$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NobHillLovah
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jan 25, 2011

Most adorable Hotel Ever

This is the second year we've spent our san francisco vacation @ the Nob Hill Hotel and we can't wait to book for next year. Every year we're more pleased with the room we receive. We were thrilled to take advantage of the continental breakfast every morning and complimentary wine and cheese every evening. The staff is very accommodating with upgrades if the rooms are available, and encourage you to inquire as such. The hotel is centrally located and allows us to walk EVERYWHERE in the city. Definitely the perfect getaway for someone who can appreciate a quaint, antiquey hotel with precious little one-of-a-kind details found in every corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway Fanatic
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 19, 2009

Good times at Nob Hill Hotel

Nob Hill Hotel is a great place to stay. Close to everything, safe, staff is friendly and helpful. The room was cute, the amenities great and the atmosphere wonderful. The only think I would change would be the free "continental" breakfast, it was more like danishes and bagels, not even cereal or fruit! I would definitely go back though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buslines are close, as well as the cable car lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C. Smith
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 23, 2010

Great value, super staff, and historic

The (day/evening) desk staff were very knowledgable and helpful with directions, suggestions for meals and transit routes, and they gave us a very helpful map with bus routes. We were able to safely store our baggage hours before check in and hours after check out which really helped us. The staff was polite. The hotel atmoshpere was charming, clean, and within walking distances to attractions. Our room was not cleaned the first night but the manager quickly corrected that issue and no problems after that. Wine tasting in the eveing was a special treat too. Breakfast was so-so. Lots of small ethnic restaurants everywhere within walking distance. This was a good value for the dollar and I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GVB Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2014

Charming and Convenient

Centrally located, easy to get around from. The rooms are comfortable, clean. the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. The hotel is a typical San Francisco hotel, with charming decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nv
Apr 13, 2010

great for price

I would go again but small rooms two people could not walk around at same time. Only outlet was in bathroom. very clean great location and great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, TX
Oct 26, 2010

unique place for couples getaway

We really enjoyed this hotel. Its great for a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tour San Fran. Get a hop on hop off pass for a tourist bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan81
Business
Prague, Czech Republic
Nov 5, 2010

Very pleasant stay

Hotel was close to the center, i got everywhere by walking during my 3 days. Personal very welcoming, willing to respond all my questions. Room was quite small but nice furnished and comfortable, calm. The only thing i would mention as negative, was the breakfast.. For europeans too poor choice. But i would surely return back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel Ramos
Business
Fresno, CA
Apr 7, 2011

Charming but small

We chose to stay at this hotel for our weekend getaway because of the price, I couldn't believe SF could be so affordable and it gave us more of our budget to spend on fun. I counted the charming Victorian decor as a plus. My first impression of the room was how small it was. Though all the furniture was charming and antique looking, there was far too much of it for the size of the room. I was disappointed to find our view was of a closed off court yard but I adapt easily. We were there in April so the weather was nice and we didn't really need the in room air conditioner but we used it after a full day of walking just to indulge. The bathroom was huge and very clean, just odd that there was a floor length window right next to the toilet that obviously could never have the curtains open. The best part of the room was the insanely comfortable mattress, which did admittedly take up most of the room. The location was really wonderful, we walked to Japan Town for dinner every night. For our trip to Pier 39 we took a cab and the staff was very helpful in calling them for us. The company they called also sent a very nice, cautious driver, a luxury we did not have on the cab ride back. Overall the staff was very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed our evening wine and morning pastries with coffee. I've had better hotel breakfasts but not at that amazing price. The rest of the hotel was a little dated, I kind of felt like I was staying in my grandmother's house but much richer. To their credit, it appeared the staff spent more time cleaning the rooms than the hallways and that was alright with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk away is Japan Town. If you eat at the right place you could have dinner for 2 for less than $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birdhow
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 28, 2010

Enjoyable Stay

Good service, clean and well-run small hotel in a very convenient location. Rooms are decorated in faux Victorian style (perhaps a bit over the top for some), but, hay, this is San Francisco! Quiet and peaceful, the only disadvantages of this hotel we experienced are (1) for rooms on the street the sound of ambulance sirens at night from the nearby hospital can be disturbing; (2) the choice of food at breakfast was rather limited. Otherwise, a great experience and great value. [...] the doorman was helpful and charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants a short walk north on Hyde, for something close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 28, 2010

Great Stay!

When we checked in, we were immediately charmed by this hotel. The staff is friendly and sincere. We went up to our room to find it perfectly tiny. We didn't need a big room (because we planned to spend just our sleeping hours there). We thought the elevator was a crack-up and transported us back to an era neither of us had ever been. The free wine for happy hour is awesome as well. Just between you and me... they don't count the glasses you have. I was there for my 30th birthday with my boyfriend, and we simply wrecked S.F. We did it all. And we loved coming home to our hotel. We stayed a total of 5 nights, and were upgraded to a huge suite our last two night free of charge. We didn't even have to ask. We loved this hotel, and would absolutely return! Stephanie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top