$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Nob Hill Hotel

3 stars
View map of 835 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
174 reviews
Room with a character!

I loved our stay in room 602. Everything was really uniqe about this place. It has it's own charm... See full review

  • Iwona K.
  • Jul 10, 2015
Great little hotel

My sister and I spent the weekend here.The hotel staff are wonderful and the lobby decor is... See full review

  • Amy C.
  • May 26, 2015
  • Union Square
  • Chinatown
  • AT&T Park
General

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Location

Marble flooring, stained-glass panels, ornate ceilings, alabaster chandeliers and an extensive collection of period paintings welcome visitors to this circa-1906 Nob Hill boutique hotel. Rooms are elegantly appointed with period antiques, velvet comforters and replica half-canopy iron beds. All visitors receive complimentary continental breakfast daily and a voucher for a complimentary glass of wine. Colombini, the on-site cafe and bistro, serves up traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting.

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (16 mi/25.8 km)
  • Cable car stops (1 block)
  • BART (6 blocks)
  • MUNI bus (1 block)
Rooms

Victorian is the decor in the hotel's 41 guest rooms and nine suites. In addition to silk drapes and original artwork, all rooms include ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Some include microwaves and mini-refrigerators, too. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel.

Property features

The hotel opened in 1906 and was restored to its period grandeur during an extensive renovation in 1988.

All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and a voucher for a free glass of wine. Guests also have access to an on-site fitness center and can use the Club One at Nob Hill Health Club, a full-service facility with spa and fitness center located across the street (fees apply).

Enjoy lunch or dinner at Colombini, an on-site restaurant serving traditional Italian fare in a romantic Tuscan setting. On weeknights, the eatery's lounge offers drink specials. It's also a good place to cash in that voucher for a glass of wine.

Valet and self parking are available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Nearby attractions
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • City cable cars right out front
  • Old-world decor adds to European motif
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Choose from a variety of conference facilities on-site
Transportation

Historic boutique grandeur and antique charm atop Nob Hill

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Nob Hill Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Nob Hill Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
Room with 1 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.
Deluxe Double
Room with 2 double beds include two line speaker phones with voice mail & data port hook up, Color Television with Cable, CNN, HBO & Premium Movies CD, Radio Alarm Clock, Iron & Ironing Boards, Non Skid Baths and Showers, Hair Dryer, Mini Refrigerator, Microwave oven.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Union Square: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.5 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.8 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.2 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Nob Hill Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy W.
Business
Rosemead
Jul 13, 2015

Tiny room but great value

If a quaint hotel with the basics is all you need - bed, clean towels, free wifi, free continental breakfast, then this is definitely the place for you! I was simply in need of a place to rest my head as I was out and about all day so this hotel suited my needs perfectly. Located in a great neighborhood (Nob Hill) too! The only caveat - tiny room, just large enough to fit a double bed and a dresser. Ideal for someone not spending extensive time in hotel itself but rather out exploring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iwona K.
Business
MELROSE PARK
Jul 10, 2015

Room with a character!

I loved our stay in room 602. Everything was really uniqe about this place. It has it's own charm and character. We felt like on honeymoon. If you value this things this place is right for you. Big King size bed , very clean and very comfortable. Jacuzzi in room and nice bathroom with shower. I will stay at this place next time I'll visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy C.
Business
Seattle
May 26, 2015

Great little hotel

My sister and I spent the weekend here.The hotel staff are wonderful and the lobby decor is amazing.The rooms were small but charming and clean.You can easily walk to restaurants, shops and the streetcar. The nearby indian restaurant that the recommended was outstanding. Easy cab ride to other neighborhoods.I would absolutely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tom S.
Business
Los Angeles
May 8, 2015

Good place to crash, but that's it

Spent as night at this hotel for business. The lobby was smelly when I arrived and the room was tiny. But decent otherwise. I didn't dare to try the restaurant downstairs but looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Douglas
Business
Deerfield
May 2, 2015

Filthy, poor service, good location

The hotel is in a decent location. While there are not many hotels at this price range in the city center, skip this one. The room was disgusting. stained dirty carpet, banged-up walls with holes in them. Exposed insulation on pipes. I am not at all picky, but I did not like walking around in the room barefoot. The refrigeration was so noisy I had to unplug it. The service was mixed. I had a really nice guy check me in, but everybody else was surly and unhelpful. When I called down to get my car from valet parking the 1st morning nobody at the reception desk answered and I had to walk downstairs and fine someone to help me. The 2nd morning, I had to wait more than 40 minutes for my car to be brought around and then had the valet standing there expectantly waiting for a tip. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Heraclio v.
Business
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

askes my wife to marry me again

The hotel did not meet my expectations. They had my reservation messed up. They clam to have spa baths and they do not. The flat screen tv is very old. Staff didn't speak clear english. The valet parking is not included. You have to wait 30-40 mins for you car when your ready to leave. We will not be visiting here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dennis p.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

business trip

Very comfortable room and a nice continental in the morning. Staff was awesome and friendly. The valet service was slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave R.
Business
San Francisco
Mar 26, 2015

Weekend Trip

Arrived late at night, so clerk was asleep and could not get in. Had to call and wake him up, but it took some time. Overall, stay was ok hotel was nice & affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ines C.
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Feb 12, 2015

very hip

Cute little old hotel and well maintained. Great location and easy to move around SFO. Friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Nob Hill Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James
Business
Reno
Jan 27, 2015

Upgraded

Me and my girlfriend got our room upgraded to a suite. it had beautiful views and very comfortable. The service was fairly helpful in most areas. It wasn't the closests location but wasn't far from night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top