$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NobHillLovah
Long Beach, CA
Jan 25, 2011

Most adorable Hotel Ever

This is the second year we've spent our san francisco vacation @ the Nob Hill Hotel and we can't wait to book for next year. Every year we're more pleased with the room we receive. We were thrilled to take advantage of the continental breakfast every morning and complimentary wine and cheese every evening. The staff is very accommodating with upgrades if the rooms are available, and encourage you to inquire as such. The hotel is centrally located and allows us to walk EVERYWHERE in the city. Definitely the perfect getaway for someone who can appreciate a quaint, antiquey hotel with precious little one-of-a-kind details found in every corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laywer in San Fran
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 20, 2009

Good for what it is.

The hotel is good for what it is -a small hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. Everything was adequate and the price was great. But the victorian hook is hardly anything to brag about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa City
Jul 5, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

lack of ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TPA
Yardley, PA
Nov 30, 2009

San Francisco Thanksgiving Visit 2009

The front desk staff were very nice and helpful - especially [...]. Nice location within walking distance of alot of sights. The rooms were small but enjoyable and comfortable. The interior is in need of some cosmetic maintenance. No fan in the bathroom resulted in some humidity after showering. Windows can be opened but do not lock in place - watch your fingers! The continental breakfast was good (coffee, juice, milk, cereal, danish, bagels and bread) with a small variation each day. Location was small dining room (capacity of 20?) that offers what seems to be a very nice lunch and dinner menu. Small lobby with extremely limited lounge area. Did not patrtake in the nightly wine tasting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sojourning Scholar
Davis, CA
Jun 18, 2013

Quirky, fun, (awkward) trip...

Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and think that three stars is about right and a good bargain at the price. The hotel is an older "boutique" style hotel in a pretty good central location--though we like to walk. We were there for a quick weekend getaway and walked all over the city. Arriving too early to check in, the front desk staff was kind and accommodating and let us leave our bags and arrange valet parking. When we arrived back after a long day of walking, the front desk staff had changed and was a bit more (vocally) disgruntled. Check-in took a while, but there was complimentary wine in the lobby while we waited. When they found what they thought was our room, our kindly bellhop took our bags upstairs for us while we used the old lift. When we opened the door to our room, however, there were clothes and luggage scattered throughout the room. Clearly, it was already occupied, so we waited while the bellhop called the front desk (from the occupied room!!!) and then went back downstairs to enjoy more complimentary wine while they found our actual room. We understand these things happen, and had a good laugh about it later, but might not have had the room's occupants been in there at the time. So, as I started this long review, it's a nice hotel, especially at the price, but comes with some quirks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa City
Jul 5, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

lack of ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
East Coast
Oct 6, 2009

NO ROOM AT THE INN

I arrived in San Francisco at 11pm did not get to the Nob Hill Hotel until 12 midnite, and was told that they had no record of my booking. Instead of immediately finding me a room I was asked to wait until 1 30am to see if another guest was going to arrive, if Not I could have that room. Mind you I am from the east coast so to me this is like 3am. I had to walk the streets of SF till 1 am and was told at that time, I could have the room, so I go up to the room, then get a call immediately, that the guest arrived and I will have to go to their sister hotel. So the hotel did pay for my cab fare which was nice but was shipped to a very small room at their sister hotel. The best thing about this hotel was the location which was better for me. The initial room for the first nite was like a closet, but I was then moved to a bigger room, which was clean and on a busy steet so noise level was loud at times. They did offer breakfast which was nice, however, the room where we ate was often full of fruit flies all over the food not a pleasant thing to see. The health facility offer is non existent, so not sure why that is even mentioned in their ad.. Other than these concerns the trip was nice, and the hotel was fine considering the evening I arrived, the rooms were cleaned everyday, and I did like the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDB
Indianapolis
Sep 29, 2010

NOB HILL HOTEL

The hotel had a great location and it was easy to get around SF using the MUNI. The neighborhood south of the hotel was a little rough, but not dangerous, and the staff were extremely helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you buy a citypass or muni pass, you can ride public transit at no additional cost, and get pretty much anywhere in the city.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF visit
California
Jul 21, 2012

Hotel pleasant but reservation details not honored.

Hotel is pleasant, with helpful staff, and met expectations relative to price paid. Main annoyance was that my reservation specified two doubles and when we arrived (on time) none were available so I had to share a bed with my daughter. Contacting the Hotel booking agency to sort this was difficult with low cell battery and no computer so I was not happy with this side of things. I would stay at the hotel again, but not sure that I would use the Orb hotel booking agency another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dbob
Chico, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great

The Nob Hill Hotel was like taking a step back in time. We truly appreciated the nostalgia and ate breakfast at Dotties down the street and it was delicious! The staff was very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dotties is amazing! Food was worth the wait!

Back to menu Return to top