$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sebastopol, ca
Apr 30, 2011

Great trip

This is now the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The entire staff is very nice and accomidating. [...] was really sweet. He carried my bags for me to my room. When we got to the room, it was not quite ready. He proptly went back down stairs and got me a new room. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parkin is only $35 a nite. To not have to try to repark in the city or try to deal with parkin meters, it is money well spent. Plus if the weather is nice it is great walk to food and shopping.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franco Family
Palm Desert, CA.
Jul 12, 2011

Great Experience staff was very helpful

Well we had a wonderful stay, the staff was extremly helpful with suggestions on how to get around the city. They suggested we get our MUNI passes. We were all over San Francisco with no problem they called us a cab and made sure we were on time for our Alcatraz Tour. The hotel was very clean. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel R.
Fresno, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Good deal for the money

This hotel was unbelievably priced for San Francisco on a weekend in spring. The room was very small and over furnished but it was clean and opulently decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful and concerned. My only disappointment was the continental breakfast was just a choice of juice or coffee with toast and some pastries. Otherwise it was very nice and close enough to walk to Japan Town every night for dinner. I would definitely stay there again if not for my desire to explore other parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate in Japan Town every night. Meals there are $7-$10 per person and very filing and satisfying. It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Very worth it.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zselic
Fort Myers, Florida
May 25, 2012

Good Location, bit pricey

It is a decent hotel in a nice neighbourhood. The only problem is with the parking, the hotel doesnt have it's own place, and the 36$ valet doesnt worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STD
Palo Alto, CA
Oct 22, 2009

Great hotel!

Great location, well-decorated rooms, friendly staff, restaurant part of hotel that is super convenient and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Union Square and other attractions.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
louast
San Diego, CA
Oct 31, 2013

Comfy but noisy if you get a room in the front of the building.

As a female costumer, first time in San Francisco, I felt safe and in a good location. The staff is helpful and kind. I couldn't check in until 3pm but I left my luggage and go for a city-tour. If you have a restricted diet and have meals with you, no worries, they will storage your meals in their fridge until you check-in. The Hotel is really close to the Union Square, and from there you can walk on Market Street towards the Ferry Building and try the best oysters ever at Hog Island Oyster! Next time in this wonderful city, I will stay in the same hotel but in the back side of the building. The decoration is something to consider if you prefer something more sterile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Golden Gate Park. It's 45min by bus from the Hotel, but once you're there you spend the whole day with lots of activities and leisure. It's such a wonderful place to visit. De Young Museum have sublime expositions and a breathtaking view from its tower, where you will also find gorgeous souvenirs. The California Academy of Sciences is a must go! It's magnificent. And, of course, don't loose the Conservatory of Flowers.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver
Aug 3, 2011

Good!

Got there really early (8am) and couldn't check-in. Got upgraded free to rooftop penthouse. Weren't actually able to check-in until 4pm (instead of 3pm). Clean and quiet, easy walking to transit. Free coffee and wine every evening (!!). Slowish elevator- but really cool. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Henry's Italian. Reasonable prices, NOT fancy, but HUGE portions, delish and fast! Post/ Larkin

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All that
Business
Reno Nevada
Mar 5, 2014

Short stay

We arrived at 1 am. The staff was very nice Rooms small and cozy. Very good place to stay. I will Be staying there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lots of shopping

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ps
Business
Portland oregon
Jun 13, 2010

comfortable and clean

We were at a conference that served breakfast so the morning breakfast was not helpful. The staff was great. Very helpful I did not receive the morning paper as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sebastopol, ca
Apr 30, 2011

Great trip

This is now the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The entire staff is very nice and accomidating. [...] was really sweet. He carried my bags for me to my room. When we got to the room, it was not quite ready. He proptly went back down stairs and got me a new room. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parkin is only $35 a nite. To not have to try to repark in the city or try to deal with parkin meters, it is money well spent. Plus if the weather is nice it is great walk to food and shopping.

Back to menu Return to top