$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
172 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FS
Business
Oregon
Nov 11, 2009

Nothing but Horrible

It was a horrible experience. The sink was clogged. Worst hotel I have ever stayed. No air ventilation. Extremely small room. No extra power outlets. I have long hair and the hair dryer in the room was totally lousy, did not work properly and switching on the hair dryer would dim the lights (power fluctuation). We felt miserable to return to the room at night to get sleep. The European look is hardly worth mentioning. You can get better option for the same price. Long walk to the closest cable car station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot of fun stuff to do at Fisherman's Wharf....Ripley's Believe It or Not, Wax Museum, Ghiradelli Square, Live bread making at the Bakery opp. to the Wax Museum...good places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnf
Business
birmingham
Aug 30, 2010

please please dont book with this hotel

we booked and payed for this hotel months before traveling when we got to the they had no record of the booking. i was told by another guest that the hotel will try to sell you room for a higher price even if you have booked leaving you high and dry the other side of the world, please please dont risk it, [...] not muck help had to make our own arrangments for a hotel still waiting for a phone call from them!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tlsw
Business
Sarasota, FL
Oct 14, 2010

Poor accomadations, small and not clean

Staff friendly, hotel old and unclean. Good restaurant attached.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book tours through Tower Tours - excellent, always on time and pickup/drop at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony the Jerome
Business
Salinas, California
Jul 4, 2012

Haunted Hotel

The photos were nothing like the real thing and it was really small. The price was not worth it and I literally just checked in took a shower and checked out. You are better staying at a Motel 6

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not Worth It

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nanus
Business
Virginia
Jul 18, 2012

Upscale wanna be

Didn't have the room I had a guaranteed reservation for. Three adults had to sleep in a King bed, instead of the 2 doubles we requested. The room was not cleaned the second day. Only two towels for three people. No parking for hotel patrons unless you did valet parking at $36.00 per night. I found $20.00 parking two blocks away, which the desk clerk had no idea existed, which I find hard to believe. Breakfast was very minimal at best. I am traveling cross country with my sisters. Out of 6 hotels, this is by far our least favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a happy camper YUK
Business
Washington DC
Jun 8, 2012

ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING & UNSAFE

NO WAY THIS IS A 3 STAR PROPERTY. LITERALLY HAD DEALERS AND HOOKERS DOWN THE BLOCK AND ACROSS THE STREET!! ROOMS WERE DIRTY, SHEETS STAINED FURNITURE FILTHY. STAFF WAS OK IN THAT THEY DID NOT CHARGE FOR THE VALET WHEN WE ASKED FOR OUR CAR BACK AND FULLY UNDERSTOOD WHY WE WERE LEAVING. YUK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 31, 2012

The picture looks good, but

The htl in the picture looks good, good location, but has a ugly smell and it is dirty, also it is ver very noisy. how ever the personel were very nice when i asked for a refund that I appreciated they didnt give me a hard time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathy Roddy
Business
Lakewood, Calif
Dec 22, 2012

Very Disappointed

The hotel seemed nice when we first stepped into the lobby but once we got into our room, we very disappointed & shocked actually. The carpet was very dirty as well as the bedspread, in fact, we had to insist that our bedspread be changed. The wallpaper in the room & the bathroom was very warn & peeling off the walls. The hotel needs a lot of work! Its not in a very good part of town either but it was close to Union Square which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

We found that we could walk to Fisherman's Wharf without going up any hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kitty and Gentleman
Business
Vancouver
Apr 18, 2013

ceiling is leaking when people upstair using washroom!!

When check in the hotel, already listening the current guest argued the bad room condition with counter staff. The room I stayed in, water is keep dripping from ceiling when people upstairs using the washroom. One young counter staff is very not nice, there is a senior staff talk much nicer. Won't stay here any more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deelpy disappointed
Business
San Fransico
Apr 29, 2013

Don't be fooled

One of the worst possible experience. Rooms are so small you could barely move. Not enough light to shave or put make up Very poor service. Dirty floors. No air circulation in the room. moldy smell. More like a haunted house than a Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

stay away from this one

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top