$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
View map of 417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Great Lakes Traveler
Business
Michigan
Oct 27, 2011

Great location and Attentive Staff

Excellent value, comfy bed but room quite small. Although the lobby is fresh and nice, the rest could use some more light and brightness. The location is excellent--near Union Square, Embarcadero, Financial andTheater district. Simple but adequate continental breakfast. Front Desk Staff could not do enough to help me no matter what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't have a lot of luggage--take the BART train to/from the airport--just need to know the closest stop to the hotel. Fast and inexpensive.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruckus
Business
Canada
Nov 15, 2011

Disappointed in staff

We booked the Crescent Hotel because we were looking for an intimate boutique hotel with some character to spend 5 nights during our wedding trip to San Francisco. We have stayed at several other hotels on Sutter Street and have been very pleased with our stays there so we wanted another hotel in the same area. Upon our arrival, we were disappointed to find the staff at the Crescent extremely unhelpful and rather nonchalant about providing us with any information or guidance. Even with the knowledge that this was a special trip for us, they were still very cold and caused us a bit of frustration. Perhaps we have high expectations of San Francisco Hotels, but considering we payed a bit more money for a suite at the Crescent, we would expect the service to be better. Our friends stayed at the Pickwick for a great rate, and in hindsight we probably should have too. The rooms and decor in the Crescent are nice and the Burritt Room was hopping, but this is not enough for us to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lilymonkee
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 1, 2012

great location

i got the junior suite, which was very basic, but room was clean so no complaints there. Staff was friendly and location was awesome..my friend and I were able to walk to union square, chinatown, etc with ease. liquor store is right next door and the hotel bar is pretty sweet. I highly recommend ear plugs though because the walls are thin and the area can get noisy at night..!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky316
Business
Eureka,CA
Apr 30, 2011

Not-so-well experience

The thing I dislike most about this hotel is its housekeeping. My falling-off hair was left in the shower room the second night we came back to the room. They didn't get us new shower gel and shampoo. The plug in the bathroom did not work. At first I thought it was the hair dryer's problem so I left them a note saying I needed a new one. They completely ignored the note and the hair dryer was left on the ground as it was when we left. They were fixig the elevator when we checked in so we had to climbed up to sixth floor. It is a vintage elevator so it's extremely slow and the door even did not close automatically one time. The hotel stuff had to push it to close. The sound insulation was awful. I heard so much noise in the morning. However.....one good thing about this hotel is its location. Great location I have to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 12, 2010

Small, Cozy but Noisy Room

The hotel was fine but when we arrived a bit early, we knew that room will not be ready. However, the person at the front could have been a bit more helpful by trying to get the room done as soon as possible. We had to ask when we saw several people checking out that if the house keeping could be contacted to get the room ready a bit early. That's when the room got done. The room was also very noisy, especially over the weekend, when they had a band playing in the hotel's second floor while our room was on 4th floor. The building being old, the acoustic was not suitable for them to have a band playing late into the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel location was ideal as it is close to all sorts of restaurants, Union Square, etc.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Jan 20, 2011

good location, friendly staff

great little hotel right near union square and just below china town. the staff was friendly and helpful. while the room was small, it was perfect for one traveling on business, though would be great for a weekend of fun too. it's a no-frills kind of place, but clean, comfortable bed, nice shower, free wi-fi, and all the basics in a simple and stylish package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C&C travels
Business
Saskatchewan, Canada
Sep 23, 2010

Super location, comfy beds

Loved the location of this hotel. The staff and manager were very friendly. My husband and I hunt out boutique hotels and this one fit the bill. We did find the rooms tiny and a bit dirty. Tried not to think about it as the beds were super comfy. Any room on the 3rd floor or lower will be listening to a live DJ until 11pm...not to great when you have to catch an early flight. The showers were usually cool with not so great pressure. Probably would try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hidden Vine wine bar, very quaint with extensive wine and cheese selections. 36 floor of the Hyatt for cocktails which overlooks the bay, great views.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lonsdale, MN
Jul 8, 2011

This motel has character.

We went to San Francisco to attend the Twins vs. the Giants baseball games and to tour the city. The hotel was a great location. The rooms had no air conditioning; we had to ask for a fan, and hair dryer, and ice (no ice machines). The elevator was historic - one of a kind. We got more information from the hotel across the street (Hyatt) than we did from our own front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel was close to all transportation. We could go out the door and hop on a bus. Trolleys, hop on bus were close by also.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kadels
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 16, 2014

Ok hotel in a decent location.

I could easily get to the Financial Dist without paying Financial Dist prices. The room was small, but ok for 1. The room didn't *feel* clean, but there was nothing to support that feeling. The heat didn't work too well, no A/C, and insufficient water pressure. Room was not quiet, but staff was helpful. Elevator is extremely slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaxSunville
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 25, 2014

Enjoyed our stay

we liked the location of the hotel and staff. The hotel was cute. Only complaint was that we did not realize that there was no air conditioning!! luckily we did not visit in summer time. It was not so bad, the staff gave us a fan to use while we were there. Apparently I did not read that the was not air conditioning, I just assumed that was a given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top