$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
170 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bs917
cape cod, MA
Aug 13, 2012

quirky little nook in the heart of san francisco

Hotel was quirky, fun...perfect for what I needed. Comfortable and clean although smaller than I expected. The place has lots of charm and character while still providing all the necessities. Convenient to a downtown wedding I attended and walking distance to ... everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 31, 2012

The picture looks good, but

The htl in the picture looks good, good location, but has a ugly smell and it is dirty, also it is ver very noisy. how ever the personel were very nice when i asked for a refund that I appreciated they didnt give me a hard time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CIDney619
Business
San Francisco, ca
Aug 25, 2012

Decent value

For $114 (with tax) the hotel was a great deal. Location was very good for the price. Staff was very helpful with bus route information. Valet parking for $34 per night was very convenient considering local parking garages were $28-32 per night. Room was very small, which was fine since we just needed a bed. Bathroom and shower were clean, but the carpet needed to be replaced. Coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge all in room, but none seemed to work..? If looking for a good location near downtown, but amenities and space aren't needed I would recommend it. If you have high standards don't bother.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use valet parking to save time/headache. Ride the bus...just ask locals for which line to take where...utilize public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bs917
Business
cape cod, MA
Aug 13, 2012

quirky little nook in the heart of san francisco

Hotel was quirky, fun...perfect for what I needed. Comfortable and clean although smaller than I expected. The place has lots of charm and character while still providing all the necessities. Convenient to a downtown wedding I attended and walking distance to ... everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivier123
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2012

Greate place to stay.

I really like the old fashion stay of the hotel. Really comfortable! And it is near lots of bus stations and carble car station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassonandesty
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 4, 2012

a nice hotel with a Parisian chic

Nice atmosphere. Art deco design. Very unique - certainly not the chain feeling. Room was tiny but stylish. If you like spacious chain-like hotels - this is not the place for you. If you like a European feel that would add to your overall SF experience - this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mobile Developer 68254515
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 1, 2012

Made Me Late

My experience was coming to SF for a job interview. I stayed at this hotel the night before ... this hotel made me late. I left over 2 hours in my schedule to get checked out and get my car out of valet. The front desk said it would take 15 minutes to get my car from valet. It took AN HOUR! The front desk said it would take 15 minutes to get a guest checked out and the bill. It took AN HOUR. Horrible experience. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your call somewhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz Super Happy
Business
Hermosillo, Mexico
Jul 25, 2012

wonderful time in San Francisco

It was wondwherful, just the person who was at the front desk in the morning wasn´t that nice but we had a wonderful time and will recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF visit
Business
California
Jul 21, 2012

Hotel pleasant but reservation details not honored.

Hotel is pleasant, with helpful staff, and met expectations relative to price paid. Main annoyance was that my reservation specified two doubles and when we arrived (on time) none were available so I had to share a bed with my daughter. Contacting the Hotel booking agency to sort this was difficult with low cell battery and no computer so I was not happy with this side of things. I would stay at the hotel again, but not sure that I would use the Orb hotel booking agency another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from Honolulu
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 19, 2012

good value for the price under $120, good location.

Charming small hotel in nice neighborhood. I felt safe around the hotel at night. Pleasant staff, lobby and restaurant inside. Please be aware that it is located on the hill, therefore we need a hike and exercise from BART stations, about 10-15 minutes walk. The bathroom was quite beautiful with nice amenities, however small room itself including furniture and bed didn't look clean. Overall, it's just a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nanus
Business
Virginia
Jul 18, 2012

Upscale wanna be

Didn't have the room I had a guaranteed reservation for. Three adults had to sleep in a King bed, instead of the 2 doubles we requested. The room was not cleaned the second day. Only two towels for three people. No parking for hotel patrons unless you did valet parking at $36.00 per night. I found $20.00 parking two blocks away, which the desk clerk had no idea existed, which I find hard to believe. Breakfast was very minimal at best. I am traveling cross country with my sisters. Out of 6 hotels, this is by far our least favorite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top