$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

3 stars
417 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
Great room and bar!

Nice, newly renovated hotel. Great bar and tavern on second floor. See full review

  • Romeo Mechat
  • Mar 22, 2014
great romantic getaway

This was our first time at this hotel ,traveling as couples. we had heard good reviews around and... See full review

  • krismarie
  • Nov 28, 2013
Cool urban spaces and a chic bar near Union Square
Gorgeous, intimate spaces characterize the Crescent San Francisco hotel, located in a reimagined Victorian building near Union Square. A fresh, clean look is paired with exposed brick, red accents and modern amenities like flat-panel TVs. Look for architectural details, custom curated books and vintage musical instruments throughout the hotel. Personalized service and innovative urban design create an experience of affordable luxury Crescent San Francisco guests aren't likely to forget.
Highlights

  • The Burritt Room bar and lounge
  • Understated urban design incorporates historic architectural details
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Rooms

Cutting-edge design at the Crescent San Francisco hotel combines sleek style with historic architectural details in 80 rooms and suites. European influences draw from the old (glittering chandeliers, exposed brick) as well as the new (bright white furnishings, clean lines). Comfort is the common denominator -- find it in 400 thread count sateen linens, spa toiletries and blackout curtains. Marble bathrooms, free Wi-Fi Internet access and flat-panel TVs with premium channels provide additional comfort and convenience. All rooms are nonsmoking. Suites feature woven throws, bathrobes, makeup mirror and more.

Features

Hang out in the Crescent San Francisco lobby lounge, where a newspaper, book, film and music library invites guests to linger. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning, and complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. Inquire with the concierge to arrange for on-site spa and salon services.

 

The highly respected Burritt Room entices guests with high ceilings, exposed brick and a cool white piano -- and draws an impressive line-up of old-school cocktails and contemporary concoctions.
Dining
The Burritt Room offers a selection of small plates -- but when appetites call for something heartier, there are several fantastic dining options surrounding the Crescent San Francisco. Just steps away, Scala's Bistro offers a menu inspired by the French and Italian countryside and conceived by former contestants on TV's popular Top Chef cooking competition.
Transportation

  • BART stop (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (11.9 mi/19.1 km)

Attractions

  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.2 km)

Business

  • Business center and 24/7 concierge service
  • 5,900 square feet of function space
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer Rooms

MYSTIC JUNIOR
185 sq ft. Features a double bed, limited city view and exposed brick accent wall with a large encasement window. These rooms are recessed into the hotel and offer a quiet and peaceful sleeping environment.
MYSTIC ROOM
200 sq ft. Appointed with a queen size bed, Stockton Tunnel or Union Square view with a stylish settee, efficient work surface, adjustable ambient lighting and either a classic bay window or exposed masonry wall.
MYSTIC STUDIO SUITE
300-400 square feet. With a luxuriously outfitted queen or king size bed & City views, the Crescent Suites offer celebrated San Francisco living with expanded lounge space and studio sleeper sofa. Added comforts feature a selection of wines from some of California's best small house producers, a custom bar with specially created cocktails from the City's most talented mixologists and a curated film, music & book library.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7898 -122.4074
Area served
San Francisco
Nearby airports
SFO, OAK

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
danielutz
citrus heights,ca
Nov 19, 2012

great hotel

was a great expericence! great staff, the best location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent travler to SF
Business
Indiana
May 7, 2012

Most Horrible Hotel Experience Ever

They first gave me an uncleaned room. I found some hair in several spots in the bathroom, and used bar soap. I also found the half-full used shampoo in the shower booth. The most disgusting thing was the toilet -- clearly it wasn't cleaned (appeared someone did bad things). It looked like the public toilet you would see in the travel stop. The pillows were covered with dust -- it seems that the room hasn't been used for quite a while. So, I asked them to change the room, and they gave me another room, which was smoking room but clean. Well, the horror story doesn't stop there. The room was on the fourth floor and I think there was trash dumpster very close to it, which woke me up every hour whenever they dumped the bottles. It is an old hotel, which is actually quite cute looking, but the wall is so thin that the bottle sound was loud enough to wake me up -- I am not a light sleeper, btw. I never had such a terrible experience with hotels. It was literally a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
berkeley, ca
Jul 2, 2010

Major thumbs down

Truly not a great place to stay. The location is perfect. The staff were very unfriendly and not helpful. When I arrived, I had my hands full with bags and my dog and not one person at the counter offered to help or ask if I needed any assistance. I ended up dropping a bag accidentally and it spilled on the floor when trying to get the elevator and although the staff at the counter were not helping other customers, no one offered to even help. Our room, that was clearly brand new, had stains all over the carpet. And at night the hotel turned into a frat party, with people running up and down the stairs and the hallways. It was so loud, earplugs didn't work. I thought this would be a cute boutique hotel that would be fun to stay at. I really wish I had just gone to the W or the Hyatt. Anything would have been better. The key fobs to the room doors suck and are easy to loose. Thankfully I didn't loose mine, but if you do loose them, they will charge you. It's a hotel that could have potential with the right staff, and the right finishing touches. But they have a long way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take your money somewhere else.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Birthday Girl
SLC, UT
Feb 20, 2011

Horrible staff & ridiculous room

When we arrived, the girl at the reception desk took forever to greet us, when she finally did, she gave us a key to a room which wasn't our room, but she couldn't find the actual key so said just to remember that it wasn't really our room number. RIDICULOUS. Then when we finally checked out the room I was beyond disappointed, it looked nothing like the pictures. It was ridiculously small, it had a shower like in a junior high school w/a pull curtain, no tub. The sink had no counter & they had some ghetto-rigged shelf above the toilet that they apparently expected you to use to do your make-up. I felt like being in some run down crack house. After ten mins, we went downstairs to complain about the room & ask for a refund, the girl gave so much attitude & couldn't comprehend why I didn't like the room as if a run-down crack room should be appealing to someone to sleep in. She tried telling me all the rooms in San Fran are small so she didn't understand why I didn't like it. After I explained again everything about the room I didn't like, she just gave more attitude & I realized you can't expect class & intelligence with someone who can't even comprehend the disturbingness of the facility they work in. I ABSOLUTELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE, UNLESS YOU'RE USED TO STAYING IN HORRIBLE PLACES; I'M ACTUALLY EMBARRASSED THAT I EVEN BOOKED IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. We checked out without a refund & went and stayed at the Grand Hyatt! That hotel was amazing!! I recommend that to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
berkeley, ca
Jul 2, 2010

Major thumbs down

Truly not a great place to stay. The location is perfect. The staff were very unfriendly and not helpful. When I arrived, I had my hands full with bags and my dog and not one person at the counter offered to help or ask if I needed any assistance. I ended up dropping a bag accidentally and it spilled on the floor when trying to get the elevator and although the staff at the counter were not helping other customers, no one offered to even help. Our room, that was clearly brand new, had stains all over the carpet. And at night the hotel turned into a frat party, with people running up and down the stairs and the hallways. It was so loud, earplugs didn't work. I thought this would be a cute boutique hotel that would be fun to stay at. I really wish I had just gone to the W or the Hyatt. Anything would have been better. The key fobs to the room doors suck and are easy to loose. Thankfully I didn't loose mine, but if you do loose them, they will charge you. It's a hotel that could have potential with the right staff, and the right finishing touches. But they have a long way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take your money somewhere else.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Birthday Girl
SLC, UT
Feb 20, 2011

Horrible staff & ridiculous room

When we arrived, the girl at the reception desk took forever to greet us, when she finally did, she gave us a key to a room which wasn't our room, but she couldn't find the actual key so said just to remember that it wasn't really our room number. RIDICULOUS. Then when we finally checked out the room I was beyond disappointed, it looked nothing like the pictures. It was ridiculously small, it had a shower like in a junior high school w/a pull curtain, no tub. The sink had no counter & they had some ghetto-rigged shelf above the toilet that they apparently expected you to use to do your make-up. I felt like being in some run down crack house. After ten mins, we went downstairs to complain about the room & ask for a refund, the girl gave so much attitude & couldn't comprehend why I didn't like the room as if a run-down crack room should be appealing to someone to sleep in. She tried telling me all the rooms in San Fran are small so she didn't understand why I didn't like it. After I explained again everything about the room I didn't like, she just gave more attitude & I realized you can't expect class & intelligence with someone who can't even comprehend the disturbingness of the facility they work in. I ABSOLUTELY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE, UNLESS YOU'RE USED TO STAYING IN HORRIBLE PLACES; I'M ACTUALLY EMBARRASSED THAT I EVEN BOOKED IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. We checked out without a refund & went and stayed at the Grand Hyatt! That hotel was amazing!! I recommend that to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K. A. Joe
Iowa
Aug 21, 2012

Elevator

Elevator stalls & need to take stairs . It should be replaced. Could use more furniture in the room. Only 1 desk chair .No place to sit & watch TV, no trays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Great City; Not so Great Hotel

The Crescent's location is just outside Union Square at the exit of Stockton tunnel and on the edge of China Town. We spent our days walking around the city and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to a variety of areas. The room we stayed in was not of the standard depicted in the photos on the Crescents website. Instead of redefining style, it was more liken to a girl putting makeup on for the first time than a beauty. The cabinets and shelves were cheap and it was apparent. The Kohler sink was stylish and the only stylish quality exhibited. This really wasn't a make or break aspect, just not what was advertised. Our room was only cleaned once in the four days we spent there, despite putting the "Refresh Please" sign on the door and asking the front desk. When it was finally cleaned no pillowcases were put on. Our stay was a bit marred by a late night dance party that took place at the hotels lounge. The sound was so loud until 2a.m. that the bass reverberated to the point where our bed was shaking and toiletries fell from the shelf. I went to the front desk to ask about the availability for a room upgrade and asked when the music was expected to stop. The response was that I should go and enjoy the music. My girlfriend and I would recommend searching for another hotel in the district. The are plenty of options that Crescent can be a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the restaurants located within a block of Union Square were of significantly higher price and lower quality of those located a few blocks away. My girlfriend and I are sushi fanatics, two blocks into china town through the main gate, we found Sushi Rock. Hands down the best sushi either of us has ever had. In china town off all places. We spent around $50.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Saving Private Ryan
Orange County, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Great location BUT

The location of this hotel is fantastic and right in the middle of everything. My main issue with this hotel is that the garbage men are seriously there at 5am and are there for hours. I had the worst time sleeping because of the loud noises produced and which echoes due to the placement of the hotel. If you are a heavy sleeper or don't mind getting up at 5am then I say this hotel is for you. Otherwise I wouldn't recommend it. The room itself is fine, the bathroom was clean but didn't smell sanitized. Again, you can't beat the location. Tip: google maps gives horrible directions on how to get to the hotel. Park at the parking structure which offers overnight parking for about $35 and go to the bottom floor which drops you right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 14, 2011

Great City; Not so Great Hotel

The Crescent's location is just outside Union Square at the exit of Stockton tunnel and on the edge of China Town. We spent our days walking around the city and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to a variety of areas. The room we stayed in was not of the standard depicted in the photos on the Crescents website. Instead of redefining style, it was more liken to a girl putting makeup on for the first time than a beauty. The cabinets and shelves were cheap and it was apparent. The Kohler sink was stylish and the only stylish quality exhibited. This really wasn't a make or break aspect, just not what was advertised. Our room was only cleaned once in the four days we spent there, despite putting the "Refresh Please" sign on the door and asking the front desk. When it was finally cleaned no pillowcases were put on. Our stay was a bit marred by a late night dance party that took place at the hotels lounge. The sound was so loud until 2a.m. that the bass reverberated to the point where our bed was shaking and toiletries fell from the shelf. I went to the front desk to ask about the availability for a room upgrade and asked when the music was expected to stop. The response was that I should go and enjoy the music. My girlfriend and I would recommend searching for another hotel in the district. The are plenty of options that Crescent can be a last resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found that the restaurants located within a block of Union Square were of significantly higher price and lower quality of those located a few blocks away. My girlfriend and I are sushi fanatics, two blocks into china town through the main gate, we found Sushi Rock. Hands down the best sushi either of us has ever had. In china town off all places. We spent around $50.

Review of Mystic Hotel by Charlier Palmer

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central California
Jul 25, 2010

Not So Great

No elevator, "lift" instead. Dark hallways, small room, although clean and tidy. Person checking us in was more interested in checking his texts than expediting our arrival process. Parking not included with hotel...must pay for your own parking in garage per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located 2 blocks from Union Square and very close to wonderful shopping.

Back to menu Return to top