$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
170 reviews
Very pleased

Located right in the town so taking a trolley or bus will get you anywhere. Staff were very very... See full review

  • Cedeslauren121112
  • Feb 15, 2014
Lovely vintage hotel

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel. Our room was very cute and warm. The robes waiting in the... See full review

  • Samantha Jones
  • Nov 12, 2013
Antique touches and historic grandeur overlooking the Golden Gate City

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site

Hotel Map

37.7886 -122.417
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco Airport.
Area description
Head north on Highway 101 towards Downtown San Francisco. Stay in left hand lanes and exit at "9th Street/ Civic Center". After exiting, veer left onto 9th Street. Continue on 9th Street, staying in the two right hand lanes. 9th Street will turn into Larkin Street. Continue up Larkin Street, until you reach Bush Street. Turn right on Bush Street, go one block, turn right onto Hyde Street. The Nob Hill Hotel is in the middle of the first block on the right hand side of the street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (170)

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NobHillLovah
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jan 25, 2011

Most adorable Hotel Ever

This is the second year we've spent our san francisco vacation @ the Nob Hill Hotel and we can't wait to book for next year. Every year we're more pleased with the room we receive. We were thrilled to take advantage of the continental breakfast every morning and complimentary wine and cheese every evening. The staff is very accommodating with upgrades if the rooms are available, and encourage you to inquire as such. The hotel is centrally located and allows us to walk EVERYWHERE in the city. Definitely the perfect getaway for someone who can appreciate a quaint, antiquey hotel with precious little one-of-a-kind details found in every corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 9, 2010

Disappointing

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hammill
Business
North Wales
Nov 26, 2010

A nice small hotel

Nice small hotel friendly and helpfull staff. On the minus side though the decor is very dated and tired looking, be sure to book a Kingsize room otherwise if you are staying more than a couple of days you will feel hemmed in by the lack of space! Area ok and just about 10minutes walk to Union Square. Plenty of diners and food outlets about, plus there is a bar at the bottom of Hyde st where the Hotel is situated very handy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book a Kingsize room its not much extra and is worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supergirls
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 9, 2010

San Fran

Hotel was beautiful, very Victorian but the room was hot as hell, no breeze! After a shower just did not cool down. The front desk was not helpful at all, would not call us a cab and gave horrible directions through the worst part of town. Somehow we did survive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan81
Business
Prague, Czech Republic
Nov 5, 2010

Very pleasant stay

Hotel was close to the center, i got everywhere by walking during my 3 days. Personal very welcoming, willing to respond all my questions. Room was quite small but nice furnished and comfortable, calm. The only thing i would mention as negative, was the breakfast.. For europeans too poor choice. But i would surely return back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport Beach, Ca
Oct 28, 2010

Great Stay!

When we checked in, we were immediately charmed by this hotel. The staff is friendly and sincere. We went up to our room to find it perfectly tiny. We didn't need a big room (because we planned to spend just our sleeping hours there). We thought the elevator was a crack-up and transported us back to an era neither of us had ever been. The free wine for happy hour is awesome as well. Just between you and me... they don't count the glasses you have. I was there for my 30th birthday with my boyfriend, and we simply wrecked S.F. We did it all. And we loved coming home to our hotel. We stayed a total of 5 nights, and were upgraded to a huge suite our last two night free of charge. We didn't even have to ask. We loved this hotel, and would absolutely return! Stephanie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke, TX
Oct 26, 2010

unique place for couples getaway

We really enjoyed this hotel. Its great for a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to tour San Fran. Get a hop on hop off pass for a tourist bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tlsw
Business
Sarasota, FL
Oct 14, 2010

Poor accomadations, small and not clean

Staff friendly, hotel old and unclean. Good restaurant attached.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Book tours through Tower Tours - excellent, always on time and pickup/drop at hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDB
Business
Indianapolis
Sep 29, 2010

NOB HILL HOTEL

The hotel had a great location and it was easy to get around SF using the MUNI. The neighborhood south of the hotel was a little rough, but not dangerous, and the staff were extremely helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you buy a citypass or muni pass, you can ride public transit at no additional cost, and get pretty much anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johnf
Business
birmingham
Aug 30, 2010

please please dont book with this hotel

we booked and payed for this hotel months before traveling when we got to the they had no record of the booking. i was told by another guest that the hotel will try to sell you room for a higher price even if you have booked leaving you high and dry the other side of the world, please please dont risk it, [...] not muck help had to make our own arrangments for a hotel still waiting for a phone call from them!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top