$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 229
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chade
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2014

Some good and some bad

I booked a room at this hotel for three days after viewing the photographs of the rooms etc on line. It looked somewhat European and different, which I liked. On arriving at the hotel late at night my wife and I were given a room that was no bigger then a cupboard. Certainly not at all good accommodation for two people. The metal bed head and bottom board were broken the wash hand basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom, The room paintwork was chipped the bedside chair was broken and disgusting as no one would want to sit on it. We checked the bed linen as I was expecting the worse. As it was late we slept in the room, all night the hot water pipes rattled and kept us awake. In the morning I asked for a room change and got it. Thankfully the room was a whole lot better. I had to pay $30 a day to have the car parked on the last day, Saturday we had to wait over an hour to get the car returned to us. If this is a problem for the hotel as it obviously is, then don't offer the valet service? I would say to anyone booking this hotel before you pay for the hotel room if at all possible view the room first? If anyone had been given the room I had on check-in you would be definitely insulted. I would suggest to the hotel management to get a painter and decorator in as ]the rooms need a huge clean-up. As for the horrible small cupboard rooms...these are for brooms and mops only and should not be used for paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a nice restaurant that is in walking distance from the hotel is a basic must have, No one wants to sit and eat meals in the same hotel restaurant.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ladyT408
san jose
Jul 7, 2014

Not what i expected!!!!!

The rooms didn't look nothing like the pictures that were posted. There was no AC you were actually given a fan . The employee in the front desk was really nice and helped us out but the hotel isn't all that as it said it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 has an attraction called 7D Experience which was fun and recommend people to check it out!!

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marbearta
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

A good value

It's a good value for the money. We even found meter parking outside. You don't have to pay the meters after 6:00pm on a Saturday and until noon on Sunday. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no view though. It's an older hotel with "antique" like decorations so not everything feels brand new. There was a slight air-freshener smell that I didn't care for but a least everything seemed clean. At times we could hear the neighbors through the walls but it wasn't too bad. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs an inexpensive hotel in San Francisco in a decent neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at a great thai restaurant on Polk St. called Chai-Yo.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary Dr
Florida
Mar 5, 2014

Never again

THE worst I HAVE ever stayed in. IF you book it you will be sorry. Parking is an additional $35.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrjaimes
Buena Park CA
Jan 23, 2014

Good Value. Wil Stay Again

Good Value for the price. Room slightly small but in good proximity to restaurants and bars. Will Stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ace Bar

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samantha Jones
Bay Area, California
Nov 12, 2013

Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the bathroom were a great touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JU and JW
Dana Point, CA
Jul 23, 2013

Great weekend getaway for a young couple

We absolutely loved staying at the Nob Hill Hotel. The huge jacuzzi tub in our room was a surprise and so nice to enjoy. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, even though it ended at the early hour of 9. The free wine and cheese from 5 to 7 was also enjoyable. These extra amenities really made our stay special!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sojourning Scholar
Davis, CA
Jun 18, 2013

Quirky, fun, (awkward) trip...

Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and think that three stars is about right and a good bargain at the price. The hotel is an older "boutique" style hotel in a pretty good central location--though we like to walk. We were there for a quick weekend getaway and walked all over the city. Arriving too early to check in, the front desk staff was kind and accommodating and let us leave our bags and arrange valet parking. When we arrived back after a long day of walking, the front desk staff had changed and was a bit more (vocally) disgruntled. Check-in took a while, but there was complimentary wine in the lobby while we waited. When they found what they thought was our room, our kindly bellhop took our bags upstairs for us while we used the old lift. When we opened the door to our room, however, there were clothes and luggage scattered throughout the room. Clearly, it was already occupied, so we waited while the bellhop called the front desk (from the occupied room!!!) and then went back downstairs to enjoy more complimentary wine while they found our actual room. We understand these things happen, and had a good laugh about it later, but might not have had the room's occupants been in there at the time. So, as I started this long review, it's a nice hotel, especially at the price, but comes with some quirks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
King George
San Francisco, CA
Jun 5, 2013

Good Value

This quiant hotel is located close to the cable car lines as well as good breakfast spots. The staff was helpful and polite. Luckily the weather was good as we had to use fresh air to cool our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The three day muny pass alllows you to get on and off the cable cars and buses as much as you like.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanJoaq
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 4, 2013

First time in San Fran

Beautifully decorated, lavish and plush interior. Room 101 on the first floor is a phenomenal suite, and for the price I was blown away at the amenities provided in the room and around the hotel. Location couldn't have been any better, within walking distance to great places and great transit options. Highly recommended. Diego at the front desk was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk street just a few blocks north of the hotel location.

Back to menu Return to top