$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Waldo
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 22, 2012

Economical and decent accommodations

very reasonably priced with continental breakfast and free glass of wine at happy hour - room was very tight - not enough room to work on a computer despite free wi-fi. work out room is stuffy but okay. lovely location with nice views. staff were pleasant and it seemed to be a hit with foreign tourists. was just what I wanted for a business trip except for the tight room. but i was able to work in the breakfast room with wi-fi thoughout the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uncle Vito's pizza 4 blocks away on Powell just downhill from Pine is killer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigIndy
Business
Punta Gorda, Florida
Jun 23, 2012

Good Location

This place is just 2 blocks downhill from one of the cable car routes.We were in room 207, which faces an interior air shaft open area. Lots of light, big old fashioned desk and new flat screen TV. Decorations are all Victorian, but some are really falling apart. Bed and bathroom both clean and fresh. Simple continental breakfast and very minimal wine hour at night ( jug Merlot and a pink wine!) Lots of local eateries on Sutter and on Post nearby, as well as a Walgreen's and small grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Local grocery store sold us a $14 day pass for ALL transportation except BART. With single rides on the cable car now $6 pp, this was worthwhile. Use on buses, trams, Muni as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Waldo
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 22, 2012

nice for quick business trip

great value - room was a bit tight for workign - but wi-fi throughout the building so you can find a more comfortable place to work; very clean, staff friendly, nice location - great exercise walking hills around the hotel if you are into that - I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

R &G Lounge on Kearny street is the bomb - order their house special crab - best in the country in my book!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The new HFH
Business
Fresno,ca
Feb 18, 2013

Great experience , second time!!!

Great experience , second time!!! With my family, great location , great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil McCrevis
Business
Philadelphia PA
Mar 31, 2013

Small, affordable, convenient

It's a small hotel; the rooms are tiny and a bit dated. My room was clean, the bed was nice, and the staff were all very helpful. A nice cheap option in Nob Hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRG Traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 6, 2013

Over the top decorations, but good value.

While the neon sign outside and the old school elevator put me off initially, I found the room to be clean, comfortable and quiet. Considering the price, the Nob Hill Hotel offers a good value proposition for travelers on a budget wishing to stay in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Special Tech
Business
San Francisco
May 1, 2013

Never been to an all friendly staffed hotel, wow!

I reserved a room for some friends from out of town and I did everything but stay in the hotel. I was waiting for my friends to come down from their room for breakfast and I was able to sort of just observer the lobby and happenings and I have to say the staff is really great at accommodating travelers. Any issue that needed attention they were able to help with. Directions, arriving too early, getting a cab, etc. They also have some cool furniture in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toropok
Business
Alexandria, Virginia
May 5, 2013

Good place

Quite nice place to stay. Amazing Italian Bistro in the lobby. Helpful staff. Clean room, but no A/C at least at mine. The only concern I had was the window view and rug in corridors (it's too old). I do recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SanJoaq
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
May 4, 2013

First time in San Fran

Beautifully decorated, lavish and plush interior. Room 101 on the first floor is a phenomenal suite, and for the price I was blown away at the amenities provided in the room and around the hotel. Location couldn't have been any better, within walking distance to great places and great transit options. Highly recommended. Diego at the front desk was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk street just a few blocks north of the hotel location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SonomaWine
Business
Sonoma, CA
Oct 24, 2013

Great Stay!

I often stay in SF, and mainly at the large chain hotels. Due to the city being jammed full, I opted to say at the Nob Hill Hotel. I got a great rate, the room was quiet, and the staff extremely friendly. Sure the rooms are not to my taste, and the bathrooms need a bit of a rework, but everything was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top