Nob Hill Motor Inn

2 stars
1630 Pacific Ave., San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
102 reviews
Perfect, yes, perfect.

Location, room, and friendliness exceeded our expectations. Tucked in one of those little San Fran... See full review

  • intercultura
  • Jul 9, 2014
biz trip

We got into town late and the "sister" hotel of Nob Hill Motor Inn transferred us to here.... See full review

  • I am biz traveller
  • Jun 14, 2014
Conveniently located within walking distance to the Cable Cars, Crookedest Street and Fisherman's Wharf - The Nob Hill Motor Inn is the perfect place to stay while exploring San Francisco's beauty. We welcome you to enjoy our newly renovated rooms and excellent service. The Nob Hill's list of amenities includes FREE parking, FREE continental breakfast, FREE Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Acces, in-room microwave/refrigerator, cable TV with HBO and FREE tour pick-up. All of our rooms are 100 percent non-smoking. Family suites are available. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Nob Hill Motor Inn Rooms

Deluxe Family Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated suite. Perfect for family vacations or a businessman entertaining clients, the suite's common room includes a game table, king bed, and sofa which adjoins to a second interior bedroom where there are 2 more queen beds. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Deluxe Junior Suite
We welcome you to enjoy the convenience and beauty of our newly renovated junior suite. Perfect for family vacations - the spacious junior suite includes 2 Queen beds, a common area with game table and a couch that can pull out into a twin bed. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Standard Room
Quaint, small room for the economical tourist. We welcome you to enjoy our newly remodeled rooms. The Nob Hill's list of amenities include brand new furniture, FREE continental breakfast, FREE parking, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
King Room
Guest room includes one king bed, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.
Queen Room
Guest room includes two queen beds, brand new furniture, free continental breakfast, in-room microwave/refrigerator, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, and cable TV with HBO. All of our rooms are 100% non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

37.7952 -122.4222
Area served
San Francisco, California.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport and Oakland Airport.
Area description
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is located in the prestigous Pacific Heights - Russian Hill area. Within walking distance to many fine restaurants and shops, Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, the Crookedest Street, North Beach, The Opera House / Herbst Theater, and many other major attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.2 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.4 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 0.5 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Japantown: 0.8 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Union Square: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.1 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.2 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.3 mi
  • Lands End: 1.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.4 mi
  • SoMa: 1.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 1.5 mi
  • Palace of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Motor Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
staymotivated
california
Mar 6, 2013

Very small room!

stayed here with my wife and son. The room we were put in was smaller than my walk in closet. It was a last minute room booking, and i read a bunch of great reviews. But when i got into the room i just started laughing, because it was so small. The room bearly fit the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nashua1983
nashua, nh
Mar 3, 2013

Front Desk Canclled My reservation

I booked a week stay at this hotel and i upgraded my room to a suite 2 weeks before my arrival. when i got the hotel at 10pm the front desk told me i cancelled my reservation. i had to sit there for a hour until the lady at the desk could think of something to help me. she tried offering a 1 bed room for the same price as a 4 bed suite. i wouldnt trust staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phoebe123
San Francisco
Jan 14, 2013

Excellent!

We were suposed to be 6 people so we booked a family suit. But finally we got 4 and we shared a quite large suite which was really comfortable! One bed in the living room and two in the bedroom. The space was enough for more than 6 people. And the location is pretty good. We can walk to the Fisherman's wharf and so many other attractions. Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lou and Les
west side,ma
Jan 12, 2013

Nob Hill hidden treasure

Had to be in the Nob Hill area for a week.Booked flights and hotel online.Read reviews about nob hill motor inn, and gave it a shot.My main concern was to be close to my daughters relocation process to the nob hill area.Living 3000 miles away from San Francisco,how can you be sure of anything when your booking a place for less than 100 a night.What a huge surprise to find this perfect little motor inn so close to all we needed.Parking is a major deal in San Fran, i didn't quite get that until i arrived.The management was always helpful and allowed us to keep our car parked even after we checked out.We enjoyed the last day with no headachs with the car and parking.The room was clean,comfortable,and very quiet,more so that the big hotels we all pay dearly for.Without a doubt,i will stay there when we come back to visit.Thanks Nob Hill for such a pleasant stay..loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the food is fantastic! try them all. The crepe house on polk is cozy and a blend of food we couldn't stop returning to.Swans in the area is a treat if you love seafood.Try T.Piacera on polk for a cozy italian meal.And Mamas at Washington sq. for breakfast should not be missed.

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vogie
Sacramento, CA
Dec 24, 2012

Hotel has been recently remodeled and looks good

Convenient location for Cable cars and free car parking. Breakfast was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars and buses are easily accessible to China Town, Fisherman's Wharf and Lombardi Street.

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tahoe Lily
Reno, NV
Dec 2, 2012

Disastrous experience this time

We have stayed here at least 8 times and always been delighted. This time so many things went wrong my husband now refuses to go back. TV sound only worked for less than half the channels; one key was the wrong one for our room; toilet wouldn't flush just before we checked out. BUT by far the worst (and the only thing worth mention really) was a gang of eastern European hooligans who screamed a the top of their lungs right outside our door for hours - literally - in the middle of the night. They also banged on our door (and others I assume) which was frightening. Anyway we lost a night's sleep. Upon checkout next morning the clerk told me the "night auditor" ( we didn't think anyone was on duty) finally called the cops and they hauled the jerks off to jail. It took WAY too long for anyone to do anything about this though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Birmingham, AL
Nov 20, 2012

Right for us

The motel includes parking, a real boon in San Francisco. It is located less than a block from three bus lines, and the Hyde cable car is about two blocks distant. There are good restaurants nearby. The motel filters internet activity, and they do not clean rooms for those staying over until late in the afternoon. All in all, this was a fine place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pesce and other nice restaurants are a short walk from the motel.

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
awsd
San Diego, CA
Oct 16, 2012

Old but livable

The furnishings and bed were kind of old and the place was a bit run down, but livable. Surprisingly, they had a nice flat screen TV in the room though. The carpets and bedding seemed fairly worn and dated. The biggest things this place has going for it is the free parking and central location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Polk street bars

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business travelor 22
Business
Southeast Michigan
Jul 22, 2012

Needs Improvement

From opening experience of very small and inappropriate office to young and inexperienced staff, this experience was not typical of San Francisco. Room was update but never cleaned. Saw dirt on floors near bed and in bathroom during my entire stay so I know is was not cleaned. Sink was just wiped and not cleaned. Continental breakfast was some a few packaged danishes, hotel offered no real amenities. Will not be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arizona Family
Marana, Arizona
Jun 9, 2012

Great Location

This hotel is in a great location and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast could use a little help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top