$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
227 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FS
Oregon
Nov 11, 2009

Nothing but Horrible

It was a horrible experience. The sink was clogged. Worst hotel I have ever stayed. No air ventilation. Extremely small room. No extra power outlets. I have long hair and the hair dryer in the room was totally lousy, did not work properly and switching on the hair dryer would dim the lights (power fluctuation). We felt miserable to return to the room at night to get sleep. The European look is hardly worth mentioning. You can get better option for the same price. Long walk to the closest cable car station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Lot of fun stuff to do at Fisherman's Wharf....Ripley's Believe It or Not, Wax Museum, Ghiradelli Square, Live bread making at the Bakery opp. to the Wax Museum...good places to eat.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a happy camper YUK
Business
Washington DC
Jun 8, 2012

ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING & UNSAFE

NO WAY THIS IS A 3 STAR PROPERTY. LITERALLY HAD DEALERS AND HOOKERS DOWN THE BLOCK AND ACROSS THE STREET!! ROOMS WERE DIRTY, SHEETS STAINED FURNITURE FILTHY. STAFF WAS OK IN THAT THEY DID NOT CHARGE FOR THE VALET WHEN WE ASKED FOR OUR CAR BACK AND FULLY UNDERSTOOD WHY WE WERE LEAVING. YUK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 29, 2010

not impressed

the hotel was laughably tiny-two peole could not move about without bumping into one another. no closet-just TINY armoire that had three hangers. room was pitiful, really...like an old, shabby lady that may (or may not) have had better days many MANY years ago. No A/C, no ceiling fan to move air. window opened to fire escape with street access-not exactly safe. ok location. staff neither pleasant or unpleasant. would not recommend. will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

invest in cabs, but know where you are going. many of the cabbies needed cross streets to reference the desired location. public transportation is a puzzle and unless you are staying for more than a week-probably not worth trying to figure out. Muni? Bart? Cable Cars? it's not easy to follow

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwich, CT
Mar 13, 2011

What a disaster!!!

Rooms were tiny and location is so sketchy... It was very uncomfortable... The bathrooms were bigger than the rooms themselves. And for the price/night it was deceiving. I would not recommended it at all. My friend was literally scared for her life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwich, CT
Mar 13, 2011

What a disaster!!!

Rooms were tiny and location is so sketchy... It was very uncomfortable... The bathrooms were bigger than the rooms themselves. And for the price/night it was deceiving. I would not recommended it at all. My friend was literally scared for her life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Apr 29, 2010

not impressed

the hotel was laughably tiny-two peole could not move about without bumping into one another. no closet-just TINY armoire that had three hangers. room was pitiful, really...like an old, shabby lady that may (or may not) have had better days many MANY years ago. No A/C, no ceiling fan to move air. window opened to fire escape with street access-not exactly safe. ok location. staff neither pleasant or unpleasant. would not recommend. will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

invest in cabs, but know where you are going. many of the cabbies needed cross streets to reference the desired location. public transportation is a puzzle and unless you are staying for more than a week-probably not worth trying to figure out. Muni? Bart? Cable Cars? it's not easy to follow

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LongTimeTraveler7
Business
Southern Calfironia
Jun 8, 2013

Wrong, Wrong, Wrong, but Location Okay

I arrive and the first words I hear from the front desk female are these, we can valet park your vehicle for $32 per day, or you can drive two blocks, pay $25 per day with NO in and out service, it is $25 each time you self-park it. WOW, how about a Welcome, how was your trip here? The room was very small, right next to the neon sign that was outside my hotel room window. The bedspread looked gross and the matching pillow covers were not much better. The bathroom was very small, as was the room. There was a very small armoire to hang one's cloths in but inside it was a fan, a heater and an iron. I did ask for additional towels and soap and did receive them with no problem. The next morning, NO Bell-hop was working during the morning check out hours. The elevator did not work, and when I asked the front desk about who would help me get my luggage down from the third floor, they brushed me off, saying, "I will check the elevator a bit later." The male at the front desk was helping a new female employee understand the computer system. I walked up two floors to my room and began bringing down my luggage on my own. After two trips down the stairs, they said they got the elevator working. Just a Bit too outdated was this hotel. Next time will stay outside town in Hayward or in San Rafael and use "BART" their public transportation to get into the City of San Francisco. This was not worth it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have a laptop, you can do a search from your room for any kind of food you like. I searched for Thai food and found 10 Thai Restaurants from 4 to 11 blocks away. It was a nice walk about 5 blocks to a street that had two Thai restaurants on it. This gave me a choice from the two of which to eat.

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mary Dr
Florida
Mar 5, 2014

Never again

THE worst I HAVE ever stayed in. IF you book it you will be sorry. Parking is an additional $35.00 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kitty and Gentleman
Vancouver
Apr 18, 2013

ceiling is leaking when people upstair using washroom!!

When check in the hotel, already listening the current guest argued the bad room condition with counter staff. The room I stayed in, water is keep dripping from ceiling when people upstairs using the washroom. One young counter staff is very not nice, there is a senior staff talk much nicer. Won't stay here any more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnf
birmingham
Aug 30, 2010

please please dont book with this hotel

we booked and payed for this hotel months before traveling when we got to the they had no record of the booking. i was told by another guest that the hotel will try to sell you room for a higher price even if you have booked leaving you high and dry the other side of the world, please please dont risk it, [...] not muck help had to make our own arrangments for a hotel still waiting for a phone call from them!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top