$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Upper Michigan
Jun 23, 2009

Nice

I had a prepaid vacation pkg & when I arrived the hotel didn't have me registered & said they didn't have an account with Orbitz. Also they said I had to pay for the hotel....so it took 2 days to straighten out. I had to call Orbitz & they talked w/ hotel & everything was fine after. The hotel did put a $300 hold on my debit card which put a little damper on spending due to lack of back up funds. The last day it was credited so I was glad to see that...because I wasn't sure exactly what the hotel was really doing. Other than that the stay was nice, my only other complaint would be that 2+ blocks south is addict/homeless central some would wonder up by hotel but were harmless. Do not venture south walking though...it's pretty disturbing to see the despair. The hotel has a nice Italian bistro & the continental breakfast isn't too bad. On Sutter one block down there seems to be some nice breakfast places & Saint Raphaels thrift shop was nice too, all $ goes to homeless. Also Glide Memorial Church is awesome! Best Gospel choir ever they also help all the one's on the street too. You may want to take a taxi there because it's on the edge of Tenderloin also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
superwalker
Business
Mexico, City
Nov 13, 2009

Did a lot of walking, beautiful city to do it. Wished the hotel have restaurant during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take confortable shoes to walk, and an extra scarf and swater for evenings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franco Family
Business
Palm Desert, CA.
Jul 12, 2011

Great Experience staff was very helpful

Well we had a wonderful stay, the staff was extremly helpful with suggestions on how to get around the city. They suggested we get our MUNI passes. We were all over San Francisco with no problem they called us a cab and made sure we were on time for our Alcatraz Tour. The hotel was very clean. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STD
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Oct 22, 2009

Great hotel!

Great location, well-decorated rooms, friendly staff, restaurant part of hotel that is super convenient and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Union Square and other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 10, 2009

European Flavor in San Francisco

Our encountering many European and student guests confirmed for us the European flavor of this quaint hotel. We enjoyed meeting guests at morning coffee, evening wine tasting, and waiting for the old-world style elevator. We didn't mind our small room since we spent almost no time there. Who would linger in a hotel room in fantastic San Francisco, particularly when the California Cable Car Line is only 2 blocks away on level easily walked streets. The hotel restaurant will not disappoint you either; an intimate personal atmosphere, wide choice of very well prepared food, and personally friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the Cable Cars during the week because the weekend lines for getting back on Cable Cars can be daunting. Also think about buying a three day pass for $18 rather than buying one-day passes for $11 each. You can get almost anywhere in NE San Fran via Cable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 19, 2010

Good Value Hotel

The hotel was small and noisy outside, but great value @ $68 for a Saturday night. The staff was very helpful - they allowed us to leave our bags there after we checked out so we could roam the city. They even provided shuttle service to the airport for $16/person. The location is great as it's only a couple blocks away from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a medium walk - a few blocks away, but check out the areas around the bar Swig. The bar itself is pretty cool - good crowd and music, but there were other lounges around the area I wish I would've checked out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ps
Business
Portland oregon
Jun 13, 2010

comfortable and clean

We were at a conference that served breakfast so the morning breakfast was not helpful. The staff was great. Very helpful I did not receive the morning paper as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maequeen
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jun 14, 2010

Honeymoon

We had a great time.We were allowed to check in early at no additional cost. We were able to leave our bags there until our airport pickup on our return flight. The staff were great about recomending resturants that locals knew about and places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Sigaon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former San Fran Resident
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 21, 2010

Great value!!

I was in a decent part of town walking distance to lots of stuff. For the price we paid, the hotel was most excellent. yes the room was tiny, but it still was bursting with amenities (fridge, hair dryer, fan, etc). For the budget traveller who basically spends only time sleeping in the room, it was perfect (especially since the last time we got a good deal at a SF hotel the bathrooms were communal.) the wine hour was a really nice perk. And if you are into the whole victorian thing you'll really like it. Thanks Nob Hill Hotel for allowing poor folk like me have a great time in the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver
Aug 3, 2011

Good!

Got there really early (8am) and couldn't check-in. Got upgraded free to rooftop penthouse. Weren't actually able to check-in until 4pm (instead of 3pm). Clean and quiet, easy walking to transit. Free coffee and wine every evening (!!). Slowish elevator- but really cool. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Henry's Italian. Reasonable prices, NOT fancy, but HUGE portions, delish and fast! Post/ Larkin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top