$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Nob Hill Motor Inn

2 stars
1630 Pacific Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
105 reviews
Spacious and Comfortable Room

Very large, clean and spacious room for the price. Breakfast in the morning was a plus. I would... See full review

  • Kimstacks
  • Oct 7, 2014
Perfect, yes, perfect.

Location, room, and friendliness exceeded our expectations. Tucked in one of those little San Fran... See full review

  • intercultura
  • Jul 9, 2014
Conveniently located within walking distance to the Cable Cars, Crookedest Street and Fisherman's Wharf - The Nob Hill Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay while exploring San Francisco's beauty. We welcome you to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and excellent service. The Nob Hill's list of amenities includes FREE parking, FREE continental breakfast, FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Acces, in-room microwave/refrigerator, cable TV with HBO and FREE tour pick-up. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. Family suites are available. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Motor Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Nob Hill Motor Inn Rooms

Deluxe Family Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated suite. Perfect for family vacations or a businessman entertaining clients, the suite's common room includes a game table, king bed, and sofa which adjoins to a second interior bedroom where there are 2 more queen beds. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Deluxe Junior Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated junior suite. Perfect for family vacations - the spacious junior suite includes 2 Queen beds, a common area with game table and a couch that can pull out into a twin bed. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Standard Room
Quaint, small room for the economical tourist. We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
King Room
Guest room includes one king bed, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Queen Room
Guest room includes two queen beds, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Exploratorium: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Motor Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 105
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MuppetPastor
Business
Carmel, NY
Oct 15, 2014

Nice

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location is pretty spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamesPaul78
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca
Sep 10, 2014

Overall good clean hotel for the value and location

Staff was very helpful, room was clean and in safe convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaniJess
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 12, 2014

Good weekend getaway

The Nob hill motor inn at first glance seems like any other motel stay. But it wasnt...We found the front desk to be very friendly and helpful to make sure our stay was pleasant. When we first got there we found out our room was on the third floor... Not a horrible room but the elevator was a pain...u have to open the door and it was difficult with all our bags. We immediately unpacked when getting to our room and I quickly realized not enough closet space for both me and my bf. But there were other places to put our stuff. Other than that it was a wonderful stay. It was very convenient to get to all the attractions and sights. Overall we did enjoy this quaint, quiet inn. We would go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
intercultura
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 9, 2014

Perfect, yes, perfect.

Location, room, and friendliness exceeded our expectations. Tucked in one of those little San Fran streets, it was so great to stat exploring the city from there. Also a lot of neat and fine dining choices around, you can feel safe here and even have a good night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tahoe Lily
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 6, 2013

Good value, great location

We've been coming here for 10 years and it's quite acceptable and usually affordable. (the rates vary dramatically from month to month, sometimes by more than 200%) It seems there are always a few little imperfections and annoyances. This time and last we couldn't get any TV sound from local broadcasts, but national broadcasts came through fine. There was insufficient lighting in this particular room; the closet area was totally dark. And one of my pet peeves is the bathroom lighting (also minimal) was a single switch which also turns on the fan, making night trips to the bathroom unnecessarily noisy and disturbing to one's mate. The parking lot is a plus since it's free, but the spaces are really small. Our Highlander just barely fits with about 8 inches on both sides combined. I have to get out of the car before my husband parks it, and he has to slide out carefully. (And we're both super lean folks.) But we have yet to find a better location. Polk Gulch is a great area. Pretty quiet, clean, safe. Lots of net restaurants and shops, we can walk to Fisherman's Wharf, catch a bus on Van Ness just about anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flour and Water - divine food, great service, adorable wait staff. Website says 8-week wait for reservations, BUT we just showed up early one evening and got right in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigtime
Business
Ventura County
Aug 14, 2013

Sunday/Monday Frisco trip

Great deal! Great, safelocation. Will be returning to Nob Hill and Frisco (Hopefully sooon!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tahoe Lily
Business
Reno, NV
Dec 2, 2012

Disastrous experience this time

We have stayed here at least 8 times and always been delighted. This time so many things went wrong my husband now refuses to go back. TV sound only worked for less than half the channels; one key was the wrong one for our room; toilet wouldn't flush just before we checked out. BUT by far the worst (and the only thing worth mention really) was a gang of eastern European hooligans who screamed a the top of their lungs right outside our door for hours - literally - in the middle of the night. They also banged on our door (and others I assume) which was frightening. Anyway we lost a night's sleep. Upon checkout next morning the clerk told me the "night auditor" ( we didn't think anyone was on duty) finally called the cops and they hauled the jerks off to jail. It took WAY too long for anyone to do anything about this though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
awsd
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 16, 2012

Old but livable

The furnishings and bed were kind of old and the place was a bit run down, but livable. Surprisingly, they had a nice flat screen TV in the room though. The carpets and bedding seemed fairly worn and dated. The biggest things this place has going for it is the free parking and central location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Polk street bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAG73
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 5, 2012

volga

The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justjeri
Business
Northern, Ca
Mar 5, 2012

Second stay for us

We like to stay at this location because we love to walk. You can be to the cable car in 10 minutes. Rooms are very dated but equally as clean. Breakafst is fruit, donuts and packaged pastries so no real savings there. BUT once we park our car for FREE, we don't get in it again until we leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buena Vista for Irish Coffee is historic and a must. Take the cable car to the ending near the wharf and it is to your left as you exit. Take the cable car in to Union Square for 100's of dining and shopping options. People watching is always great and this city is cleaner now than ever - always feel very safe at night too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top