$185 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
175 reviews
Room with a character!

I loved our stay in room 602. Everything was really uniqe about this place. It has it's own charm... See full review

  • Iwona K.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Great little hotel

My sister and I spent the weekend here.The hotel staff are wonderful and the lobby decor is... See full review

  • Amy C.
  • May 26, 2015
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
General

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Location

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Property features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Nearby attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
Transportation

Historic boutique grandeur and antique charm atop Nob Hill

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$141
3.5 / 5 629 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$165
3.5 / 5 131 reviews
★★★
$191
3.5 / 5 139 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews
★★★
$159
4.2 / 5 85 reviews

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 175
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Aunt Diane
Family
N. Carolina
Mar 21, 2014

Nice Victorian atsmophere.

Staff very helpful and cooperative. We enjoyed the room decor. The Valet parking was a real plus, so hassle free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan frequent traveler
Family
Cleveland, OH
Apr 28, 2014

Great location

This hotel was clean, comfortable and historic. It was also small, which made it quiet. If you want to feel as if you are staying in a townhome in Nob Hill this is the place. It is also within walking distance (easy) to shopping at Union Square. Very charming. Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doodle bug
Family
Maricopa AZ
Dec 12, 2011

Four day get away

our antisapation was met when we got out our cab. We checked in and were awed by our room. Quiet no city noise what so ever! Was a little disappointed LOL. Breakfast was light, but that was fine as we were headed to Chinatown for lunch. Not a bad walking distance, I am 72, couch potato and did fine. Sure our next trip to the city will find us at the Nob Hill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maddest
Family
SoCal
May 21, 2012

Clean & Pleasant

The Nob Hill is old but has lots of charm. Rooms are not huge but updated and comfortable. Not far from Union Square, easy to get to from Van Ness (101). Didn't get a chance to try the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel but up the street is the Nob Hill Grill, a very nice find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivier123
Family
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Greate place to stay.

I really like the old fashion stay of the hotel. Really comfortable! And it is near lots of bus stations and carble car station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly Collegiate Mom
Family
Prescott, AZ
Apr 21, 2010

Quiet Elegance

The hotel was beautiful, a lot of work had obviously been put into renovating it. I was amazed at how quiet it was. The staff was friendly and willing to help out any way that they could. The location was ideal, we walked or rode the cable cars everywhere that we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdhow
Family
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 28, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

Good service, clean and well-run small hotel in a very convenient location. Rooms are decorated in faux Victorian style (perhaps a bit over the top for some), but, hay, this is San Francisco! Quiet and peaceful, the only disadvantages of this hotel we experienced are (1) for rooms on the street the sound of ambulance sirens at night from the nearby hospital can be disturbing; (2) the choice of food at breakfast was rather limited. Otherwise, a great experience and great value. [...] the doorman was helpful and charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants a short walk north on Hyde, for something close.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smith lincoln
Family
lincoln
Apr 7, 2010

Great experience. Would stay again

We booked this hotel before having read many of the comments and became a little concerned. But once we reached the hotel we were favorably impressed. We had selected the hotel knowing full well its age and set up so the room sizes and furnishings did not surprise us. We deliberately did not select one of the large, modern, chain hotels. We spent six nights in the garden suite and loved it. The rooms were large enough to accommodate my needs and that of a teenage daughter. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast served each morning was nothing to rave about but it is only billed as a continental breakfast. You got toast and Danish each morning with juice and coffee. Only drawbacks were the parking and area of the hotel. This really is on the very edge of the "rougher" area of San Francisco. We did go out for a walk one evening and got a bit of an education. We did decide from that point on that the car would be valet parked each night and we would drive anywhere that we needed to go. The Bus does stop around the corner from the Hotel so that is an option also. We would stay again without any concerns. Great Value if you go in with the correct expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Golden Gate Bridge. Then cross the highway and drive up the bluffs on the ocean side. There is a whole park setting that we spent an afternoon just walking and hiking in.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superwalker
Family
Mexico, City
Nov 13, 2009

Did a lot of walking, beautiful city to do it. Wished the hotel have restaurant during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take confortable shoes to walk, and an extra scarf and swater for evenings.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franco Family
Family
Palm Desert, CA.
Jul 12, 2011

Great Experience staff was very helpful

Well we had a wonderful stay, the staff was extremly helpful with suggestions on how to get around the city. They suggested we get our MUNI passes. We were all over San Francisco with no problem they called us a cab and made sure we were on time for our Alcatraz Tour. The hotel was very clean. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top