how our day was. The doormen asked us if they could point us in the direction of anything each time we left, and they welcomed us back each time we returned. We couldn't believe how friendly everyone was, and how each person seemed to be in such a good mood, enjoying what they do. Our bed was very comfortable. We can't stop talking about the pillows! The room itself was spacious and everything was in perfect working order. Be sure to join their rewards program (it's FREE) for complimentary in-room wireless and daily morning beverages and newspaper (weekdays only) delivery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to most dining options outside of the Financial District where most things are closed on weekend.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Mar 22, 2010

Great well balanced hotel

I found the Omni to be the best hotel I've stayed in in SF. For the price it simply cannot be beat. It has character but not in that "tiny Euro-style" way of some of the upscale but boutique-like hotels in SF. It had good sized clean rooms and efficient service but not in the "mass produced giant business center" hotel model. Everyone was VERY friendly and helpful, especially the door staff. If I had a complaint, it would be that the onsite restaurant was really, really expensive. A cafe-alternative would have been nice, especially since most of the Starbucks in the area are closed on the weekends. But overall, for under $200/night, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Weekend coffee is a problem. Find a fun destination and plan to go there.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boss60
Swindon, UK
Aug 29, 2011

Omniperfect!

As other travellers have already stated this is an exceptional hotel in all aspects. I would recommend unreservedly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donald Anthony
New York
Aug 28, 2012

Summer Vacation

This is my third summer vacation now in San Francisco. I have stayed in three very good four star hotels and The Omni is by far my favorite. The rooms are spacious, very well appointed, very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The staff is what really sets this hotel apart from the others. Everyone, from the front desk, to the bell staff, to the maid staff, treat you like a VIP and always greet you warmly. The maid staff even write little notes greeting you on your first day. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
etnmom
Ohio
Jul 4, 2014

Great Hotel

Clearly this is a high end hotel. The staff could not be more pleasant or helpful in every way. When we arrived early and there was a brief wait they texted us the room was ready and had the key hanging where we could just grab it and not wait in line. The dining recommendations of the front dest staff were spot on which is not always the case. The room was quiet, spotless and the bed heavenly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North Beach has tremendous Italian food.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
sacramento, ca
Aug 10, 2009

Luxury at its finest

All I can say is I LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Plush, classy, luxious, CLEAN and WONDERFUL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well Seasoned Travelers
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2011

5 Star Service for a 4 Star Price

We had a 3 night stay at the hotel.Upon arriving I noted how professional and inviting the valets, doorman, and hotel staff were. It was as if though we were VIP. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the hotel is in a great location (next to Union Square in shopping district). The room was very clean, comfy, and has a traditional, elegant, feel.The rooms are moderate in size, but well appointed.The weekend valet parking fee was reasonable for the area (only $26). This hotel is a great value as they do not charge excessive rates for the quality room and location you get. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a few blocks from Market Street near Union Square so all the major stores, designer stores, and department stores are within walking distance.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romantictrav
Valencia, CA
Jun 18, 2009

Great trip

Everyone at the Omni was terrific! Everyone had a smile for us and a pleasant greeting. The room was spotless and beautiful. The beds are not queen sized but full sized (a bit small for us). The location was perfect. The cable car ran right outside the hotel, so getting to Union square or Fisherman's W. was easy. The resturant was pricey, but lots of othere places to eat in the area. I can't say enough about the service, congeniality, and friendliness of the hotel staff. Full amenities in the room, never wanted for anything. Great place ... Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a MUNI/cable car pass. Avoid parking and take mass transit.

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethesda, MD
Aug 10, 2009

Title that orbitz survey forced me 2 add

Great hotel, great price too with the deal we found on Orbitz. Really fantastic staff and great with kids. Definitely worth trying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, ca
Apr 11, 2011

Nice

nice facility. close to everything. cable car close by. classy and great for business and family with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Omni San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stevepao
Ocean Springs, MS
Jan 17, 2010

Excellent hotel, service outstanding!!

Great hotel in a great location to see San Francisco, located near Chinatown and North Beach (great Italian restaurants). Cable car right in front of hotel and service was the best part of it, extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top