$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdhow
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 28, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

Good service, clean and well-run small hotel in a very convenient location. Rooms are decorated in faux Victorian style (perhaps a bit over the top for some), but, hay, this is San Francisco! Quiet and peaceful, the only disadvantages of this hotel we experienced are (1) for rooms on the street the sound of ambulance sirens at night from the nearby hospital can be disturbing; (2) the choice of food at breakfast was rather limited. Otherwise, a great experience and great value. [...] the doorman was helpful and charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants a short walk north on Hyde, for something close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 28, 2010

Great Stay!

When we checked in, we were immediately charmed by this hotel. The staff is friendly and sincere. We went up to our room to find it perfectly tiny. We didn't need a big room (because we planned to spend just our sleeping hours there). We thought the elevator was a crack-up and transported us back to an era neither of us had ever been. The free wine for happy hour is awesome as well. Just between you and me... they don't count the glasses you have. I was there for my 30th birthday with my boyfriend, and we simply wrecked S.F. We did it all. And we loved coming home to our hotel. We stayed a total of 5 nights, and were upgraded to a huge suite our last two night free of charge. We didn't even have to ask. We loved this hotel, and would absolutely return! Stephanie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wondergirl
Business
Pismo Beach, ca
Apr 29, 2010

Great price for a nice hotel

Very nice clean and quiet room for the price. A real gem for the price in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 21, 2009

Charming

This is a charming hotel. The rooms were clean and the decorations throughout from a by-gone era. Lots of European travelers, and so it was fun socializing with them during the evening free wine event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday weekender
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Great!

The Hotel was very interesting! But it was clean and it was an adventure. My husband and I had tons of fun while we were there. The rooms were small but the location was next to all the major transit systems so it was easy to get around. It was loud cause it is an old building and the windows are old but it was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just get a MUNI pass at the airport when you arrive and you can ride all the trains, busses, and trollies you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sebastopol, ca
Apr 30, 2011

Great trip

This is now the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The entire staff is very nice and accomidating. [...] was really sweet. He carried my bags for me to my room. When we got to the room, it was not quite ready. He proptly went back down stairs and got me a new room. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parkin is only $35 a nite. To not have to try to repark in the city or try to deal with parkin meters, it is money well spent. Plus if the weather is nice it is great walk to food and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marbearta
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 12, 2014

A good value

It's a good value for the money. We even found meter parking outside. You don't have to pay the meters after 6:00pm on a Saturday and until noon on Sunday. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was no view though. It's an older hotel with "antique" like decorations so not everything feels brand new. There was a slight air-freshener smell that I didn't care for but a least everything seemed clean. At times we could hear the neighbors through the walls but it wasn't too bad. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who needs an inexpensive hotel in San Francisco in a decent neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had dinner at a great thai restaurant on Polk St. called Chai-Yo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel R.
Business
Fresno, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Good deal for the money

This hotel was unbelievably priced for San Francisco on a weekend in spring. The room was very small and over furnished but it was clean and opulently decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful and concerned. My only disappointment was the continental breakfast was just a choice of juice or coffee with toast and some pastries. Otherwise it was very nice and close enough to walk to Japan Town every night for dinner. I would definitely stay there again if not for my desire to explore other parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate in Japan Town every night. Meals there are $7-$10 per person and very filing and satisfying. It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Very worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smith lincoln
Business
lincoln
Apr 7, 2010

Great experience. Would stay again

We booked this hotel before having read many of the comments and became a little concerned. But once we reached the hotel we were favorably impressed. We had selected the hotel knowing full well its age and set up so the room sizes and furnishings did not surprise us. We deliberately did not select one of the large, modern, chain hotels. We spent six nights in the garden suite and loved it. The rooms were large enough to accommodate my needs and that of a teenage daughter. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast served each morning was nothing to rave about but it is only billed as a continental breakfast. You got toast and Danish each morning with juice and coffee. Only drawbacks were the parking and area of the hotel. This really is on the very edge of the "rougher" area of San Francisco. We did go out for a walk one evening and got a bit of an education. We did decide from that point on that the car would be valet parked each night and we would drive anywhere that we needed to go. The Bus does stop around the corner from the Hotel so that is an option also. We would stay again without any concerns. Great Value if you go in with the correct expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the Golden Gate Bridge. Then cross the highway and drive up the bluffs on the ocean side. There is a whole park setting that we spent an afternoon just walking and hiking in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
antocarlo
Business
Cambria, CA
Apr 22, 2010

excellent

The hotel is a little gem. Rooms are wel designed in a 1906 style, beautifully clean and full of old world charm. Mattress was good, pillows great and it was a comfortable overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location was central enough to the places I needed to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top