$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
170 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 170
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
louast
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 31, 2013

Comfy but noisy if you get a room in the front of the building.

As a female costumer, first time in San Francisco, I felt safe and in a good location. The staff is helpful and kind. I couldn't check in until 3pm but I left my luggage and go for a city-tour. If you have a restricted diet and have meals with you, no worries, they will storage your meals in their fridge until you check-in. The Hotel is really close to the Union Square, and from there you can walk on Market Street towards the Ferry Building and try the best oysters ever at Hog Island Oyster! Next time in this wonderful city, I will stay in the same hotel but in the back side of the building. The decoration is something to consider if you prefer something more sterile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Golden Gate Park. It's 45min by bus from the Hotel, but once you're there you spend the whole day with lots of activities and leisure. It's such a wonderful place to visit. De Young Museum have sublime expositions and a breathtaking view from its tower, where you will also find gorgeous souvenirs. The California Academy of Sciences is a must go! It's magnificent. And, of course, don't loose the Conservatory of Flowers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sngltravlr
Business
seattle
Jun 10, 2013

OK...satisfactory...adequate.

Pleasant staff...good location...simple but adequate. Clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1108
Business
Norwalk, CT
May 13, 2013

Mixed Review

This is a small boutique type hotel. On the positive side, the front desk staff was very personable and helpful and the location was great. Unfortunately, I would have difficulty recommending this hotel because I thought the additional parking expense of $33 per day was excessive, and while I could have dealt with the small room size, the room was not very clean. The carpeting was stained and dirty and the bed linens were less than crisp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The San Francisco Library sponsors free historical/informational tours conducted by volunteers for many of the attractions in this fun city. Some examples include the Golden Gate Bridge, the Ferry Building, San Francisco's murals, etc. Check out their website for times and meet up locations,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bs917
Business
cape cod, MA
Aug 13, 2012

quirky little nook in the heart of san francisco

Hotel was quirky, fun...perfect for what I needed. Comfortable and clean although smaller than I expected. The place has lots of charm and character while still providing all the necessities. Convenient to a downtown wedding I attended and walking distance to ... everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassonandesty
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2012

a nice hotel with a Parisian chic

Nice atmosphere. Art deco design. Very unique - certainly not the chain feeling. Room was tiny but stylish. If you like spacious chain-like hotels - this is not the place for you. If you like a European feel that would add to your overall SF experience - this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony the Jerome
Business
Salinas, California
Jul 4, 2012

Haunted Hotel

The photos were nothing like the real thing and it was really small. The price was not worth it and I literally just checked in took a shower and checked out. You are better staying at a Motel 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not Worth It

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staying the night
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 5, 2012

Good value

The room had everything you would expect from an older place. The room was a little small but it did have the charm of a small non-chain hotel. It's a good place to stay for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Devs
Business
New Jersey
Aug 10, 2011

The last option

It fulfills the basic need of providing a place to crash in at night for tourists. If you are expecting more than that, then look for other places. I did read not-so-good reviews online but I wanted to spend minimal for a place which I would only use for sleeping so can't complain much. Forget about the garish look and feel of the place but it can be atleast a bit cleaner. The basin in the bathroom was clogging, the floor and bed both seemed alive with creaking and squeaking. :) Maybe they would have fixed the basin if I would have notified them but I always forgot. Otherwise the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 18, 2011

Pleasant

For the price, the hotel was quite comfortable, with friendly staff and just about all that you'd expect from a hotel room. Included was complimentary breakfast every morning (toast, cereal, croissants, coffee/tea and juice), free wine tasting in the evening, and a small indoor fitness center. I also got a free upgrade to a larger sized bed, and was able to check in early. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions, as well. When I arrived in my room (possibly because I checked in 2 hours early) the trash from the previous tenants had not yet been cleared, but I notified the front desk and it was taken care of immediately. The carpet in the room also looked somewhat stained by things like coffee or dirt, but did not have any visible gunk or gum of any sort on it. The bed was comfortable, and although the room and bathroom were small, it was decorated in an attractive vintage manner. Overall, it was a nice place to stay for my brief trip to SF. Its location in the heart of downtown and the friendliness of the staff made it a great place to stay for my trip. Just be aware that you won't find quite the same level of room services as larger hotels, and that the location is not in the best neighborhood (though not terrible either).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is between 0.5 to 2 miles of most of the major tourist attractions (Fisherman's Wharf, Japantown, Chinatown, Union Square, BART station) and I simply walked everywhere I went. However, a few destinations such as the California Academy of Sciences will require taking a bus, unless you want to walk for about an hour and a half.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sebastopol, ca
Apr 30, 2011

Great trip

This is now the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The entire staff is very nice and accomidating. [...] was really sweet. He carried my bags for me to my room. When we got to the room, it was not quite ready. He proptly went back down stairs and got me a new room. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parkin is only $35 a nite. To not have to try to repark in the city or try to deal with parkin meters, it is money well spent. Plus if the weather is nice it is great walk to food and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top