$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vette Mac
Couples
Clovis California
Feb 19, 2013

NoB Hill

Good Location nice staff. Breakfast could have been more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to locate a local parking garage. Charges to park at the hotel high

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom4Bev
Business
Tousand Oaks, CA
Feb 28, 2013

Quaint

As a business traveler, I look for a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price... and that's what they delivered. Room (single) was a bit small, but for the price, it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sodium Benzoate
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2013

Perfectly fine

Good for what I was looking for -- no frills, good location. It's old and charming. Not as up to date as a chain hotel, but everything was clean and the staff were efficient and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachiebabyy
Couples
Lodi, California
Apr 13, 2013

Good for a one night stay

Room was small but perfect because we were only there for a night. They have parking but its $44 a night! We found a parking garage a block away and paid $20. Only 10 minute walk to union square.. About 20 to the wharf. Overall a good experience. It has a nice atmosphere that takes you back to 1920s. We got a good deal too so if it presents itself again we will definitely use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EasyTrav3ler
Family
Seattle, WA
Apr 19, 2013

Convenient Location

We enjoyed our stay at the Nob Hill Hotel and especially the ease in walking around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RGBG
Couples
Ojai, CA
Apr 20, 2013

Lay Over

We had a need to lay over in San Francisco for the night. This is a clean, convenient and reasonably priced hotel. Nice restaurant on site. Only drawback is that the rooms are claustrophobic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sojourning Scholar
Couples
Davis, CA
Jun 18, 2013

Quirky, fun, (awkward) trip...

Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and think that three stars is about right and a good bargain at the price. The hotel is an older "boutique" style hotel in a pretty good central location--though we like to walk. We were there for a quick weekend getaway and walked all over the city. Arriving too early to check in, the front desk staff was kind and accommodating and let us leave our bags and arrange valet parking. When we arrived back after a long day of walking, the front desk staff had changed and was a bit more (vocally) disgruntled. Check-in took a while, but there was complimentary wine in the lobby while we waited. When they found what they thought was our room, our kindly bellhop took our bags upstairs for us while we used the old lift. When we opened the door to our room, however, there were clothes and luggage scattered throughout the room. Clearly, it was already occupied, so we waited while the bellhop called the front desk (from the occupied room!!!) and then went back downstairs to enjoy more complimentary wine while they found our actual room. We understand these things happen, and had a good laugh about it later, but might not have had the room's occupants been in there at the time. So, as I started this long review, it's a nice hotel, especially at the price, but comes with some quirks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sngltravlr
Single
seattle
Jun 10, 2013

OK...satisfactory...adequate.

Pleasant staff...good location...simple but adequate. Clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
King George
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jun 5, 2013

Good Value

This quiant hotel is located close to the cable car lines as well as good breakfast spots. The staff was helpful and polite. Luckily the weather was good as we had to use fresh air to cool our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The three day muny pass alllows you to get on and off the cable cars and buses as much as you like.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pauly H
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 18, 2013

Nice place and cool fire escape

This was a good place to stay and nearby to my friends in Russian Hill. The room was pretty small but worked well for me. The walls were a bit thin though so you could hear muffled conversations and laughter from other guests. Overall it was a solid stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top