$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Nob Hill Motor Inn

2 stars
1630 Pacific Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
102 reviews
Perfect, yes, perfect.

Location, room, and friendliness exceeded our expectations. Tucked in one of those little San Fran... See full review

  • intercultura
  • Jul 9, 2014
biz trip

We got into town late and the "sister" hotel of Nob Hill Motor Inn transferred us to here.... See full review

  • I am biz traveller
  • Jun 14, 2014
Conveniently located within walking distance to the Cable Cars, Crookedest Street and Fisherman's Wharf - The Nob Hill Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay while exploring San Francisco's beauty. We welcome you to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and excellent service. The Nob Hill's list of amenities includes FREE parking, FREE continental breakfast, FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Acces, in-room microwave/refrigerator, cable TV with HBO and FREE tour pick-up. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. Family suites are available. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Hotel Map

37.7952 -122.4222
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is located in the prestigous Pacific Heights - Russian Hill area. Within walking distance to many fine restaurants and shops, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, the Crookedest Street, North Beach, The Opera House / Herbst Theater, and many other major attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Motor Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Nob Hill Motor Inn Rooms

Deluxe Family Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated suite. Perfect for family vacations or a businessman entertaining clients, the suite's common room includes a game table, king bed, and sofa which adjoins to a second interior bedroom where there are 2 more queen beds. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Deluxe Junior Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated junior suite. Perfect for family vacations - the spacious junior suite includes 2 Queen beds, a common area with game table and a couch that can pull out into a twin bed. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Standard Room
Quaint, small room for the economical tourist. We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
King Room
Guest room includes one king bed, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Queen Room
Guest room includes two queen beds, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Motor Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flighty
Seattle, WA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great location

The hotel was in a perfect place for wanting to see the main sights of San Fransisco. The hotel staff were really nice and the room perfectly suited our needs. We did find some garbage in the pullout bed and there were goings on in the night that kept us up, but it wasn't the hotels fault

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

In china town, don't buy immediately at the first corner store you come across, many stores carry the same things at slightly different prices sometimes, so be sure to browse all your options

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike82
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Overall clean and safe place; Needs commute

My wife and I stayed here while visiting San Francisco. The place is pretty clean, and in a safe area. However if you plan on sightseeing etc, you will need to use the Muni (bus system) to get anywhere (unless you plan on driving....Muni is prob easier as parking in SF can be a pain). Bus stations are nearby, as is CVS and Walgreens. "Continental breakfast" was advertised, but this is really just a packaged pastry and OJ or Coffee. I don't consider that continental. The room was clean, although the bathroom had some drainage issues - I informed the front desk on checkout and they were receptive and noted they'll look into it. Good cable channels. Not much view from the hotel. The staff was nice and held our bags for us on the last day, so we didn't have to walk around with them until we were ready to go to the airport. Overall - we found this to be a good deal because we were okay with taking the bus, and the place was in a safe area, and had a good price compared to other places that are closer to the main attractions. Those are much more expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When planning your day/schedule, be sure to include some buffer time if you are using the Muni (bus system). Sometimes the buses don't arrive as scheduled, and there were multiple times we saw 2 buses appear at a stop (as opposed to 15 mins after each other).

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britty
New Jersey, USA
Aug 12, 2011

An excellent hotel for cheap!

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at this hotel! Every day the staff came and cleaned our room and replaced our towels. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location with several restaurants, bars, and coffee shops in the area. Not to mention most attractions were between a fifteen to thirty minute walk away. We also felt completely safe walking around the area at night. One note of caution, if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs, people often slammed their doors and stomped around the outside walk way in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Nick's crispy tacos!! So delicious we could have eaten there every day!! Great drink specials too!

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
central valley, ca
Jun 28, 2011

Clean and Safe

We have stayed at this hotel several times. It has always been clean and decent. It's old and there are no frills but the location is great and parking is either included with your room or you pay about 10 bucks extra. We love the location because if you are active, you can walk to almost everywhere. If you have a large truck, you will have difficulty parking in the narrow stalls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose, ca
Jun 18, 2011

met our expectations

met our expectations as advertized, above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
las vgesr
May 14, 2011

sf stay

hotel was fine but maid service was slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCS father
Mexico City
Apr 28, 2011

Fantastic Family Getaway

We stayed 5 nights on a family trip, my wife, 2 daugters and my 15 year old son. They provided a roller bed that resulted practically a very comfortable single bed and we could thus stay all 5 in the same room. The room was very well equipped, everything functioned, the beds and sheets were clean, the bathroom was very clean, the towels were changed daily for clean ones. The room was well isolated, we didn't hear any uncomfortable noises from other guests or from the street. The front desk clerks were kind and very helpful at all times. Bread, an apple or a banana, orange juice and coffee are included for breakfast. The location is very convenient, near to public transportation to main attractions and, if you are a good walker, at 20 minutes walking distance from China Town, Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf or Civic Center. I had a car the first day and the room fee included parking in the hotel. The area is nice and safe, no problem walking late at night in the surroundings, even for my 2 daughters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Reserve the tour to ALCATRAZ 5 to 7 days before you plan to make the tour or you may not find tickets. 2. The bike ride to Sausalito through the Golden Gate is a MUST.

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pinkbaby
LA CA
Mar 18, 2011

Good location

It's near cable car stop and bus stop. But the room was too small, I book one queen bed room. I think two double bed is more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse UT
Mar 15, 2011

Nice But Get One Closer

Room was okay but the parking is TIGHT!! I bet everyone cringes when leaving their car wondering if it is going to be DINGED! If you plan on spending time on the wharf or Chinatown go get a room closer because the walk to either is work. Uphill both ways, no kidding. The cost of parking at either will cost about $30 for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Feb 14, 2011

Great Stay

The stay was very nice. It was everything I expected and more. Very clean room and was a great place to stay for a night. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search