$205 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnabell1
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2009

Enjoyed my stay

No free newspaper as stated above, it would have been handy to read. Walking distance to buses, or you could walk if you're younger than me. The blocks are twice as long as my home town's, so $2 bus rides were a necessity, but they ran often & late at night & the transfers were usually for several hours. Near downtown. 2 grocery stores nearby to keep soft drinks & snacks (had frig & microwave in my room). The Italian restaurant attached, Columbini, was fabulous, ate there 3 nights in a row, some of the best pasta I've ever had. The cont. breakfast (held in the restaurant) had cereal only once during the 4 mornings I ate there, but plenty of toast, bagels & pastries, milk, OJ, coffee. Front desk person on my 1st day gave me incorrect directions to the Walt Disney Family Museum (there's a Montgomery St downtown, as well as in the Presidio, where the museum is), but thanks to a friendly bus driver I managed to get there on time anyway. Room & decor is bordering on the cheesey, but I thought it was nice they tried & at least it wasn't boring! Very clean room. TV only had about a dozen channels, including HBO at least, so I saw a film I'd missed one night. If I get to return to SF, will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You really need to take buses in huge downtown area to give you the time to look at all the shops, restaurants, etc. Only $2 w/transfer for at least 2 hrs, usually more (they may give more time on weekdays presuming you are going to work). I checked the map & walked over 80 blocks my 2nd day, so it was buses after that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach woman.
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Nov 23, 2009

Loved room, lobby wine and restaurant.

Could walk out the door and head into any direction and have fun, great restaurant at the hotel and the morning breakfast gave you time to great others from all over the world, same with the lobby wine time, cable car up the street, food stores and great restaurants all with in warking distance. We did all things visitors do.Cable car, China town Top of the mark, Pear 39, No 9 fishermens wharf.Coit tower,Macys and as many Irish pubs as we could fit in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lefty odouls for pub food, Jass club one block down from hotel.Restaurant one block up the street, large food store also one block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doodle bug
Business
Maricopa AZ
Dec 12, 2011

Four day get away

our antisapation was met when we got out our cab. We checked in and were awed by our room. Quiet no city noise what so ever! Was a little disappointed LOL. Breakfast was light, but that was fine as we were headed to Chinatown for lunch. Not a bad walking distance, I am 72, couch potato and did fine. Sure our next trip to the city will find us at the Nob Hill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rendar
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Weekend Trip to San Francisco

The staff was very pleasant and friendly. The room decor was like you stepped back in time. It was very comfortable and met our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to some very nice shopping and the Bart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
floe
Business
-
Mar 5, 2012

beautiful victorian-style hotel

Rooms are a little small, but beautifully styled. 79 per night is a pretty good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray ray222
Business
San fran
Apr 22, 2012

Great atmosphere! Beautiful rooms! Small but great for the city! Price is right! I

Excellent!! I will stay here any time I'm in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maddest
Business
SoCal
May 21, 2012

Clean & Pleasant

The Nob Hill is old but has lots of charm. Rooms are not huge but updated and comfortable. Not far from Union Square, easy to get to from Van Ness (101). Didn't get a chance to try the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel but up the street is the Nob Hill Grill, a very nice find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zselic
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
May 25, 2012

Good Location, bit pricey

It is a decent hotel in a nice neighbourhood. The only problem is with the parking, the hotel doesnt have it's own place, and the 36$ valet doesnt worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staying the night
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 5, 2012

Good value

The room had everything you would expect from an older place. The room was a little small but it did have the charm of a small non-chain hotel. It's a good place to stay for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Money
Business
Davis, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Nice :)

Overall; nice. The hotel is old but I never got a strange sense of "jank". Would definitely return. Love the decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top