$307 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
174 reviews
Room with a character!

I loved our stay in room 602. Everything was really uniqe about this place. It has it's own charm... See full review

  • Iwona K.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Great little hotel

My sister and I spent the weekend here.The hotel staff are wonderful and the lobby decor is... See full review

  • Amy C.
  • May 26, 2015
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
General

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Location

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Property features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Nearby attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
Transportation

Historic boutique grandeur and antique charm atop Nob Hill

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$165
3.5 / 5 131 reviews
★★★
$191
3.5 / 5 139 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★
$159
4.2 / 5 85 reviews

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 174
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iwona K.
Couples
MELROSE PARK
Jul 10, 2015

Room with a character!

I loved our stay in room 602. Everything was really uniqe about this place. It has it's own charm and character. We felt like on honeymoon. If you value this things this place is right for you. Big King size bed , very clean and very comfortable. Jacuzzi in room and nice bathroom with shower. I will stay at this place next time I'll visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Heraclio v.
Couples
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

askes my wife to marry me again

The hotel did not meet my expectations. They had my reservation messed up. They clam to have spa baths and they do not. The flat screen tv is very old. Staff didn't speak clear english. The valet parking is not included. You have to wait 30-40 mins for you car when your ready to leave. We will not be visiting here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave R.
Couples
San Francisco
Mar 26, 2015

Weekend Trip

Arrived late at night, so clerk was asleep and could not get in. Had to call and wake him up, but it took some time. Overall, stay was ok hotel was nice & affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria
Couples
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Anniversary

There was a super promo we couldn't pass up to stay here, especially because it looked so lovely in the pictures, and the truth is, it really is, the room we got was just much much smaller than we expected. We felt like we were staying in a cramped dorm room, which isn't the most romantic of places, but it could have been much worse. We noticed some of the other rooms were very bright and roomy, ours was looking into a dingy alleyway, so I suppose your stay will depend on which room you select, because each one is unique. I loved the charming old elevator, but my boyfriend was kind of creeped out by it. It's a nice place if all you want to do is have a central location to sleep in, but other than that it isn't the kind of hotel I'd enjoy just lounging around in, even if it's a historical building! What I'm definitely sure of is that I'm glad we didn't pay full price for our stay, it's waaaay too much! I would recommend it to friends who are interested in historical architecture, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make the best of the location! Take a walk to China Town, which took us dilly dallers around half an hour.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwesterner Chris
Couples
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Jul 30, 2014

Enjoyable vacation stay

Although the Nob Hill Hotel was a bit old-fashioned, our room was bright and charming. The location is ideal. It allows easy access to China Town, the tour-bus stops, and the treasures of Nob Hill itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ladyT408
Couples
san jose
Jul 7, 2014

Not what i expected!!!!!

The rooms didn't look nothing like the pictures that were posted. There was no AC you were actually given a fan . The employee in the front desk was really nice and helped us out but the hotel isn't all that as it said it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39 has an attraction called 7D Experience which was fun and recommend people to check it out!!

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chade
Couples
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2014

Some good and some bad

I booked a room at this hotel for three days after viewing the photographs of the rooms etc on line. It looked somewhat European and different, which I liked. On arriving at the hotel late at night my wife and I were given a room that was no bigger then a cupboard. Certainly not at all good accommodation for two people. The metal bed head and bottom board were broken the wash hand basin was in the bedroom and not in the bathroom, The room paintwork was chipped the bedside chair was broken and disgusting as no one would want to sit on it. We checked the bed linen as I was expecting the worse. As it was late we slept in the room, all night the hot water pipes rattled and kept us awake. In the morning I asked for a room change and got it. Thankfully the room was a whole lot better. I had to pay $30 a day to have the car parked on the last day, Saturday we had to wait over an hour to get the car returned to us. If this is a problem for the hotel as it obviously is, then don't offer the valet service? I would say to anyone booking this hotel before you pay for the hotel room if at all possible view the room first? If anyone had been given the room I had on check-in you would be definitely insulted. I would suggest to the hotel management to get a painter and decorator in as ]the rooms need a huge clean-up. As for the horrible small cupboard rooms...these are for brooms and mops only and should not be used for paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a nice restaurant that is in walking distance from the hotel is a basic must have, No one wants to sit and eat meals in the same hotel restaurant.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marbearta
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

A good value

It's a good value for the money. We even found meter parking outside. You don't have to pay the meters after 6:00pm on a Saturday and until noon on Sunday. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no view though. It's an older hotel with "antique" like decorations so not everything feels brand new. There was a slight air-freshener smell that I didn't care for but a least everything seemed clean. At times we could hear the neighbors through the walls but it wasn't too bad. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs an inexpensive hotel in San Francisco in a decent neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at a great thai restaurant on Polk St. called Chai-Yo.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary Dr
Couples
Florida
Mar 5, 2014

Never again

THE worst I HAVE ever stayed in. IF you book it you will be sorry. Parking is an additional $35.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrjaimes
Couples
Buena Park CA
Jan 23, 2014

Good Value. Wil Stay Again

Good Value for the price. Room slightly small but in good proximity to restaurants and bars. Will Stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ace Bar

Back to menu Return to top