$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Money
Davis, CA
Jul 2, 2012

Nice :)

Overall; nice. The hotel is old but I never got a strange sense of "jank". Would definitely return. Love the decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful restaurant in the hotel.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
nv
Apr 13, 2010

great for price

I would go again but small rooms two people could not walk around at same time. Only outlet was in bathroom. very clean great location and great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
doodle bug
Maricopa AZ
Dec 12, 2011

Four day get away

our antisapation was met when we got out our cab. We checked in and were awed by our room. Quiet no city noise what so ever! Was a little disappointed LOL. Breakfast was light, but that was fine as we were headed to Chinatown for lunch. Not a bad walking distance, I am 72, couch potato and did fine. Sure our next trip to the city will find us at the Nob Hill hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday weekender
San Diego, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Great!

The Hotel was very interesting! But it was clean and it was an adventure. My husband and I had tons of fun while we were there. The rooms were small but the location was next to all the major transit systems so it was easy to get around. It was loud cause it is an old building and the windows are old but it was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just get a MUNI pass at the airport when you arrive and you can ride all the trains, busses, and trollies you want.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roanoke, TX
Oct 26, 2010

unique place for couples getaway

We really enjoyed this hotel. Its great for a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tour San Fran. Get a hop on hop off pass for a tourist bus.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donnabell1
Portland, OR
Oct 3, 2009

Enjoyed my stay

No free newspaper as stated above, it would have been handy to read. Walking distance to buses, or you could walk if you're younger than me. The blocks are twice as long as my home town's, so $2 bus rides were a necessity, but they ran often & late at night & the transfers were usually for several hours. Near downtown. 2 grocery stores nearby to keep soft drinks & snacks (had frig & microwave in my room). The Italian restaurant attached, Columbini, was fabulous, ate there 3 nights in a row, some of the best pasta I've ever had. The cont. breakfast (held in the restaurant) had cereal only once during the 4 mornings I ate there, but plenty of toast, bagels & pastries, milk, OJ, coffee. Front desk person on my 1st day gave me incorrect directions to the Walt Disney Family Museum (there's a Montgomery St downtown, as well as in the Presidio, where the museum is), but thanks to a friendly bus driver I managed to get there on time anyway. Room & decor is bordering on the cheesey, but I thought it was nice they tried & at least it wasn't boring! Very clean room. TV only had about a dozen channels, including HBO at least, so I saw a film I'd missed one night. If I get to return to SF, will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You really need to take buses in huge downtown area to give you the time to look at all the shops, restaurants, etc. Only $2 w/transfer for at least 2 hrs, usually more (they may give more time on weekdays presuming you are going to work). I checked the map & walked over 80 blocks my 2nd day, so it was buses after that!

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roanoke, TX
Oct 26, 2010

unique place for couples getaway

We really enjoyed this hotel. Its great for a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tour San Fran. Get a hop on hop off pass for a tourist bus.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassonandesty
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2012

a nice hotel with a Parisian chic

Nice atmosphere. Art deco design. Very unique - certainly not the chain feeling. Room was tiny but stylish. If you like spacious chain-like hotels - this is not the place for you. If you like a European feel that would add to your overall SF experience - this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rachel R.
Fresno, CA
Apr 25, 2010

Good deal for the money

This hotel was unbelievably priced for San Francisco on a weekend in spring. The room was very small and over furnished but it was clean and opulently decorated. The front desk staff was very helpful and concerned. My only disappointment was the continental breakfast was just a choice of juice or coffee with toast and some pastries. Otherwise it was very nice and close enough to walk to Japan Town every night for dinner. I would definitely stay there again if not for my desire to explore other parts of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate in Japan Town every night. Meals there are $7-$10 per person and very filing and satisfying. It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Very worth it.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan81
Prague, Czech Republic
Nov 5, 2010

Very pleasant stay

Hotel was close to the center, i got everywhere by walking during my 3 days. Personal very welcoming, willing to respond all my questions. Room was quite small but nice furnished and comfortable, calm. The only thing i would mention as negative, was the breakfast.. For europeans too poor choice. But i would surely return back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top